Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duncan B.C.

1: "A potential DEATH THREAT!" at a B&B

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The Manager when she arrived.
Cons: Safety!!!!!!!!!!!, improved dust removal, being shown their fire drill with sites of alarms & fire extinguishers.
Location: Walking distance to all amenities Downtown, park & Sea.
Trying to get a reservation at this B&B was a fiasco & my stay there put me in possible MORTAL danger. My comments are NOT a hysterical reaction of a disgruntled client . I am a retired 71 year old physician & I have had the good fortune to have travelled world wide in the past 16 yrs & stayed in a wide range of hotel/ B&B classes. As the result of difficulty booking this B&B on the Net via Expedia,their agent made the booking for me. This took 75 mins. to complete I had further business to complete. At 2200hrs.I found the B&B with difficulty. The B&B sign & house number weren't illuminated. No one would answer the door & the door telephone just took me to an answering machine. It was only with the help of the police was I able to contact the manager who had to drive 30' to reach the hotel. I was settled in my room by 0100hrs. I needed a bath. The room had a very large Jacuzzi bath in a small alcove in the room. The bath was, when filled with water, about 2.5 feet deep. To get into the bath, one had to step up 2 steps tiled with a smooth, shiny, ? quartz like finish. There wasn't any evidence of any non-slip matts being available. There was 1 hand hold at the tap end of the bath that was screwed into the wall, 2 feet above the tiled floor which, ( I am 6'1" tall.) There weren't any other hand holds on or near the bath. I ended up falling into the bath! Struggling to get out took 10 mins. I stood up & my feet slipped & I fell across the floor "ONLY" spraining my L wrist !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, Oregon

Absolutely Gorgeous and Gracious!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The room was so quaint I felt like I was in Victorian England. The fireplace was real, we had fires every night. The sparkling wine was surprisingly tasty! And the breakfasts (brought to your room and tucked in a cubby with a door in the hallway and a door in the room wall so nobody even has to open the room door) were fabulous! We even made special requests (for bacon) which were graciously supplied. We highly recommend this B & B!!!
Cons: The chaise lounge was broken, although useable. A floor lamp quit working while we were there, but was quickly replaced . The water draining noise from the emptying bathtub above us at 1AM (and they are huge bathtubs, so it took awhile to drain) was annoying.
Location: Within easy walking distance of the tourist area, and only a block away from a huge park. Ideal location!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for those who like Victorian style

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
First time in a B&B and was not too happy as far as decor. Room was very cluttered and not much walking space to get around. Breakfast and cleanliness very good. No complaints. Stairs to room very narrow so u comfortable to take up luggage. Check in went very smooth and plenty of information on local attractions provided.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Beyond amazing!!

Posted Sep 22, 2016
My husband and I stayed in the celebration room for our 15 year anniversary. It was gorgeously decorated, the cleanliness was impeccable, and breakfast is homemade and delivered to your room. There was handmade truffles and chilled champagne waiting in the room when we arrived. The wonderful lady who greeted us showed us to our room and gave us a local map, which was very helpful. The location is very nice and very, very, convenient. This was a fantastic experience for us, and I can't speak highly enough of Humboldt House or the super sweet lady running it, but I will always try!
5 out of 5
by Linda

Charming Get-away Location

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Charming get-away. Quiet neighborhood, yet close to downtown.
5 out of 5
by jaime

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Close proximity to the downtown area.
Cons: Better quality beds. Mattress was lumpy. Variety on the breakfast menu. Sweet potato hash browns were terrible.
The bed was very uncomfortable. The Jacuzzi was hard to get in and out of. There was no regular shower, it said on the site that there was a private full bath. No There was not! The breakfasts were not good! The eggs had no flavor and the sausage was over cooked and sort of cardboard like. This was way over priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Cozy B&B close to town

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, free parking, free internet
We had a great stay and would recommend. There is free guest parking behind the B&B. We parked and walked everywhere (except Butchard Gardens which is a must see and is about a 20-30 minute drive). There is also free wifi. Breakfast was excellent and it was such a treat having it delivered to the room. You sign up for your breakfast the night before at a specific time slot (between 8-10am I believe), so if you have a preferred time you better jump on the list before you get stuck with the last slot! We stayed in the Mikado Room and there was a sunken jetted tub only (no shower); if you have joint problems it may be difficult getting in/out. The B&B was very private, we were shown to our room by a friendly staff member the first day and with the exception of a few guests coming and going we didn't see anyone again for the 3-nights we were there. We liked the B&B coziness with the anonymity and privacy of a larger motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Delightful place!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
We loved this B&B! Wonderful, romantic room, delicious food, very welcoming, useful resources and helpful friendly staff, and a shirt walk from most of Victoria's places of interest. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.