Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mudgee australia

Really great position

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Parking really not suited to people with cars
Location: Great cathedral beautiful singing Sunday service not much else
Very difficult to acces had to park and pay in public parking station quite a long way from hotel Couldn't park there without a phone with you.Very difficult procedure for old people without experience in this environment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norwich

Fantastic cathedral location

Posted Jul 21, 2015
A perfect hotel for a City break. A great base for exploring the City
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from yorks

Lovely hotel,

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: good location
Location: Lacated in the centre with the cathedral opposite
we upgraded to a lovely room overlooking the square and had a bath looking out over everyone enjoying the nice evening weather. Parking is the only issue which was a few streets away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel nice and close to the Cathedral

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Cons: In our room there was a slope which neededneeded a handrail
We had the disabled room which was very good and all facilities that was needed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from EX14

Nice location

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Central to Exeter and all its amenities.
Cons: PARKING !!!!!!
Location: Loads of lovely pubs and restaurants catering for all tastes.
Hotel is very warm and welcoming. Staff are efficient and friendly. I lost my room key but a new one was issued with minimal fuss. The Michael Caines restaurant is excellent although the standard of service was not as good as the last time we stayed. We had to wait almost 45 minutes for breakfast the following morning because the order had been missed. However the waitress noticed the error and resolved the issue quickly and apologetically.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

well situated for exeter centre

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Its position in for access to the town.
nearest carpark quite a way to hotel, costing £12 per 24 hours,needed taxi, as luggage involved,resturant menu ? have a very heavy lunch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkshire

Nice hotel but bad acoustics

Posted Jun 15, 2015
We were upgraded which we thought was lovely, the bedroom itself was clean and the bath was lovely. The views of the cathedral was beautiful. However, by the morning we wished they had just given us the room we paid for. They put a bridal party in the room above us and with the hardwood floors and acoustics which are expected in a building this old...we didn't sleep a wink after the party upstairs woke at 5am. We were so tired the next day and very disappointed. The staff didn't seem that surprised when this was mentioned at check out. Surely they should either put brides on the lower floors or at least put rugs in their room so that the people below aren't disturbed. I'm an extremely deep sleeper and it even woke me up, people coming in and out of their room constantly and people up and down stairs and heels walking across the floor. I would maybe stay at the hotel again but it would depend on whether they were hosting a wedding. We paid a lot of money to stay for one night and if you can't sleep in a hotel...what's the point
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Comfortable and welcoming with staff that were approachable and helpful yet unobtrusive. Great old building but watch out for the sloping floors! Great character; excellent views of the cathedral!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very pleasant stay. Staff excellent

Posted May 19, 2015
Seamless check-in and very attentive staff throughout the hotel. Very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Paul from North Devon

Fabulous

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location. Fabulous room. No complaints.