Ratings based on 547 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Topeka KS

You pay for what you get :(

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The whole hotel.
Taking a shower around 10 pm had luke warm water, wife took bath around 11 pm had cold water, she was not pleased. She spoke to night supervisor all he had was excuses no solutions. Next morning the same supervisor gave us another room I went to check out the hot water there and same results None. That evening had hot water not sure what they did but at least had hot water. Next morning breakfast to be served from 6 to 9 went to the restaurant at 604 lights off nothing going on did not see any employees, called the same supervisor and he told me breakfast is from 6-9 and it is only 604? I told him then breakfast is 4 minutes late and that should not be the case. We packed up and checked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. Unfortunately, we experienced unexpected issues with our broiler for which we continued to fix until it was finally resolved. Your experience with our breakfast crew however, will be shared. We value our guests that start their day early and you should not have waited to eat. Wishing you the best for your travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Out of state

It was what we needed

Posted May 15, 2017
After searching extensively through horrifically overpriced hotels in Overland Park, KS, we opted to stay in Topeka. It was an excellent choice -- a solid value and a clean place to stay. Thank you for not gouging the sh*t out of people who just want a decent hotel room!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
High-Five there Kewbee! I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay! I will share this with the team while we continue our efforts in improving our hotel and overall service. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: BREAKFAST WAS DECENT.
Cons: TEMPERATURE CONTROL IN ROOM-COULDN'T TURN A/C LOWER. THE NOISE WAS TERRIBLE SINCE WE GOT THE ROOM RIGHT BY GAME ROOM AND AN OUTSIDE DOOR.
NOT GREAT OVERALL. IT WAS JUST TOO NOISY AND COULD USE SOME ROOM UPDATES.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I'm glad breakfast was good - but I'm sorry to learn your AC wasn't functioning properly. And no doubt, we cater to a lot of families hence the game area and water slide, so yes, rooms that are in that area will tend to be much noisier than others. We have plenty of rooms that provide peace and quiet for those who seek it. Our property will also be undergoing updates soon, so we hope you try us again in the future. Thank you so much for staying. We hope to see you soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Topeka Ks

Kids Birthday

Posted May 9, 2017
Well first off the pool kept minimal to no towels at pool. Beds were super uncomfortable. Shower hasn't been updated since it was built. ALL THAT SAID TWO CHILDREN HAVE DIED IN THAT POOL IN THE LAST FOUR YEARS!!! Be careful and pay attention because there pool attendant and none of their staff will. This hotel was one of a kind when it was owned by Holiday Inn. Ramada or their owners of this hotel have ran it into disgusting trash hole. I recommend any other hotel than this. Especially considering the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. While the hotel was let go for a few years, it's under brand new management and ownership where attention to the property in needed areas are being addressed. And with regards to our pool, while we are very sad for the pool incidents, as all our signs post - all children must be supervised. Many plans are under way for future renovations. We hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to an event i was attending

Posted May 4, 2017
The hotel is badly in need of renovating/ repair. There are water stauns everywhere. Chipped paint on walls and in bath tub. Breakfast was ok however you could tell they had microwaved the biscuits and the food was slow coming out of the kitchen. Had to ask staff for several things thay werent out eg creamer jelly and butter.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the unfortunate "condition issues". However, since, the chipped paint has now been re-done as many items are being addressed. We do have a large property and items in need of care take a little longer to complete. The food quality and service will be shared with the team, however. I would expect your next visit to be quite different.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Poor service traver

Posted May 1, 2017
Old pool smelled. Breakfast was lukewarm and very little to choose from. Not up to standard. Staff was interested in other things on there computer.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're very sorry we did not meet your expectations and will be sharing this with the team and managers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Great Amenities! Cool Pool!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Amenities & Pool
Cons: No complaints
Location: We were in town for a funeral. It was a perfect location between the mortuary & church.
This RAMADA INN WEST was a great location with great amenities. The grandkiddos loved the pool and the breakfast was outstanding. Thanks for helping make our stay in Topeka memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us! On behalf of our team, we're also sorry for your loss. Glad to see you had great time with your family here. We hope to see you real soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average experience

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We felt as if the hotel needed some upgrades. There was a day when no one came to make up our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing - and I certainly hope you had mentioned something to the front desk while you were here. I have however, shared your experience with our department. We hope to see you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Sleep Deprived

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The hotel was well priced and in a convenient location, however, the room has an interior window to the hallway which was lit up all night. The window did not have blackout curtains so the room did not get sufficiently dark at night, making it difficult to sleep. This is a design flaw, that could be remedied with blackout curtains. If this is how all Ramadas are I will not be staying again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. All hotels are different but we do try to keep within the standards. And while your room had black out drapes, the width was the issue and has since been resolved. Thank you again. Safe travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Nice and inexpensive hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Close for my event
Cons: Have to say that the one thing that stood out was when I turned on the shower in the morning it was very rusty water coming out of the tap.
Location: I was in town for a roller skating event. Hotel was close to the rink. Hotel is also a very short distance from a large retail area in town.
The hotel was a 5 minute walk for me for the event I was at in town for so that was very nice...especially since it was at night. Hotel staff was very helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It was a pleasure having you! We look forward to seeing you again real soon!