Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised. Total dump

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Nothing. Is a motel, completely run down. No elevator. I prepaid reservation and could not cancel
Cons: Everything. Run down and unsafe. Old, dirty, uncomfortable bed, bad shower, no hot water musty
Location: Nothing near by. Horrible location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Used to be nice...

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Spa broken so it's covered, missing kitchen utensils/plates/cups. Room clean when we checked in, but no housekeeping services during our stay. Noticeable wear and deterioration of buildings and furnishings. Hope the owners out some $$ I to upkeep soon... This used to be a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Clean, Roomy,and Comfortable

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Stayed two nights on a weekend. Ample parking, easy access to ground floor room. Spacious room with nice sitting area. Kitchen area handy, but could be better stocked. No dish soap or towels- just two small washcloths. No ovenware (cookie pan or casserole dish). Nice roomy bathroom and changing area. Very comfortable overall. Friendly staff. Ample selections at breakfast. Good value for rate charged. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, TX

My recent stay

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Quiet atmosphere, and friendly staff. The breakfast is always nice.
Cons: A change in the reservation process to ensure that the requested room type is available.
Location: Broadway Square Mall is less than 15 miles away. WalGreens, CVS, Super WalMart, restaurants and a bowling alley is within a 5 mile radius.
My family and I stayed at the hotel on a short notice due to a death in my family. The reservations were made for four 24 hours prior through Expedia. A suite (1 bedroom down stairs, bedroom loft upstairs) was requested which meant that there would be 2 queen size beds and a sofa sleeper. The amount was pulled from my credit card. Upon our arrival, we were advised that Expedia over-booked and there were no Suites available. As a result, our accommodations were quite cramped. Additionally, there were only three towels in our room. I notified the front desk and was told that I would need to come and get the towels because she was the only one at the front desk. Imagine that, the hotel is at capacity and only one front desk assistant. The desk clerk was VERY pleasant and professional. The grounds were well kept, and all staff appeared friendly and professional. Overall, the stay was not bad, except for the room being cramped. The breakfast was awesome. I've stayed at this location several times over the past few years and never experienced any problems like this before. I will stay at Hawthorne Suites again if the need arises. However, I will ensure that I receive the requested room accommodations prior to check-in.
5 out of 5
by cherryl from Tyler


Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
We have stayed at the hotel numerous times over the years. It is in close proximity to retail stores and restaurants that we enjoy.
2 out of 5
by Scott from Las Vegas

Poor house keeping

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Checked in in the evening and just wanted to settle down. I heard the front desk person explaining that after pets stay in the rooms the close the room 3 days for deep cleaning. I thought that seemed to be an interesting policy. The charge a $100 fee for this. so now I expecting a very clean room. Unfortunately that wasn't the case. the rooms appeared to be old and worn. Kick moldings were in bad shape, dirty corners. In the morning I got a better chance to inspect further. A/C filters were disgusting. Looks like they weren't cleaned in months. Dust on the ceiling fans had not been cleaned in month. Upon check out I made the Front Desk person aware that I was thoroughly disgusted and she said she was going to email the GM who happened to be off on July 4th weekend. That came as a shock. Why would a GM take off on a holiday weekend i the hospitality business. Anyway I showed her pictures and she assured me that the GM would call me when he returned after the holiday. It's been 2 weeks now and not a word from the GM. I can only speak for our one room but I would makes sure to check the room thorough upon check in next time if I could find a room anywhere else.
2 out of 5
by Candice from Longview Texas

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was not willing to accommodate a mistake made by either Hotels.com or themselves. But I will NEVER stay at another comfort sweets the willingness of the manager to fix a horrible situation was horrible. My church will take our business elsewhere!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very satisfied

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
It was great!!!!!!