Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Sorry to trouble you

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: The room
Cons: They could stop accepting bookings when closed
Location: Good question - very remote
Arrived early due to change in itinerary at 2pm (after driving for 6 hours). Premises locked up but owners were in. I phoned from outside and was told I would have to come back at 6pm. It was a very wet January day. After some discussion owner reminded me it wasn't her problem my itinerary had changed. When I asked for advice (all over the phone as I wasn't allowed in) as to where I could go none was given. Not sure what they expected me to do in such a rural area on a wet afternoon for 4 hours. Appreciate check in time is check in time, but I would expect at least an offer to use the facilities at the end of my journey and a helpful suggestion as to where to go. Following morning the owner explained it was Expedia's fault as they have told them they are closed on Mondays. Presumably they knew they were closed when they accepted my booking? Customer experience training needed badly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sheffield

not what was booked

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a family room with double bed and two twins as there were no twins available but upon arrival was asked to pay an extra £25 from the hotel as there was only two persons stopping and they were both males. Also be aware that hotel does not open until 6pm this is in small print to but easily missed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Worst hotel I have stayed in Hotel was closed on my arrival Ian the owner didn't know I was even staying. Showed to room which was like a ice box. Then told no food on a MONDAY so had to order a takeaway which. I had already asked the young barmaid for plate and even a bun liner to bring my rubbish downstairs on delivering my Pizza the female owner asked me to eat it downstairs offered a continental breakfast the next morning with a comment you can have a few eggs if you want complete Joke of a of a Hotel I would rather stay with in Faulty Towers give this place a massive wide birth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newmarket

This was one of the best Pub/Hotels ever

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The Staff, Rooms, cleanliness were all excellent, and I I would highly recommend this place, it was a real pleasant surprise, as I was just using it somewhere to stay with wife while going to a friends birthday. I would definitely aim to return.
Cons: Nothing really that we didn't like, maybe the room key didn't give me access to the front door but someone was there to open it even at 1.30am.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
We were surprised that access was not possible until 6pm, when the pub opened for the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

great stay.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: it's charm and friendliness of staff
Cons: the only comment is as I am short therefore the mirror in en suit was too high
Location: Lovely area close to a number of National Trust places
Everything was just lovely, new owners in last year so everything was just great..
5 out of 5
by Robert from Portsmouth

A good village inn

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
The Old Vine has recently been redecorated and refurnished hence the above assessment. The continental breakfast although adequate could be better with more variety
5 out of 5
by Michael from Pamber Green

I want to go back

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff made for a lovely evening.
4 out of 5
by Clive from Reigate

Great Stay

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
The dinner was excellent, I had a Peri Peri dish and it was delightful. Also breakfast seemed to be locally sourced ingredients. Room was clean, Big and had a 32 inch TV. En suite had a bath and a mixer shower which I wasn't mad about. Very tasteful décor, and the bed was very soft, possibly too soft for me but I suppose that is a preference. The location was very peaceful and we slept well. The service was excellent, polite and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Steven from Castleford

A hidden gem

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly pub with excellent food and real ale