Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is between the Hugh Town and the Old Town.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Proximity to town. (old and new).
Cons: Not for those who cannot walk to town for 15 minutes.
Location: Tresco, St Agnes, St Martin's all by boat from the quay at St Mary's (Hugh's Harbour)
This is a terrific B&B not far walking from Hugh Town. It is very well run, very clean B&B and great breakfasts. Great host, very helpful how to get the most of your stay. 10/10
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Canada

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
We were very pleased with our visit to Colossus. The facilities were good, the room was pleasant,and Carmen was especially friendly and helpful,giving us tips on what to see and do and how to get about. Her breakfast choices were great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

The proprietor is full of rules and regulations

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: Clean.
Cons: Place needs an attitude adjustment.
Location: Isles of Scilly are wonderful. Plenty of guidebooks and friendly local advice available.
Clean and modern, but being told when to have breakfast, when to leave the room, when to return, etc is tiresome. She seems to forget who is the paying customer. I get some basic house rules, but I didn't pay to have her philosophies and beliefs jammed down my throat. Notes regarding seperating my trash and compostables for a 3 day stay?? Please. On checkout, we left our luggage to pick up later, and were verbally warned that we could not use the toilet on return. This is also in writing. More of a jail philosophy than a friendly bnb.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Very welcoming and very interesting stay

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: There is a good wifi facility available in bedrooms. There are good tea/coffee facilities available in your bedroom.
Cons: The bedroom is very light in the mornings and can interfere with light-sensitive sleepers. A Darker roller blind or heavier curtains could help avoid
Location: A good location with easy access to all facilities on St Mary's
We had a three night stay in a double room with a separate private bathroom. The facilities are very good indeed. Cleanliness is excellent throughout. The hostess is very welcoming and a helpful source of useful and interesting information. She also provides an excellent breakfast! We would certainly not hesitate to return to stay again. The accommodation is not in a location suited to persons with some physical impairments - there are some steep road stretches and some unavoidable steps. But it is lovely location for people who like a good walk, being almost mid-way between Old Town and Hugh Town. For those interested in diving, local maritime history and chocolate this place is a MUST! The host and hostess are both keen divers of significant standing - the host has authored three books on local wrecks etc - the clue is in the name of the B&B - Colossus - and there are fascinating sea-bed artefacts for you to see everywhere. The hostess is a chocolatier!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, quiet, friendly

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: It is comfortable, clean, quiet and convenient.
We had a very enjoyable stay here for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding on the island. Carmen was very friendly and helpful in booking us a taxi and our luggage transfer. Our cooked breakfast was delicious with home made bread and preserves. The location is quiet and convenient for town. We learnt a little about shipwrecks too!
5 out of 5
by Jenny from Sweden

The best B&B

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful host who makes you feel at home and is so friendly and helpful! Very calm and quiet area only a short walk (although uphill) from the quai and all the shops and restaurants. Absolutely lovely - best B&B I ever stayed at!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Lovely homely B and B

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Great stay! thank you Carmen and Todd. We would definitely recommend staying here! Please note they have rooms to suit most requirements: There is a choice of a room with double bed (this one is not ensuite but has a private bathroom across corridor.) Bathroom is larger than the norm, with both bath and a separate shower. Secondly there is also a king size double bedroom or twin bedroom which is ensuite. If your staying for a while there is also a one bedroom self catering flat as well. Breakfast is excellent and rooms are spotless. Towels etc are provided. Pleasant walk to airport, boats and most evening dining. Worth noting that there is a few steps and small hill to negotiate, although if your staying anywhere on the Scillies you will need a measure of fitness. Carmen and Todd are really helpful, sharing useful local knowledge. Go ahead and book this place, you won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Ideally located, great facilities and lovely hosts

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Colossus is comfortable, clean and friendly, and ideally located to walk into Hugh Town for food, and where you can get boats to any other island.
Location: Colossus is set back from the main road in a quiet location, in easy reach of restaurants, pubs, and the shops of Hugh Town and the harbour.
Colossus is known for two reasons in the Isles of Scilly - one for the Royal Navy ship and one for the guest house and its hosts, Carmen and Todd. Wherever you visit and whoever you talk with, you'll quickly realise they are almost celebrities! Books written by Todd appear in almost every shop and Carmen seems to be involved in many aspects of island life that gives the place its special charm. Anything you need to know, they will have the answer to ensure your stay is a good one. Soon after booking, we'd received a friendly confirmation email, checking we were ok with transport from the airport. When we touched down, the airport buses all know about Colossus and for only a few pounds we had a 15min trip including detailed, humorous commentary by the friendly driver. And that is the word that really describes this whole experience - friendly. Once dropped off we entered the Colossus guest house and found our room - exceptionally clean, comfortable and airy with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for clothes. Most importantly, a proper kettle and tea/coffee making facilities. Our room didn't have an en suite but that was no problem as we had a private bathroom with bath and shower across the hall, and a pair of luxurious robes to wear. Again, the bathroom is large, and immaculately clean. Each morning we had a full English, together with lively and interesting conversation with other guests and Carmen. If you are walking (and we did a lot) you will definitely need it!
5 out of 5
by Judy and Gordon from Wkingham, Berks

A very comfortable and friendly place to stay

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
The accommodation and hospitality was first-rate. Lots of local advice and guidance on where to visit and where to eat. A very friendly place!
5 out of 5
by Martine from France

a warm reception !

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
We enjoyed a lot our stay by Carmen ! She is so kind and gives you a lot of good advices , a very nice B&B !