Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, OH

Beautiful location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel is at a beautiful location in Exuma. The water was absolutely amazing. Chrystal clear. Food was excellent as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The staff is great!! We had the best time! It is relaxing as well as had great entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Positive energy. Everyone smiles here.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
We had a great. Food was good. Service was a little slow. People were extremely nice and went out of their way to be helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Very good resort, but not great

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: Check out is at 9:00. Shuttles to the airport at at 10:00. The first flight is not until after 1. Everyone sits on picnic tables at the airport.
Location: Very limited shopping. Tours of "pig island" are available.
This was our 12th time to the Caribbean, but a first to the Bahamas. We had never booked at a Sandals, and had very high expectations. We arrived, and had to wait over an hour until 3:00 for our room to be ready. I understand that this is standard practice for this resort. We booked an Ocean View room. What we got was a room that wreaked of mold and had a view of the kitchen. We immediately complained and was told that we would get the room that we paid for the next day. The next day came. We were told it would be another day before our room was ready. I said this was not acceptable and they made arrangements to get us the room we had originally booked. The staff is very friendly. The service is hit or miss. One morning we ordered coffee, it was in our room in five minutes. The next day it took over an hour. Same at the restaurants. Either wonderful service or so-so. Food was good. The buffets are not the huge ones that we had experienced in Mexico, but were adequate. The beach is nice. It is very secluded. Usually there was never more than eight people in the water at any given time. The restaurants require reservations, long pants,and closed toe shoes. Other resorts we have stayed at were not so time and dress code rigid. We were there during the Super Bowl. They put on a great spread of hotdogs/hamburgers/nachos and had a huge projection television. This was a welcome surprise. We would stay at another Sandals in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Beautiful Beach and Amazing Golf

Posted Feb 3, 2017
This is a great place to getaway to. The beach is pristine and the golf course couldn't be nicer. If you are only planning to play nine holes definitely play the back nine. I definitely recommend doing the ocean safari excursion it's well worth the price. Seeing the swimming pigs is incredible. The food is ok, not quite what I expected given the price but it's not bad. The staff couldn't be nicer and definitely wanted to ensure we had a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Amazing water, staff Bahamas style

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Amazing water, but staff not the greatest in the world's as it should be with Sandals. But that's typical for Bahamas unfortunately!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

This hotel has it all - top notch service

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Absolutely amazing experience with this resort. Beautiful beaches, beyond friendly service, amazing food - best I've ever had! Very very clean, safe hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Restaurant staff aren't nice...

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nice and clean. Well maintained, but water does not drain...
Cons: Pipe drain and toilet..
Restaurant staff are very grouchy compared to them at other Sandals. Food was so-ooo terrible.... Especially at Bear Foot. Don't go there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware - tired resort with it or miss service

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The sole redeeming feature of this resort is the beach. All other aspects of the rooms, pools, restaurants, entertainment, service, etc. are exceedingly mediocre. I feel that TripAdvisor really misled us (usually so reliable) on the quality of Sandals Emerald Bay so I want to make sure there is a review here which accurately represents the shortcomings of this so-called luxury resort. -All buildings, fixtures, furniture, etc. are tired, peeling, scratched, scuffed, ancient, worn discolored and unappealing. The instant that we walked into the hotel and saw how ragged the Sandals welcome mat was, my heart sank. -The rooms are similarly old and tired. The combination of many small things eventually makes one wonder why you are paying so much for a week by the beach (broken faucet, mirrors with messages still on them from past guests, 3 mismatched glasses with which to enjoy the wretched minibar, etc.) -While we did have a number of good experiences with the staff (Heston, Carly, Max, Aaron were all lovely), the service is generally uninspiring. We had one extremely rude bartender in the Drunken Duck; Sandals doesn't seem to care much about how their employees represent the brand -Entertainment... what entertainment ? Truly abysmal. Try Grand Iberostar Rose Hall or Paradisus in the DR. -The food was poor but the worst part of it was the lack of choice. They claim there are 7 restaurants but really, there are only 2, as you have to have reservations for the rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary Trip

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: The grounds are beautiful. The beach is beautiful. Love the entertainment at night. That saxophone player was so good. Bartenders are super friendly.
Cons: Food, it was just ok. I expected the restaurants that required reservations to be better. Never got a map(printer broken). Never got room service menu
Location: It is a must that you book a tour through the hotel. We took a 1/2 day swimming with the pigs tour and it was fantastic! Best thing we've ever done.
We started out with getting there a day late (due to airline) but as soon as we pulled into this beautiful place and were handed a wonderful green drink we knew everything would be ok. Grounds are beautiful as is the beach. The room had the view I was expecting. Made reservations for dinner the next two nights. I had read online that they get filled up quickly. They were all full for that night so we went to Pub to eat. Great fish n chips and drinks were strong and good. Love the energy of the bartenders. Next time I think I would skip making the reservations at the restaurants and just eat at the other places. I had also heard about some people thinking some hostesses and staff were unfriendly. I can see what they are talking about because some are short and to the point. That didn't bother me and they are getting the job done. Pool is beautiful and the entertainment is very good. The water and beaches of Exuma are like no other. You must, MUST book a tour through the hotel to see some of all the other islands. You will get to swim with the pigs which was great but the best is stopping at several island beaches. The colors of the water are breathtaking! I will remember this trip forever. I am a beach nut and Exuma is now #1 on my list as the best! I will be back. (I was worried about mosquitos and we didn't get one bite. The hotel sprayed Tues/Thurs when we there. We didn't get any bites on the tour either & didn't use any of the bug spray they had for us in the room)