Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Oldest hotel in Exeter and England!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: View of cathedral, walking distance to local restaurants, cafes, etc.
Cons: Hotel can use a lick of paint here and there but other than very small cosmetic appearances lovely place to stay in Exeter!
Location: Catherdral across the green, close to Royal Albert Museum and other buildings and historical sites to see.
For the oldest hotel in England (according to their local history it was founded in 1747 as a hotel for weary guests travelling through) it is a lovely hotel right in the green with a view of the famous cathedral. Nice hotel with excellent staff and customer service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Sehr gut ausgestattet. Zuvorkommendes und nettes Personal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Great location

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Great location opposite the cathedral, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast very good, good choice on offer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Central location. Close to shops and restaurants.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Perfect hotel to stop for one night on our way to Cornwall. Plenty of parking nearby even though there is no parking at the hotel. Room was small but immaculately clean and overlooked the cathedral. Enough room for a bed for our 6 year old. Staff were helpful and even stored our pedal cycles overnight rather than leaving them on the car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bowland

Hotel with excellent service near good restaurants

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Excellent service from smiling helpful staff; good breakfast; great range of eating facilities to suit all tastes and pockets
Cons: Our room was a slightly odd shape on the third floor with a view of roofs; it only had a shower. We would specify a better room next time.
Location: Excellently located opposite the Cathedral surrounded by excellent restaurants with very good shops nearby. Reasonably convenient parking.
Family visit for Graduation ceremony, so we needed a central location and hoped the hotel would have suitable facilities for family celebrations. We were not disappointed. They laid on a private cocktail party in an attractive upstairs lounge, of which we had sole use.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Zentrale Lage, Hotel enttäuschend

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Zentrale Lage
Location: Sehr zentral direkt gegenüber der Kathedrale.
Wir verbrachten eine Nacht in dem Hotel zum Abschluss unserer Rundreise durch Südengland. Die Lage ist sehr zentral direkt gegenüber der Kathedrale. Das Hotel liegt umgeben von kleinen Cafés und Restaurants nur wenige Meter von den Einkaufszentren entfernt. Die Lage ist sehr positiv hervorzuheben, da man von dort aus die Stadt gut zu Fuß besichtigen kann. Beim Check In wurde uns ein Betrag ("on hold") von 50 Pfund auf den Zimmerpreis aufgeschlagen (da wir final alles zusammen beim Check Out zahlen wollten), was uns im Vorfeld nicht erklärt wurde sondern erst auf Nachfrage warum der Zimmerpreis höher ist als gebucht - wobei kein anderes Hotel auf unserer Reise dies verlangt hatte. Die Erklärung war kurz und etwas fahrig. Selbst wenn es sich nur um einen Pfand handelt, erwarte ich als Gast zumindest einen Hinweis beim Check In. Unsere Koffer wurden auf das Zimmer gebracht. Das Zimmer (Standard Doppelzimmer) war sehr klein und hatte einen muffigen Geruch. Das Betttuch hatte Flecken. Das Bad oder besser Badekabine war winzig. Das Waschbecken so klein, dass alles drum herum inkl. man selbst binnen Sekunden vollgespritzt war. Das Fenster ließ sich nicht öffnen (Ausblick zum Hof). Ohne Klimaanlage war es nicht auszuhalten. Wir haben es nicht gewagt nach einem Upgrade zu fragen. Der Zimmerpreis für unser Zimmer war bereits extrem hoch - unverschämt hoch. Lage super, rechtfertigt den Zimmerpreis jedoch keinesfalls.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable short stay.

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable short stay. Clean, spacious and comfy.
5 out of 5
by Jessica from Bristol

Perfect for shopping

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely stay, very welcoming and great location for a shopping trip!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rickmansworth, London

Great location, excellent hotel

Posted May 23, 2016
From moment of arrival happy friendly staff, superb location and lovely contemporary rooms. We booked the "fantastic" room overlooked cathedral, extremely comfortable bed and huge bathroom. We stayed 2 nights as busting Devon country show. Recommend if you want fabulous dining and great steak to book restaurant you could walk to called Circa 1924 - very popular so book in advance!
3 out of 5
by Stan

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Well appointed room. Bathroom small -small washbasin, awkward taps, nowhere to put soaps, toothpaste etc. A Friday night. Noisy till midnight -maybe we were above the cafe/bar - hence the lower score.