Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comodo

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Vi abbiamo soggiornato solo una notte di passaggio. La pulizia dell'hotel è in ottime condizioni, il personale della reception è molto gentile, ma i prezzi sono troppo alto x la media islandese, considerando che la wifi non funziona.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

Basic accommodation at extortionate price

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Reduce the price drastically and describe it accurately as basic accommodation.
Location: Vik is in theory a good stop over if you are traveling east to Hoff or west back up to Reykjavik just avoid the so called cottages.
I had booked this 7 months in advance and from the photos and description expected a Travelodge/Premier Inn style room with breakfast included. When we checked in we were informed that we were not in hotel building but something described as a cottage.When we opened the door we discovered why a dust pan and brush had been dumped there, to sweep up the black lava dust we were taking in from our shoes from the car park. Bathroom was tiny sink with previous guests hair left in it and a hand held shower spray which produced cold water. Just what you want after 10 hour drive from the East of Iceland. We had requested extra pillows which were in the broom cupboard not a wardrobe, mismatched and no pillow cases. Dividing wall of the shed was paper thin so when neighbours returned you could hear everything they do through the night. This with breakfast cost the equivalent of £192.00 at the then exchange rate. The breakfast is served in the adjoining Iceland Air Hotel and this is the only part of our stay which was good and this element of our bill was worth the money. Needless to say upon settlement of our bill we raised the many issues we had with this garden shed and had our final bill satisfactorily reduced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Stayed in one of the hotel cottages, . Room with three single comfortable beds, small shower room .Cottages ok for one night stay. Breakfast served in the hotel, very good & a bonus to hear the piano been played at breakfast time. Reception staff very helpfull.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

First night in Iceland

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Room got pretty stuffy, and found it hard to sleep.
It was our first night in Iceland. The hotel room was good, and the blackout curtains helped us fall asleep. Was only 45 minutes from our activity, so we had plenty of time to get up, eat, pack and get on the road. The staff was very helpful. They even helped us get our cell phone working. Was really impressed with how kind and helpful everyone was.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Österreich

Für eine Nacht ok

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Frühstück war SEHR umfangreich, sogar Waffeln konnte man sich machen!
Location: Das Hotel liegt nahe am Meer, Möglichkeiten Essen zu gehen in der Nähe
Hatten ein "Cottage": d.h. ein Mini-Zimmer mit einem Doppel- und einem Einzelbett, kaum Platz für Koffer oder 3Personen, wenn sie sich nicht gerade im Bett aufhalten. Eigenes kleines Bad ist vorhanden, wenn auch leider nicht sehr wohlriechend.. Nett war die Aussicht auf das Meer und auf der anderen Seite auf die brütenden Möven!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Substandard hotel attached to an excellent one.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Location, clean, the shared Icelandair Hotel/Hotel Edda staff upgraded us to much better room in Icelandair Hotel after request/complaint.
Cons: Unless on a tight budget, recommend staying at the Icelandair Hotel rather than this one.
Location: South coast of Iceland is beautiful - glaciers, waterfalls, volcanoes, impressive scenery.
Hotel Edda is not terrible, but it is substandard by the standards of European and North American hotels. We stayed in a cottage (more accurately half of a cottage). The workmanship was poor (e.g. cheap fiberboard cabinet closet), no floor barrier to the shower so water ran all over the bathroom floor, uncomfortable beds, cramped room. On the plus side it was reasonably clean, and the staff upgraded us on our second night to the adjacent Icelandair Hotel (on the same property) which was very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester,NY

Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Great location. Nice front desk service. Breakfast was terrific. Especially herring lox waffles and breads. Dinner in restaurant was excellent. Room is basic but clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Not easy to find the reception

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: clean and helpful receptionists
Cons: Easy reconginised sigh to direct guest to the reception of Hotel Edda on the road side.
Location: No comment due to the bad weather and can do nothing during my stay there.
It is not easy to locate the reception as there is no sigh to show it combined with Icelandair Hotel until I work further in to the enterance of Icelandair Hotel. I didn't find any facilities except one restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leawood

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Hotel was ok but would probably not stay there again. For the price we paid I would have expected a nicer room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Hotel is connected with Icelandair hotel so you get the impression that the room may be as nice as the reception area. actual room is lacking. Showering gets the whole bathroom wet. Don't think the price is justified