Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Couldn't wait to leave!

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Villa Sarna is located at least 20 minutes north of Central Ubud in an area called Tegallalang. It is a remote area, by the rice terraces. While the area was extremely beautiful, we felt completely secluded and found our experience to be quite eerie. When we arrived, we were greeted by staff that did not speak much English but were very welcoming. They showed us to our room (Arjuna) and this is where our stay turned for the worse. Wi-Fi: Villa Sarna states that they provide wifi access to all of their guests. Not true. We attempted to log in to the wifi, which didn't work. We were told that the network provider had been causing them some grief as of late and were told it would be rectified for the following day. Again, not true. The following day, they said there was something wrong with iPhones logging in to the network. Their only solution was to let us use their computer at reception. Arjuna suite: When we arrived, the room was dingy and outdated. To make matters worse, there were literally hundreds of ants that began to fall through a broken light fixture from the roof. We were horrified and immediately asked to change rooms. They accommodated our request but by then we were frustrated. When expressing our displeasure, they simply told us that they were ashamed and hoped our next accomodation was better. This offered no solution to our problem and we left with no intention of ever returning. I could go on but Expedia has a maximum character limit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Australia

Authentic place close to rice terraces.

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Wotif
Nice staff and what a beautiful view in an authantic villa! Full of character. They need to refesh the fence around the pool and there is high humidity in the room. The navette service that is offered is really handy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

Mindblowing Retreat Space

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Food options, staff, location, cool temps, view, layout
Cons: I personally didn't love the traditional paintings and older bed frame but I realize this is traditional. Earlier shuttle for yoga class.
After staying at a total of five hotels in Ubud over the course of a month, Hotel Sarna was my favorite. Although it is about a 25-minute drive out of town, it is totally worth it. It is located at a higher elevation (cooler temps) than most of Ubud by the famous Tegalalong Rice Terraces. I stayed in the Vishnu room, which had a beautiful and spacious view of the rainforest, a private coy pond, temple, and queen-size outdoor day bed. Your meals can be brought to your private patio. Dinner can be ordered from a delicious and authentic restaurant right down the road and breakfast is perfect. In my opinion, the greatest perk is its proximity to the epic rice terraces. These famous terraces get very crowded mid-day. By staying at this resort, you can wake up at 7:00 am and walk 13 minutes to the terraces and be the only one there!!! The pool is beautiful and the staff is lovely. My trip's focus was a little sight-seeing and yoga. I will say that the shuttle cannot be taken until 9:00 am; this prevented me from attending early morning classes but it was worth it. I practiced on my private deck instead. (The shuttle will pick you up from downtown as late as 10:30 pm.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay near Ubud

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Excellent stay. The hotel is situated just outside of ubud nestled in a quite jungle like setting, overlooking a small Valley. Very beautiful and relaxing. Our room was very spacious with one hell of a view. The staff was awesome, very friendly and accommodating. And they make awesome banana pancakes. Bonus, the hotel has motorbikes for rent which worked out great because the rice terraces are just a half a mile north from here.
4 out of 5
by Morris

Cozy & garden-like residence

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
The owner couple was very nice and friendly, this is a very cozy garden-like residence, very easy to reach the rice field!
4 out of 5
by Colleen from Sydney

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
People at Villa Sarna are very lovely and welcoming. Beautiful scenery. Free daily transfers to and from Ubud every 2 hours (20 mins drive). Charming gardens.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

I will be making a formal complaint to wotif.

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: They could be factual in their advertising.
Location: Nothing that interested us.
I will be making a formal complaint to wotif. The details on their advertisement were not correct.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, peaceful and cool

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The garden and the scenery; the tranquility
Cons: The little things that are said to be Included.
Location: Away from the chaos but a shuttle service to Ubud
Room didn't match the photo and some of the promised little things such as robes were not there but, in all, it was a lovely place to stay with a wonderful relaxing view. There's a shuttle service that goes to Ubud so there is no need to be isolated completely and there are several nice places to eat close by. If steps are an issue, don't stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice & peaceful place to stay

Posted Jul 14, 2016
This place bit far from town centre but worthwhile to stay. Very friendly staff. Best place to stay for who like nature and peaceful environment. Cool people☺️