Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

The cottages are not so good.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location was ok
Cons: Door locks on the cottages need improving, or at least give instructions on how they work.
Location: Black sand beach, other Vik tours
I can only review the cottages, not the hotel rooms. The cottages are like a duplex. They have a shared main door and the two individual doors are behind that in a common area. So, the opposite room can hear all the noise you make coming and going. If they are part of you group, this might not be such a problem. Strangers might think otherwise. The locks to get int the two doors are frustrating. Eventually, we figured it out. But we made a lot of noise in the process and the other side probably heard it all during our late check in. The room is spartan. I did the job. I would not stay there again. Also not worth the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa, ontario

Terrible hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
My entire experience was terrible. Bad hotel, bad service, rude staff, ugly cabins and the cabins are also shared and the people in the next room were loud all night and kept me awake. Do not stay at this hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vik

One step above tent camping

Posted Oct 18, 2017
While the staff was great at check in of the next door Iceland air hotel, there were many issues with this accommodation. Walls were paper thin, beds were tiny with only one pillow. No WiFi in cabin, bathrooms was tiny and shower curtain makes you claustrophobic and clings to you. Seems like a lot of money for one step above tent camping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old, but not expensive by Iceland standards

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Not much, other than low cost, about $200 per night
Cons: Tear it down
Well, I don't like to write whining reviews but this place could best be described as small and beaten. If it's any comfort the next store new, modern hotel goes for $400-$500 per night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida,USA

Excellent.Amazing & cute cottages.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Excellent, perfect location , comfortable bed & clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Stayed in Cottages. Clean but had noisy neighbors. Bed's comfortable but shower floods the bathroom floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pa

Two Hotels in One

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The Hotel Edda is a hotel in front of the Icelandair Hotel in the VIK area. I believe they are part of the same hotel as they share the Icelandairs bar and restaurant. The Hotel Edda appears to be the older part which is probably why it was cheaper. The rooms were small but it was ok for one night. We had to pay for our breakfast which was in the Icelandair restaurant however it was very good. Try to get the breakfast included with your package. We were going to go to dinner at the hotel restaurant but across the road there is a supermarket as well as a little restaurant. We chose to go to the restaurant across the road as there was a lot more variety (pizza, burgers, pasta, seafood.etc) at more than half the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester

Great location, great breakfast.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Easy check in, great staff and the breakfast was a traditional mix of Icelandic cuisine and American style hot breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk staff was helpful in giving recommendations and driving instructions in the main hotel lobby. The bathroom in the little cabins should be updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice spot for exploring Iceland

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The lobby area and the restaurant were inviting. The location away from Reykjavik and near waterfalls and band sand beach, etc. was good.
Cons: Showers that don't rob room heat
Location: There are beautiful waterfalls, including one you can walk behind for a different view, a black sand beach lined with basalt columns, & a glacier near
We stayed in a cute cabin with a view over the town. The room furnishings were minimal but sufficient. The twin sized beds were comfortable. Our one concern was the notice that the water heater used the same line as the room heat and long showers could result in the heat not lasting all night. Since we anticipated a cold night, we postponed showering until morning--heat in the room seeming more important at the time than a hot shower.