Ratings based on 985 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Decent hotel, affordable

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Stood here the weekend of my birthday. Was clean and decent for the price we paid. Pool is pretty small, has a laundry/snack room. We didn't use them but they looked pretty clean. The area is a bit lonely but overall pretty comforting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buena Park,CA

IN FRONT OF THE FWY I-5 TOO NOISE

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: the Office staff the lady in there it was so rude !!
The front door is not seal and you can ear all the noise from the FWY noise Place you can ear your neighbors at night they forgot the towels ,we don't even toke a shower there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Not far from a park

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Clean, pool was fun for the children.
Cons: Management's attitude.
Location: Easy access to interstate and downtown Carlsbad.
I was disappointed in this hotel as the gentleman who checked us in was not friendly or very informative. He wasn't rude, I just felt like I was intruding. The room was clean and the beds are comfortable. We asked for extra towels - there were 4 of us and we had 2 facecloths. I was told maybe we could have some the next day as all the towels were being laundered. I also asked for 2 extra pillows and we were given pillows that had seen better days and should have been thrown out. I was traveling with my 85 year-old mother who has mobility problems and we were on the second floor, having to use stairs to get to the second floor. I asked if it would be possible to get a room on the first floor for the next 2 nights and the manager said he would look into it. He never got back to me and I was tired of feeling like I was bothering him.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

spiders

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Rooms are upgraded but there was two random spiders crawling around might need to get sprayed for insects.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SZ

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Average aminities. Convenient to destinations. Weather was perfect. Enjoy room on ground floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close enough to the coast to equal value

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location, AC was cold, bed was fine
Cons: Customer Service
Location: Go to the beach, you're in Carlsbad!
This Roadway Inn is essentially what you'd expect: no frills, but good value for the location. 5 min drive from the coast. Check-in was bizarre: nobody was around for 10 minutes or so as myself and a group of guests waited, which was confusing. Then during checkout, a knock came on the door at exactly 11:00am with the manager (who had been absent during check-in) telling me, "check out time" and walking away. This made me want to say "no" to recommending to a friend, but at the end of the day, this isn't The Four Seasons & the value remains good. Just get the basics right, you don't need to be a 4-star facility to do so.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from beaumont

Worst hotel ever

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The pics are deceiving! The room smelled, the shower wall was bulging out as if the glue wouldn't hold, the walls were so thin so you could hear everything in the next room, the blow dryer was pulled off the wall and just laid out on the sink, nails sticking out also, room service knocked on the door at 9am, the chair in the room was broke, and the front desk guy Ron, was very rude. A total waste of money. Next time I will not look for the best price! I wish I would have taken photos but I was trying to just get out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Staff was slow and rude. Air conditioning did not work. I asked the front worker who says he owns the hotel why the air conditioner wasn't working he says it takes 15 minutes to work but it never did and he did not check up on it. 730 in the morning the phone is ranging non stop waking us up. This was a horrible hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madera, Ca.

Close to my job site

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Affordable and clean.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Was here for work only.
There's easy access to freeway and it's close to shopping and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Legoland park

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We were not able to sleep confortable as we killed 4 spiders.