Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Addis Ababa

Quiet hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Charming small hotel with large and comfortable rooms, perfect for a low-key, relaxing holiday. We made good use of the pool. Even at low tide, easy to swim in the ocean without having to walk far, and at high tide, the water is just a few metres away. Lovely long beach to go for walks. Good range of foods at buffet breakfast. We took the half-board option, and enjoyed many delicious seafood meals for dinner. Take note that there are no TVs in the rooms (which was fine with us), but there is a TV in the common lounge area (which we used to watch Euro 2016 football matches). We were there as a family of four, including two teenagers, who were happy with the free wifi. Also did a great excursion to go swimming with dolphins, organised through the front desk. Very happy with our stay overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautifully kept grounds and pool area.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: We love the staff, who are ALL brilliant and the pool and bar area.
Cons: The bathroom could do with being refurbished and the mattresses are pretty hard.
Location: Beautiful spot on the beach. Great restaurant to go to: 'The Rock'..absolutely amazing. Good snorkelling at the Blue Lagoon. Surfing trips.
Lovely hotel, really clean with the very best staff who really looked after us and made our holiday extra special. The room was beautifully prepared for our arrival and whilst the bathroom could have done with some refurbishment, it was thoroughly cleaned every day. The hotel is right on the beach with a lovely bar and dining area. The beach is clean and there are a few sun loungers on the beach in front of the hotel but you can also see the beach perfectly well from the pool. Beach shoes are a must as you have to walk across coral to get to the sea when the tide is out, this is not an issue when the tide is in. There are plenty of excursions available either through the hotel or through freelance tour guides on the beach. The food is plentiful if not always very varied, and the tea and cake at 4.30pm are very welcome! The lunch menu is better and more varied than the dinner choices (2 choices each evening for starter and main course).The hotel has a real family feel about it as everyone is so friendly; a very well run and charming place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

one of the best options in Zanzibar

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: staff, location, perks, support, help
Location: visit the school orphanage to bring food and help to those who really need it on this planet
compared to other places we left in Zanzibar because of insufficient standards (Double Tree) we had a very good time and incredible service here at Dongwe Ocean View by Anita and the staff. Very nice facilities, perks, support and great location, for a reasonable overall prices compared to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi/ Detroit/Atlanta

Hidden treasure

Posted Dec 9, 2015
The staff was amazing! They were very attentive and pleasant to talk to. All of the meals spoke to my heart but dinner was simply "Devine." The bartender had mad skills and kept me really happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A gem

Posted Aug 23, 2015
The accommodations are lovely, the atmosphere sweet and calm. And the staff could not be more gracious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mozambique

Good hotel and confort.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
With my wife and friends enjoyed a gread holiday in a very beatiful and special place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Awesome ocean views

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: The ocean views are right outside your door and wonderful! The dinners were pleasantly yummy, large portions are served with variety each night.
Cons: Property needs renovating,mosquito netting on bed has holes. The restaurant need to be enclosed,too many flies/bugs around food.
Location: Location is far removed from the city life. Very remote but there are excursions to sign up for, just more money because the drive to them is far.
Staff was great and friendly and very accommodating. The rooms are very basic, no tv, no clock or telephone. The Property needs renovating,mosquito netting on bed has holes. The restaurant need to be enclosed,too many flies/bugs around food especially during breakfast time. Outdoor beach chairs need better cushions and beach umbrellas would be nice to have, as there is no shade when outside. Bathrooms are spacious. The property is very peaceful and a great place for a retreat. With the proper renovations and perhaps some scheduled activities for guests, this place could be a true hotspot! I love the small intimate atmospehere and as a solo traveler felt totally comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Staff, food and cleanliness
Cons: The rooms can be more comfortable and they can put TV for every room.
In expadia it says the hotel is 4 stars. But I think it is like 3 star hotel. But the staff, food and cleanliness is very good. It is like a boutique hotel. It has 18 rooms. There is no TV in rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and peaceful

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Nice hotel. The pool is a bit more decent that it looks on the photos. Great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful Beach View

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: View and Staff.
Cons: Hotel entrance needs to be paved.
Location: There is no much to do around the hotel, especially after 6pm. There are some local shops around the hotel to purchase souvenirs.
We rented a family room, which was very comfortable and the view from its balcony was amazing. Hotel staff were very accommodating, with minor exceptions.