Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Nice place, ideal for families, nice access to the beach, rooms are functional, food was good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Addis Ababa

Quiet hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Charming small hotel with large and comfortable rooms, perfect for a low-key, relaxing holiday. We made good use of the pool. Even at low tide, easy to swim in the ocean without having to walk far, and at high tide, the water is just a few metres away. Lovely long beach to go for walks. Good range of foods at buffet breakfast. We took the half-board option, and enjoyed many delicious seafood meals for dinner. Take note that there are no TVs in the rooms (which was fine with us), but there is a TV in the common lounge area (which we used to watch Euro 2016 football matches). We were there as a family of four, including two teenagers, who were happy with the free wifi. Also did a great excursion to go swimming with dolphins, organised through the front desk. Very happy with our stay overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel was a 3 starr but the staff is a 10 starr
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautifully kept grounds and pool area.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: We love the staff, who are ALL brilliant and the pool and bar area.
Cons: The bathroom could do with being refurbished and the mattresses are pretty hard.
Location: Beautiful spot on the beach. Great restaurant to go to: 'The Rock'..absolutely amazing. Good snorkelling at the Blue Lagoon. Surfing trips.
Lovely hotel, really clean with the very best staff who really looked after us and made our holiday extra special. The room was beautifully prepared for our arrival and whilst the bathroom could have done with some refurbishment, it was thoroughly cleaned every day. The hotel is right on the beach with a lovely bar and dining area. The beach is clean and there are a few sun loungers on the beach in front of the hotel but you can also see the beach perfectly well from the pool. Beach shoes are a must as you have to walk across coral to get to the sea when the tide is out, this is not an issue when the tide is in. There are plenty of excursions available either through the hotel or through freelance tour guides on the beach. The food is plentiful if not always very varied, and the tea and cake at 4.30pm are very welcome! The lunch menu is better and more varied than the dinner choices (2 choices each evening for starter and main course).The hotel has a real family feel about it as everyone is so friendly; a very well run and charming place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

one of the best options in Zanzibar

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: staff, location, perks, support, help
Location: visit the school orphanage to bring food and help to those who really need it on this planet
compared to other places we left in Zanzibar because of insufficient standards (Double Tree) we had a very good time and incredible service here at Dongwe Ocean View by Anita and the staff. Very nice facilities, perks, support and great location, for a reasonable overall prices compared to others
4 out of 5
by johan from Stockholm

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Wondeful. The staff were nuce. Very calm and collected area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi/ Detroit/Atlanta

Hidden treasure

Posted Dec 9, 2015
The staff was amazing! They were very attentive and pleasant to talk to. All of the meals spoke to my heart but dinner was simply "Devine." The bartender had mad skills and kept me really happy.
5 out of 5
by Alin from California, USA

Awesome Beach, Great Staff!!!

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
Had a wonderful time recently at the Dongwe Ocean View. This is a small resort that is very relaxing and peaceful.The beach in front of Dongwe Ocean View was the best compared to the rest of the peninsula. At high tide other hotels had their beach disappear but Dongwe Ocean View still had a a very nice beach during high tide. The beach also had the nicest/softest sand compared to other areas. Samson (the manager) and his staff were amazing and very accommodating. We decided to change some of our travel plans and they went above and beyond to help us book flights and hotels. Overall, a great place!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dongwe Ocean View

Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
Better rates if booked directly through hotel Hotel is in an isolated area of Zanzibar, this makes it very good for recovery from jet lag or the constant go go go of a safari. It's better to stay in Old Stonetown to explore the alleyways rather than do a day trip from the hotel.