Ratings based on 628 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ixonia,WI

Terrible Hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Sarcastic desk clerk, refusal to assist in relocation, lied about reservation.
Location: Go to another hotel
On arrival, Gina stated that there was no reservation. There were rooms available but she refused to set one aside. Celled Expedia advised them of problem. They tried to contact hotel but no one answered the phone. Expedia relocated us to Wingate Appleton ( excellent conditions ). Gina refused to issue a refund for deposit made. The next morning, The Wingate advised us that we were classified by Howard Johnson as a "NO SHOW" which was a lie as we were there the previous day. Efforts to recover my deposit have not been successful. It is our belief that the reservation was deleted in an effort to charge someone else with a higher room rate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth the cost

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location and cost
Cons: Nothing
Location: Plenty restaurants in the area and quick access to highway
Older property that has been we'll maintained. Clean and comfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

good location close to stores and restaurants

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious & nice. Most of the Staff was very friendly.
Cons: A new bed, the person setting up the breakfast room could be more considerate about people trying to sleep. A larger garbage can in the room would be
Location: good location
We did not have a good stay at the hotel. We were there for 3 nights and did not get any sleep. Our room was right next store to the breakfast room and the person setting up the room at midnight woke us up banging things in the room. Then at 5:30 all the hotel guest were in the breakfast room. So we came home sick & exhausted. The bed was worn out, I slept on a slant. Every time you moved in the bed it a real noisy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Convenient Location

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevator or chair lift to 2nd floor. My wife (70) had stroke cannot safely climb stairs. Elevator needed for senior citizens.
Location: adaquite
Hotel Staff was great. Very helpful. Elevator or lift chair badly needed. Older people or people with disabilities cannot safely climb stairs. Or at least in your online information or ads put that there is no elevator to 2nd floor so people can book 1st floor only or pick another hotel that has elevator to upper floors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Overnight trip

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Location: We went to Green Bay for the Packer game so it was about 30 minutes. Simple drive
The hotel staff was slow and did not provide any information including the breakfast in the morning. The following day, the same staff member was much more informative. The bathroom had mold in several places on the tile in the tub. We were unable to use the tub as the water did not stay in and we took showers instead. The room is sparse. One desk chair but not a chair to sit in while watching TV, thus we sat on the bed. The room was hot and the air conditioner made so much noise, we turned it off at night. When it was on, it worked fine but far too noisy to hear the TV.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Cheap, but possibly not worth it

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Right off the expressway about a half mile. Kept clean.
Cons: They haven't replaced their mattresses in a long time. They desperately need to replace them.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and Appleton is not that large so everything is close enough.
Very old hotel with décor from the 1970's but clean and presentable. Unfortunately, the mattresses for both beds were also very old and lumpy. Neither of us had a good night's sleep. Plenty of restaurants around and decent location. If this hotel invested in updates for their amenities and furniture, they could probably charge more and still attract clientele but at this time, they were not worth the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from appleton wi.

Close to airport.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Staff was wonderful. Friendly and accommodating. Comfortable room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from longmont, co

Quiet and clean

Posted Sep 18, 2016
If you are looking for a fancy hotel with a good breakfast, you probably won't like this hotel. If you are looking for a comfortable room that is clean and quiet you will be happy. I would stay hear again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for the price or if staying one night

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: It had a hot tub.
Cons: The rooms. The lobby makes it seem nice, but its not.
Location: There is a mall 6 minutes away. Area around is a little run down. Dark at night.
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. Bed was hard, pillows were thin, room was dirty and old.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Nice stay.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Proximity to place of business
My room looked as though it was recently updated. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable.