Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Great Hotel in the Heart of Taos

Posted Jul 23, 2016
The Historic Taos Inn is a great place to stay if you are traveling to Taos, New Mexico. Located in the heart of the Plaza district on Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, it is within easy walking district of almost everything worth seeing in Taos. Bent street, home of the Bent Museum where Governor Bent was killed in the early days of New Mexico's territorial history, the plaza, where numerous shops and restaurants can be found, and around the corner from the Kit Carson Museum, where the famous mountain man and guide for numerous expeditions which mapped the west spent his final days. Next door, is a great park and there are more art galleries than you can see in a concentrated area than anyplace west of the Mississippi. Music every night, a friendly staff and the availability of a gym and pool right down the street which is open to guests of the inn, make the historic Taos Inn, the perfect place to stay on your visit to Taos. This was our first visit to Taos after many years of visiting Santa Fe and other places in New Mexico and our stay here made the visit one we look forward to repeating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AK

Finding fun in Taos

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Quaint historic little hotel that is located in the center of Taos. Loved it. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Beautiful courtyard. Parking provided. Definitely worth a try.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful old hotel,

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Quaint, historical lovely hotel
Cons: Serve breakfast at the restaurant . Update some of the rooms.
Location: Great location. Lots of shopping
Loved the gardens the rooms need updating. Don't like carpet much, the hotel was laid out beautiful seems to have a garden for all the rooms. The location is right down in the historic district, you can walk to just about every thing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Unique and full of character and characters

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The unpredictable character of the old and historic property.
Cons: Don't Improve anything the hotel is oozing with character.
Location: The Hacienda de Los Martinez toward Rancho de Taos was outstanding and my all time favorite. The Rio Grande Gorge area was spectacular.
This Historic Hotel is quirky and fun. I would recommend this hotel only to someone who is interested in the history of the Taos community and the local arts/ culture. From my stay at this centrally located hotel I could still get a feel for the actual community beneath the veil of overt tourism. Tourism sustains the town which is positive and to be expected. I would not recommend the hotel to someone who has high expectations for comfort and conformity. The charm of my stay included the character of the unmatched room decor, the locks and keys that were difficult to operate and the crazy and unpredictable ebb and flow of the cooling system. I even enjoyed the comedic actions of the loud and difficult day waitress in the cafe bar area. One would get the feeling that you have invaded her personal space by sitting down and actually ordering a meal. Good thing the food was very good . I got the feeling that the hotels cafe waitress typifys the conflicted feelings that the locals have with the tourist invasion in general. So Taos traveler beware of being viewed as an necessary invader!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Taos Spot

Posted May 17, 2016
Love this funky little inn. Rooms are a little dark and dated, but perfectly clean and functional. The public spaces are unique and charming. Love the bar, lobby, restaurant, courtyard, etc. Live music nightly and a great selection of tequilas all with an old, totally Taos kind of flavor. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Historic" means "old" in this case.

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: Location, though only feet from a busy road, at least all the interesting bits of Taos are in walking distance
Cons: Rooms need major upgrade. Also no coffee making equipment in room.....disappointing overall
Location: Taos town center in small.....mostly retired hippies walking about. Spend time in Santa Fe instead
The hotel is in major need of renovation. Heating system is ancient and noisy....I couldn't sleep due to its banging and clicking. We had to change rooms but second room was only marginally better. For the price this is a very poor value
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Posted Mar 10, 2016
Pros: very Quaint
Location: Great location. Close to Shops and restaurants
We really enjoyed our stay at the Historic Taos Inn. Comfortable room with a fire place. Live entertainment in the Bar area With two restaurant menus to choose from. Great Margaritas!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Great location staff and ambience

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Very Taos. Simple but charming, helpful and nice staff, great music at the bar, good food and can't beat the location. Recommended without reservations Go there!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small stuffy hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Dead spider in the sheets; very small room; stuffy room; deep mud holes in the parking lot; 384.00 for two nights...never again!
5 out of 5
by George A from Brooklyn

historical little gem

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
We fell in love with this gem. Very warm welcome and constant service. It's like the "Cheers" of hotels... Where everyone knows your name. Had a feeling that we were stepping back in time 40-50 years, in a good way!! One of the biggest pleasures was nightly music in the common area , by local musicians. Blue grass, folk, country, ... Seems to be the nightly hangout for locals too, which added to the color and ambiance. Thumbs up , too, for the hotel restaurant Doc Martin's!!! Excellent food... Best we had I Taos, reasonable, and lovely service by all who worked there... From the host/ hostess , to the table server, to the water and busboys. All so sweet and friendly. The fireplace in the room was such a bonus. They give you wood and starter, make it very easy to have a fire any time of day or night. The parking was very ample too. Never too crowded. We will come back to Historic Taos Inn every time we visit Taos.