Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Friendly, relaxed resort right on the coast.

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Friendly, rustic& relaxing. Great food & the traditional buffet with cultural show was amazing. Very popular with the locals too.
Cons: We missed the kava ceremony, so better communication/organisation would be good. Fresh coconuts were great :-)
Location: Great location on the West Coast. Marine reserve with snorkelling just further along. About 1/2 hour drive into Nuku-Alofa.
We spent a week at Liku-Alofa and really enjoyed it! The staff were very friendly, the food was very good, our fale was spacious and clean. We especially enjoyed the sound of the waves breaking on the reef and of course the beautiful sunsets over the sea. Restaurant was handy if we didn't want to go out to eat and offered room service too.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Auckland NZ

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was very good, the staff are so helpful an pretty awesome. The views are amazing, the only downfall was the wifi play up abit food probably needs to improve but eatable
5 out of 5
by wanda from texas

Lovely Peaceful FijiTime Place

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff. Very relaxing. Nice to have CC the driver take you into town for free daily wherever you needed to go. Doesn't cover trip to.from airport. that's 80FD. There's a little cemented in area to swim-shallow with normal sea water. The beach is not much because of tides but snorkeling is good depending on the tides.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Great budget hotel, great location

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Friendly staff, good prices, great beach and reef location with great views.
Cons: Cleanliness. Apart from the insects (to be expected, and the screens did their job), it could have been cleaner. But it wasn't dirty, so no biggie.
Location: Coral beach, tide pool, pounding reef breaks - experts only and ask for local advice. Other resorts happy to serve meals and drinks.
This is a great hotel within walking/paddling distance from some superb surf breaks. It's out of the way - as far as you can get from Nuku'alofa - but it's within walking distance from two local villages, and a few more hotels and resorts. So if you want a bit of variety, you can get it in the local area. Place probably isn't for kids. There won't be that much to do, and the coral can be dangerous. The staff were great: friendly, polite and even on 'Tonga time', great service. They helped us get around, and nothing was too much trouble. Prices at the restaurant were good too (but no diet sodas). The meals weren't extravagant, but they were good and honest local food, and every Wednesday and Friday there's an unmissable Tongan cultural night and buffet dinner. The rooms were nice: spacious, with a small flat screen TV. No aircon, but a ceiling fan that did the job well. We also borrowed a hard drive from reception that worked on the TV with no issue, so we had a great selection of movies and TVs. The resort has watersports equipment - snorkel gear, paddleboards, a kayak. Unfortunately, it's well used and in need of repair/replacement. One paddleboard was deflated, the leash was broken on the other, and the snorkel gear was missing attachments and the mask I had leaked. Take your own gear. But we loved our stay, and we love Tonga. If you want luxury, pick somewhere else. But if you want a well priced, relaxed, friendly place to stay on the beach away from town, this is it.
5 out of 5
by wanda from Texas

hard to leave

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay. Wonderful staff. Great place to get away from it all and yet with the free shuttle you can get to town. And there is a local bus service that is economical versus the $80 for taxi
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff were nice and friendly.

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Wotif
Cockroaches everywhere, toilets that you had to take the top off every time you used them to get the water flowing, shower just a bit more than a dribble. Tonga is not a location we will ever go to again, just awful, rubbish littering the beaches, just no pride, and the churches are just sucking the locals dry. The only thing Tonga has going for it, was that the people we met were all nice. The resort would be equivalent to a mediocre back packers. Having been to many other islands, this would be the worst ever!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B, Växjö Sweden

Ett fantastiskt fint läge

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Hotellet ligger mycket fint och har en otrolig potential men personalen levde inte upp till normal standard. Personalen visade inte att du som gäst är viktig för verksamheten. Några enkla åtgärder kan lyfta detta ställe till något helt fantastiskt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great location, shame about the litter

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Gorgeous view, friendly staff. The cultural night is good.
Cons: Consistency between amenities and the food cooked in the kitchen.
Location: It takes about 40 minutes to get to the airport, and 25 mins to get to Nuku'alofa. Not a lot to do near the resort, except go to the Abel Tasman site.
Liku'alofa resort was nice enough - I don't have any other places on Tongatapu Island to compare it to so I won't. The rooms were clean, but there were inconsistencies between them. I had to change rooms part way through (at the management's request, not mine), and found the room I was sent into had more amenities than the one I started out in. This despite them being the same "Garden View Room". For example, the room I was originally in did not have a bedside lamp, whereas the room I moved into did. The room I was in originally had a shared fridge with the next door room that did not seal and required a chair to keep the door closed, though even then it did not close properly. The staff were generally good to deal with. The wait-staff at the bar and restaurant were particularly awesome. Reception staff were generally helpful and helped me get into town for supplies and organise a day trip. The food at the restaurant was also inconsistent - I ordered the same meal 3 times and got 3 different meals. It was also quite basic, but totally edible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch NZ

Beautiful setting and comfortable accomdation

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Lastminute
Location: Location north side of island, blowholes further down coast. Swimming with whales, snorkeling etc
Great place to stay, quiet and great setting the gardens are beautiful. Beach side fa-lees give view of sea. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Cultural shows are held on site and are well worth the time and are free for those staying. Our second time here and will be back again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maroubra

Pretty good alround

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: quiet location pleasing surrounds, clean turquoise ocean,
Cons: pool needs a major upgrade, staff be trained better. informed earlier about the filtered rainwater tank instead of paying top dollar at the bar
Location: 25 mins from town so nice and quiet, good snorkelling, weekly cultural show is pretty good value, Holtys Hideaway does good burgers
If your expectations are not too high and you just want to chill and swim/snorkel this is the place. Watching the whales swim past while having breakfast was great.