Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Addis Ababa

Quiet hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Charming small hotel with large and comfortable rooms, perfect for a low-key, relaxing holiday. We made good use of the pool. Even at low tide, easy to swim in the ocean without having to walk far, and at high tide, the water is just a few metres away. Lovely long beach to go for walks. Good range of foods at buffet breakfast. We took the half-board option, and enjoyed many delicious seafood meals for dinner. Take note that there are no TVs in the rooms (which was fine with us), but there is a TV in the common lounge area (which we used to watch Euro 2016 football matches). We were there as a family of four, including two teenagers, who were happy with the free wifi. Also did a great excursion to go swimming with dolphins, organised through the front desk. Very happy with our stay overall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautifully kept grounds and pool area.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: We love the staff, who are ALL brilliant and the pool and bar area.
Cons: The bathroom could do with being refurbished and the mattresses are pretty hard.
Location: Beautiful spot on the beach. Great restaurant to go to: 'The Rock'..absolutely amazing. Good snorkelling at the Blue Lagoon. Surfing trips.
Lovely hotel, really clean with the very best staff who really looked after us and made our holiday extra special. The room was beautifully prepared for our arrival and whilst the bathroom could have done with some refurbishment, it was thoroughly cleaned every day. The hotel is right on the beach with a lovely bar and dining area. The beach is clean and there are a few sun loungers on the beach in front of the hotel but you can also see the beach perfectly well from the pool. Beach shoes are a must as you have to walk across coral to get to the sea when the tide is out, this is not an issue when the tide is in. There are plenty of excursions available either through the hotel or through freelance tour guides on the beach. The food is plentiful if not always very varied, and the tea and cake at 4.30pm are very welcome! The lunch menu is better and more varied than the dinner choices (2 choices each evening for starter and main course).The hotel has a real family feel about it as everyone is so friendly; a very well run and charming place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prachtige locatie en een uitstekende bediening

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: De locatie, de bediening en de ambitie om het voor de gasten tot een onvergetelijke ervaring te maken.
Na onze safari was dit de ideale plek om de strandvakantie te vieren. Helaas kreeg ik een ongelukje op het strand. De staf van het hotel heeft werkelijk alles gedaan om het voor mij alsnog tot een onvergetelijke ervaring te maken. Ik ben ze daar enorm dankbaar voor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

one of the best options in Zanzibar

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: staff, location, perks, support, help
Location: visit the school orphanage to bring food and help to those who really need it on this planet
compared to other places we left in Zanzibar because of insufficient standards (Double Tree) we had a very good time and incredible service here at Dongwe Ocean View by Anita and the staff. Very nice facilities, perks, support and great location, for a reasonable overall prices compared to others
4 out of 5
by fatiha from PARIS

Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
TRES BON SEJOUR DANS CET HOTEL, le personnel est très agréable, très accueillant et aux petits soin. Lieu calme et apaisant loin des animations très touristiques. la nourriture est excellente et gouteuse. très beau cadre. hôtel qui a besoin d'un petit rafraichissement tout de même(manque quelques carreaux dans la piscine, peinture). belle plage même à marée basse.
4 out of 5
by johan from Stockholm

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Wondeful. The staff were nuce. Very calm and collected area.
5 out of 5
by Camilla

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi/ Detroit/Atlanta

Hidden treasure

Posted Dec 9, 2015
The staff was amazing! They were very attentive and pleasant to talk to. All of the meals spoke to my heart but dinner was simply "Devine." The bartender had mad skills and kept me really happy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Posizione spettacolare, tutte le stanze con ampio balcone vista mare. Piscina incorniciata dalle palme a pochi metri dalla spiaggia. Personale gentilissimo e disponibile, cibo buono e servito in una sala direttamente sulla spiaggia, molto piacevole. Consigliatissimo.
4 out of 5
by Andre from Rostock

Entspannen und Faulenzen

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Alle 18 Zimmer in beiden Häusern haben einen traumhaften Blick auf den feinsandigen Strand und den Ozean. Und vor dem Strand liegen die Dhaus der örtlichen Fischer. Der Strand und die Farben des Wassers verändern sich durch die Gezeiten ständig, was seinen besonderen Reiz hat. Schwimmen ist nur in den Stunden um das Hochwasser möglich. Dafür kann mann aber bei Niedrigwasser viele Korallen praktisch bei einem (Watt-) Spaziergang bewundern und fotografieren. Dabei sollte man aber natürlich unbedingt auf Korallen und Seeigel achten, und das nicht nur zum Schutz der eigenen Füße. Das Zimmer war groß und sehr schön mit Korbmöbeln eingerichtet. Das Bad konnte da leider nicht mithalten. Es hat aber alles funktioniert und sauber, über den Rest kann man hinwegsehen. Pool: Nicht mehr ganz neu aber wird täglich gereinigt. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und stets um das Wohlbefinden der Gäste bemüht. Das Frühstücksbuffet ist gut und ausreichend. Eiergerichte werden nach Wunsch zubereitet. Bei Halbpension ist Abends ein schmackhaftes und schön zubereitetes Dreigängemenü enthalten. Mangels Alternativen ist man bei den Getränken komplett auf die Bar angewiesen. Bier gibt es für 4 $, die Flasche Wein ab 28 $. Ausflüge zu Wasser und zu Land werden vom Hotel und am Strand von den Einheimischen angeboten. In der unmittelbaren Umgebung gibt es darüber hinaus wohl keine lohnenden Ziele. Daher ist Hotel aber wirklich sehr gut zum Entspannen und Faulenzen geeignet.