Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot stay in room.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
The fan had no wind but only noisy and made the room very hot. The shower had only little cold water coming out and could not even spray out off wall. The hot water had nothing to mixed so came out finally very hot, and slow. Shower was nightmare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Awesome people and great location.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
The people here are awesome and willing to help. They are a little shy. The cultural show was excellent. Peseti the owner is involved in everything. They got our food wrong and went out of their way to make it right. Wifi is good but need to stay close to reception building for strong signals. These team at Liku'alofa won't try their best to make your stay enjoyable. Will come back here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australiaa

Resort needing maintenance

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Loved the friendliness of the staff and how they are mostly willing to help and their flexibility with our requests :) Food!!! :) :) Wifi at reception
Cons: I think this place could be great with some repairs and maintenance. The following needs improvement: showers, cleanliness, someonne at reception
Location: Best to hire a car to get to places outside of the resort. Otherwise-occupy yourself with volleyball, water activities, read a book or wifi from recep
Reception was closed upon our arrival (11pm) even though their site stated that check-in closes at 11.30pm. The room wasn't adequately prepared because there was quite a number of mosquitoes in it when we arrived (subsequent days room service sprayed bug spray while we were out) and the rubbish found in drawers and the little basket holding our tea/coffee. Room service could also improve a bit more by being a bit more thorough with cleaning - dead cockroaches were sometimes left there for days. The shower was not always working. The ocean swimming pool could do with a bit of clean up with the rubbish that's on the seafloor. Information given in the folder needs to be updated - prices, times for events, etc. Also would love peace and quiet in the morning, or forewarned if there would be loud activity in the morning. Woken up on Saturday morning by the music band rehearsing for an event that day - did not appreciate the early wake up after a late night. Negatives aside, the staff there are super lovely and made the stay fun and enjoyable. You can also play volleyball, access their kayak, paddle board, etc. and don't get me started on their food. They have an excellent cook - ask the staff for the Tongan fish at dinner. For first timers to Tonga, this resort is NOT close to the city centre. Approximately 19km from Nu'kualofa. A very affordable bus ride to the town takes about half an hour or so. Ask the staff at reception to call the bus for you to be picked up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Peaceful, tranquil setting away from the crowd

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Staff were lovely and respectful. The gardens were pretty and the sunsets awesome.
Cons: Not much really, other than perhaps speeding up the serving of breakfast on the morning we needed to leave early to go swimming with the whales.
Location: Have to travel away from the resort for the major attractions. Buses and taxi easily arranged. Snorkeling close by. Swimming with whales was brilliant
My two older teenage children and I had a lovely 5 day stay at this restful resort. Lovely friendly staff led by Nancy. With few other guests in the resort over that period we felt we had the place to ourselves.The staff gave us space and privacy. Whilst we explored the island during the day, we mostly ate back at the resort. The food was great with something for everyone. The menu selection was simple but tasty. The fire dance evening was fun and the feast was amazing. A cocktail in hand we were lucky enough to watch the sunset each night! Having discussed our excursion options with Nancy, she pre-organised our tours without fuss and made sure we had transport arranged... ( Thanks also goes to West our taxi driver!) We took away some lovely memories and all three of us would like to go back to experience the slower pace of island time soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing in Paradise

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Private and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, QLD, AUSTRALIA

Excellent!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Very Tropical!
Room was fantastic! Loved the staff members! So beautiful!! :D
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Regretably a liitle tired.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Best part was the view from the restaurant and the attractive gardens.
Cons: Unfortunatety our room lost water in the shower and toilet system. This was rectiifed. The push bikes we tried to hire were all out of action save for two which were in use by other guests.
Location: The location was fine albeit a long way from other points of interest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Tonga is a beautiful almost untouched Island where life is relaxed and simple...enjoy.
We did our home work and it paid off. It's certainly not Fiji but then it cost a fraction of what Fiji would. People did use the pool but the swimming on the beach is just as good (hint, take aqua shoes as the beaches are full of coral everywhere you go). There is a reason they say Island time because you need to relax and wait where ever you go. The water in Tonga is pristine, the beaches are beautiful so hire a car when you are there and get out and about. Be aware that the roads are basic and they don't really go much faster that 30kms per hour. There are bugs everywhere so take insect repellent. Great Island experience but don't expect a Fijian experience because this is Tonga and it is reflected in the price of accommodation, flights and car rental. Go and enjoy, especially in the Whale season as you can see them swimming past the restaurant (in the distance).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Good but could be better.

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
A friend and I had a fale each, it was called a beach view but it didn't really have that. It was clear no body had stayed in them for a while and they could have done with a good clean. The shared small fridge was I the patio between the two units. The b d as comfortable and the linen clean. The shower was agree but always warm. The evening buffet isworthgoongto! There is so much this place could do to improve, but it is ok wait is, just it what it could be with a few simple improvements.