Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
15% of guests recommend
2.4 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room 15 very smokey. My friend stayed there.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Very X pensive for what it is. Wouldn't recommend or stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colchester

The Great Escape

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
I needed a one night stay in the area for business and didn't fancy paying £100+ - on Hotels.com the Blue Anchor was £60 - it's not a hotel but a pub with a few rooms upstairs - breakfast is juice and Oats o Simple in a basket in the room - the pub food was fine - the big problem was in the morning - the whole pub was locked up and no-one was around - luckily my room had the fire escape outside so i was able to climb out of the window - otherwise i don't know what i would have done.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by JAMES from Worcester

Do not stay here.

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
The room was bad, the bathroom door did not shut properly, The bathroom was in very bad condition and tiny, one toilet squeezed next to a shower cubicle. Mildewed tiles etc. There was no chair in the room, the pillows were very thin so I used all 4 from the two single beds. Good job I was traveling alone. The "complimentary breakfast" was a joke. A pot of Oatsosimple instant porridge, a Alpen bar & a carton (200ml) of cherries & berries juice. When I asked if I could open a tab for drinks & dinner the answer was no so I had to walk half a mile to an atm to withdraw cash. Food was simple,beer expensive & patrons noisy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Condemned

Posted Aug 16, 2016
When we arrived on sat 13th Aug, my birthday, we were told by the new owners, that they took over on 13th of July, and condemned the place, as it wasn't up to standards, so I contacted Expedia, by email for a full refund of £120, and have had no reply, so my birthday weekend was ruined, I won't be using Expedia again.
1 out of 5
by Fernando

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Ebookers
The condition of the hotel room was horrible. I wouldn't recommend anybody to stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Decent pub with good staff

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Wifi wasn't great and smokers outside were noisy, everything else was ok to good
1 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
The accomadation toilet did'nt flush I had to resort to filling the waste bin with water from the shower and using the water to flush the toilet, there was a dent in the toilet door and there was no communication on how to return the room key when vacating on leaving.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

Do not stay here

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Ruined what was meant to be a fun weekend for a good friends wedding! Best part about it was leaving the keys back.