Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by tasha

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
The service was top class and hotel beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A lot to love, but go in with eyes open

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: The pool., the people and the food was excellent
Cons: Cooler rooms and much more reliable wifi.
Location: The sea, snorkelling, but other than that the village is quite poor and therefore wandering on unnacompanied wouldn't be reccomended
There is a lot to love about this place, but it took me a couple of days to see it. For me there are some elements about the type of offer that this is that you need to consider carefully as to whether they are non negotiable for you for the perfect holiday. The resort is beautiful, but it is rustic and this might not fulfil everyone's expectations of a holiday. There is no air con, just some fans and luckily a constant sea breeze, . Don't expect things like tv's or fridges stocked with Pringles or cold soft drinks. This is eco luxury
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Easy Living

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Extremely friendly staff; varied and delicious three-course meals at all lunch and dinners; on-site travel and water sport service; hammocks
Cons: As a solo traveler, it was odd at times as this is more of a couple's retreat. Also, as I don't drink alcohol, the all-inclusive price seemed high.
Location: Rural setting next to a local village. Waterfront bungalows, beach access. As a runner, this place is great for low-tide, beach runs. 1 hr to airport
I chose to visit Zanzibar for a short, relaxation trip. Upon arriving at Matemwe Lodge I was greeted with smiling faces, fresh squeezed juice and a cold towel. Before going to my room I was provided a quick tour of the resort and returned to my room with my bags already there. Breakfast is usually buffet-style with fruits, juices, and breads; however, you always can order omelets, eggs, sausages/bacon, and pancakes as well. Lunch and dinner are three-course, set menus, but you are given at least two choices for each. The weekly seafood barbecue was my favorite meal. The convenience of having an onsite water sports venue connected to the resort simplified matters. They have free kayak rental and I went snorkeling once as well. They also offer spa treatments on site. Above everything else I loved the "smallness" of the resort. It only has 12 personal bungalows, so the resort never seemed crowded and the staff greeted you daily by name. This atmosphere provided a sense of calm that you would not be able to find in a larger resort. The pool always had available lounge chairs and the dining area never exceeded 20 people. I would definitely recommend this place to others looking for a relaxing trip to Africa.
5 out of 5
by Virginia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful relaxing and friendly staff

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
From stone town it took us about 1hr 15minutes to get to the lodge. We stayed 2 nights. On our arrival we were warmly welcomed by friendly staff with a refreshing drink of coconut. 12 Lodges are set in a beautiful surrounding of sea and gardens, just a shame that there was no direct access to the beach from the lodges,with two beautiful swimming pools, massage and spa facility. The lodges are spacious and comfortable,however,the bathroom can do with some modernisation. Our stay was relaxing any small room issues quickly resolved by the staff. Food was of average standard.We would like to thank all the staff who made our stay comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views, great staff, rooms dated

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
The views from the bungalows are spectacular looking over the lagoon and reef, Mnemba island and watching the many dhow boats go out for fishing at sunrise. The grounds and gardens are well taken care of. The service was good, the staff are wonderful ( though some are trying too hard). We were there in low season, so the place was less than half full, because of this they surprised all the guests with a different lunch and dinner location each day. The bungalows were supposedly "recently renovated" but this seemed to be just new curtains and cushions, maybe a new coat of paint. The bungalows were large... but quite dated. Our bed / pillows were musty. The room was really hot at night, even with the two fans. The week before we stayed at another resort which had no AC but was not nearly as hot. The excursions are ok, mostly extremely overpriced, I hope they pay the staff well. Value for money is ok on low season rates... I think would be over priced at full rates. Overall, good place to stay, wonderful views and great staff, but don't expect 5 star luxury from the bungalows.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

A Paradise on the Beach!

Posted Nov 15, 2015
This is one of those places that words can never do justice to. You have to visit to experience. The staff are amazing.. From the team onsite at the lodge to the water sports staff, they work around the clock to ensure your stay is pleasant without being overbearing. I am going to return to the hotel for another stay. I have traveled around the world and stayed in a lot of paradise-type hotels and Metemwe lodge is in that league without a doubt. A big thanks to Marco, Arthur and Salum. You guys were awesome hosts.
5 out of 5
by Ashley from Miami, FL

Excellent Honeymoon

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Just came back from my honeymoon and all I can say is thank you... Both Assistant Managers that we met (Martin & Marco) took care of us and made our honeymoon that much more special! **MUST DO** Infinity Sand Bank Tour - A snorkeling trip combined with the most romantic lunch you may ever have... This is only available ~5 times a month when the tides are at their lowest point of the month; check the tide tables before you book!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hermosa Beach, CA

Perfect Retreat in Zanzibar

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Location and hotel service were fantastic.
Cons: Stonetown and spice tour was a little expensive, as compared to other 3rd party providers. Otherwise, all the other services, tours, spa were ok.
Location: Diving at Matemwe atoll was fantastic. Stonetown is a 1.25 hour drive. Highly recommend the spice tour.
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights after our safari. We picked the Matemwe area due to the proximity to Matemwe atoll for diving and ability for day trips to Stone Town. I highly recommend this lodge. The villas are spacious and offer separate sitting area, separate bath tub and rain shower, outdoor hammock and couch for reading. The lodge also boasts a nice bar, 2 pools, and spa center. The real star was the front of house staff. They went out of their way to make the stay special. For example, they set up a surprise candlelit dinner on the beach our last night. Service in general was exemplary. We were greeted with 2 types of drinks and cool towels upon arrival, and asked frequently how they can make our stay better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Süddeutschland

Super Lodges direkt am Strand

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: Zimmer und Service
Cons: Vielleicht kann man die Algenreste am Strand entfernen.
Location: Direkt am Meer. Z.B. schnorcheln. Man kann über das Hotel etliche Ausflüge unternehmen.
Wir haben die Flitterwochen im Hotel verbracht und waren rundum zufrieden.