Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Maureen from Ohio

Relaxing countryside

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
For those desiring to stay and experience an authentic French Lorraine farm chateau this is your place! Dinner was elegantly served in the 18th century grand dining room and featured several courses accompanied with charm and engaging conversation with our charming French host and Belgium bird watching guests. The chateau is within an hour of Nancy and nestled among a series of small villages and ponds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Trudie from Canada

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels
Outstanding!!!!!!! We had a fantastic time at Chateau d'Alteville!!! David is an amazing host, his service is beyond any expectations! We are looking forward to visit the chateau again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gina from Milton Keynes

Truly Unique

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: The stepping back in time feeling, the host David, the way dinner was served
Cons: They know how to do things here
Location: Our stay of 1 night left us with no time to explore
This stay was more akin to being guests in a country house. David the owner greeted and treated us a friends, oh the art of making your guests feel special. He was a genuine delight and sat at the dinner table with the total of 6 guests after cooking the 5 course dinner, delicious by the way and I would recommend the dinner option rather than other places on offer in the nearby town. We loved the Chateau but if shiny, glossy marble and chrome are your bag you will be challenged by the 17th C antiques, foxed mirrors and worn books in the library. The house guests all mixed well in conversation, the other 2 couples having stayed on previous occasions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by France fan from Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire RG9, UK

Delightful haven in peaceful Lorraine, France

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: The beautiful historic chateau, the outstanding location and genuine welcome after a very long drive from Calais,
Cons: Low water pressure, understandably due to hot, dry summer
Location: Totally peaceful rolling countryside in a farming community, lovely lake, completely "untouristy" genuine France, close to Alsace wine growing areas
Exceptionally warm welcome in a lovely chateau. Beautiful lake and gardens. Excellent dinner with outstanding wine enjoyed with other guests from various parts of Europe. Lorraine is an interesting part of France and good stop off for venturing further east into Europe. This is also a working farm which adds to its charm.
5 out of 5
by Tony D from St Andrews

Lovely folks

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels
David and family make a real effort to welcome you. Their place is fabulous with a real sense of history and a particular ambience, but might not be for those whose idea of heaven is a chain hotel brand. Dinner was great with David gathering all the guests in the drawing room for aperitif before enjoying a genuine local food experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Croydon, Surrey

Chateau D'Alteville

Posted Sep 17, 2011 on Hotels
It was everything that the reviews had led me to expect - a house of character in a very quiet rural location, with charming period rooms, and a welcoming host who was happy to share his local knowledge; he lent us a walking map so that we could enjoy a day's leisure in the surrounding countryside. The evening meal was very convivial and the whole experience of the stay was very relaxing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2011 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Québec

Visite dans un lieu patrimonial

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Histoire de la région et accueil des gens.
Cons: Rien
Location: Endroit plutôt isolé
Grande chambre dans le style classique avec des installations sanitaires correctes.
5 out of 5
by Maurice from Cheseaux

Belle decouverte

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
Une demeure exeptionelle et un accueil très chaleureux.nous y reviendrons avec plaisir si nous repassons dans la région