Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by barb from mexico

Not ready

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Land lady was not there upon arrival room was not ready
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria,BC

Home,Away from ,home?

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels
A bit of a mix up in our reservations which caused some anxiety!Resolved on arrival at which point we started to enjoy our stay.Our stay was comfortable,breakfast as advertised,good meal with pleasant company.I would be interested in another visit,overall good surpassed the other! Cheers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by withheld from Victoria

good B&B in quiet residential neighbourhood

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels
A fairly nice B&B located in a residential neighbourhood not far from downtown Victoria. Breakfast was good, although provided at a location across the street from the location of my room. The operation seems to be run by only one person, and therefore the service is a bit spotty ... I had to call the owner when I arrived and wait for her to show up, as did others. She did not seem to be entirely prepared for my arrival. Overall my suite was well appointed, had a small kitchen area and an even smaller bathroom, which I found cramped, but functional. The suite was furnished with a lot of period knick-knacks, which was interesting, but a bit girly for my taste. I found the cleanliness of the suite left a bit to be desired, and some of the furnishings were in poor repair (very uncomfortable antique couch). I felt the property was over-priced for what I received.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet in an area with small town/village feel

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Small, cozy and quiet!
Location: Central to everything and just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the Inner Harbour.
I have no major complaints. The only thing wrong was when I arrived at Trutch Manor the owner informed me that she rented out the suite I reserved that night. I wasn't happy about having to move rooms but the staff moved my luggage for me and were very helpful. The location was perfect. It is within walking distance of the beach, Inner Harbour and Cook Street Village which has delicious restaurants, funky stores and much more. There is also a bus stop one block up on Cook Street which will take you right down town. But I recommend walking downtown if you can because there are numerous shops and things to see along the way.
3 out of 5
by Rose from Canada

Good location; mediocre experience

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Excellent breakfast. Authentic Victorian decor.
Cons: Staff could be better organized.
Location: Walking distance to Cook Street Village restaurants, the Museum, China Town, the shopping district, and the Inner Harbor
This guest house is walking distance to Cook Street Village restaurants, the Museum, China Town, the shopping district, and the Inner Harbor. For those intrigued by the Victoria period, the breakfast room is a delight. It's chock full of period pieces and decorated in dark reds and dark wood. The breakfast was good. One can have their choice of eggs with sausage or bacon, toast and juice. Although it doesn't sound exciting, the other option, lime yogurt with fresh fruit, toast and juice, was delicious and filling. That being said, I found the staff pleasant but disorganized. When we arrived at 3:30 p.m., our room hadn't been cleaned. When we arrived for breakfast at the posted time, the cook wasn't ready for us, and was out of milk. The room was also disappointing in that the bathroom was separated from the the bedroom/sitting room by a curtain only, affording no privacy. And the sink was a stainless steel bar sink with no counter space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cheryl & Doug from Koth

cute neighborhood

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels
Cute bed & breakfast with breakfast being the VERY BEST part. The lime yogurt w/ fresh fruit (whatever we desired) was delicious & served in the most beautiful dining room decorated in beautiful antiques & colors!! The room was very clean too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old world charm

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Quaint and elegant. Beautiful old manor house close to downtown. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. We really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Mountain View, CA

Fabulous Place Fun People

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Very Victorian
Cons: Not certain of how to contact manager upon arrival
Location: Close to downtown Victoria... Lots of gardens to visit and a Castle
What a surprise to have a kitchen in every room. Plus a gourmet breakfast and pleasing personalities. Comfortable beds and charming rooms