Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, quiet and clean

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay here, and would recommend it to others. It was easy enough to find, and very close to all the sights. Hotel was very clean and quiet, and seemed like good value for Venice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to tourism... One star is appropriate.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Most staff are very nice except one lady who works there who was rude to us over storing of my sisters luggage in our room until their hotel was ready (2 hours)...ruined it for us. Rooms are very clean however bathrooms Re cleaned with a toxic agent that burn your lungs. Bathroom and shower are shared with entire building and sometimes a line up forms. Breakfast is adequate with some cereal, coffee and meat. Probably would choose Hotel Costello around the corner for a few more bucks a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Amazing hotel/hostel in the center of Venice!

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff, great location, clean and spacious room
Cons: Wifi connection (extend the areas it reaches)
Location: Everything is nearby! Boat bus station to get around, restaurants, museums, cafes, Piazza San Marco, Doge's Palace, Grand Canal
Our experience at Albergo Doni was amazing. The staff was so helpful. They even upgraded us to a bedroom with a private bathroom (which I assume was due to scheduling conflict or extra space)! The hotel is situated right in the heart of Venice and is therefore near everything! The room itself was very spacious and clean as was the bathroom in our room. Breakfast was pretty simple (tea, coffee, mortadella, bread, butter, etc) but satisfactory. It was convenient to be able to grab some food before heading out. The wifi connection only works in common areas, which was expected and worked wonderfully. The staff was very understanding and provided maps and boat bus times to help us get around. I would definitely recommend Albergo Doni. Great experience for the price!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, real Venice experience on small canal. Helpful staff. Basic amenities, no fridge or TV but who needs that here. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wifi worked in our room no 4. Bathroom opposite and always available.
5 out of 5
by mayumi n

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, simple hotel in heart of Venice

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
This was a fantastic hotel for location and comfort. I found hotel staff to be very friendly and the breakfast was good although basic. It is also very clean and although I used the communal bathrooms, I found them to be spotless with plenty of hot water. If you're looking for an authentic, clean hotel in the heart of Venice, then I can't recommend this hotel enough. It was perfect for my needs!!
5 out of 5
by Malcolm from New Zealand

In the heart of Venice.

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to stay in Venice. The staff very friendly and accommodating. Wifi only on the common areas.
4 out of 5
by Julia from Exeter

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Room clean, wifi only in main lobby and dining room. Excellent position close to main sights, boat trips/ferries, shops, bars and restaurants. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but not well maintained!

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
The location of Albergo Doni is really nice; so close to San Marco's square, the bascilica, and the water. However, the hotel is very old and the walls are paper thin. I tend to be pretty forgiving of hotels, but we felt like people outside of our room could hear every move we made, because we could hear them perfectly! Sharing the bathroom wasn't a big problem, though it was one floor below where our room was. The shower was very gross, though. I'm pretty sure there was mold growing on the walls/ceiling. If I go to Venice again, I will likely spend a bit more money for a nicer place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Give me Air Conditioning PLEASE!!!

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Staff were fantastic and the location was superb Actual cups of coffee available on the morning Staff provided excellent restaurant recommendations Let us leave our luggage for a few hours after check out