Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Location: There are you happy...Quit bugging me for review.
Check in time is too late and they are to able to figure out an early checkin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

The "New" Lafayette: Great Concept but Needs Work

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The room, the location, the potential.
Cons: The amenities, the parking situation, general upkeep of the property outside of the guest rooms.
Location: All kinds of stuff in easy walking distance: restaurants/local microbreweries, very cool Naval museum, Riverwalk/Canalside/Hockey arena... much more!
I haven't lived in Buffalo for 38 years but it's still the hometown of my heart and I visit frequently. I stayed here 1 night because I was curious to see if my hometown's resurgence has really extended to revive this historic building. The room itself was great. The bathroom was one of the nicest for a hotel in this price range. The gas fireplace in the room, a great touch. The staff - the hotel seemed understaffed to me - were pleasant and helpful. You can appreciate the beauty of the old tap room and some of the other dining facilities. The location is great - easy walking distance to many attractions, old and new, in a revitalizing downtown. There's potential for the Lafayette to again become a civic crown jewel. But at 10 pm Thursday that tap room was empty. Here's why: Compared to most business-class hotels I've stayed in, there's still a lot of work to do. The decor outside of the dining areas themselves need TLC. Free breakfast was not as nice as what I've experienced at most Hampton Inn-class facilities. There's no self-parking - a $20 valet service parked my car in a lot. The fitness facility was tucked between the kitchen & some other service room - it smelled bad. If you're visiting Buffalo, I want you to be as excited about the city as I am. So unless you're simply curious, I'd recommend a different place; there are many nicer and more "happening" places to stay than here. Maybe with more time and money, the necessary improvements will take place here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glens Falls, NY

Nice Downtown Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The Room was very well done over and we were very comfortable/
Cons: Helpful information in our room on the hotel amenties would be very helpful and a quiet dining arrangement within the hotel would also be appreciated
Location: It is in downtown Buffalo and there is plenty to do and see. A little better visibility for the Valet Parking on the street would be helpful too.
This is an excellent downtown Buffalo hotel. It is old-school in outward appearance but wow- were we impressed with the way the room had been brought up to current conditions and appearances. Very nice and a very comfortable stay. The staff was pleasant and well informed. We were a little let down in the type of onsite food available and also the lack of a Hotel Information booklet or brochure in our room. We did have dinner in the bar attached to the hotel the first night we were there and the food was very nice. However, bar-type dinners are not our nightly thing at this point in our lives and a much quieter restaurant would be nice to have available too. Or, perhaps a reference to a local restaurant in the same general area would have been helpful. As noted, a facility book would have been helpful in our room. Overall, it was a very nice stay and we would recommend it to all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hattiesburg, MS

Room not efficient. Breakfast was a disappointment

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Nothing to brag about. It is downtown. Staff was adequate. Room was lacking on furniture and chairs were uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guelph

Loved this hotel!

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: The style
Cons: Downtown Buffalo but that's not the hotels fault.
Location: Cool little place to get drinks two blocks up the road, teahouse it's called?
Beautiful old art decco style hotel in the downtown core, everything about it was awesome. Would love to find an excuse to stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Cool hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Booked at the Lafayette due to attending a wedding at the venue. Cool building, old elements mixed with the new. The gentleman who checked us in may have been new, as he needed some assistance from another young lady who seemed to have a clue about our reservation. Other than that, all in all good stay. The room was beautiful, the separate living space with fireplace was really nice. Wedding was really fun, dinner food was okay, but the finger food at cocktail hour was delicious, along with the vast drink selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Charming hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I stayed here for a wedding. The room was awesome, staff were friendly, great location. The coffee place in the lobby was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Great hotel with nice room. Loved having a full kitchen in the one bedroom suite. My only complaint is the breakfast is blah. It would have been nice to have something different each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Historic Hotel with Character

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Old World character, soundproof rooms>
Cons: Check-in process.
Location: Great location, close to Key Bank Ceter, Coca-Cola Field, Main Street, etc.
We enjoyed our 2 day stay at the hotel, which was conveniently located in downtown Buffalo, close to many places that we wanted to visit. the only problem we experienced was at check-in, when they accidentally assigned us to a room where guests were already staying and we embarrassingly walked in on them. they quickly found us another room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smokey nightmare

Posted Oct 2, 2017
When we arrived staff was great! I was upgraded to a king bed room. Later when we had to move from that room due to marijuana being smoked in the room next door we were downgraded back to the queen. No remote for fireplace. Bed was rock hard. Walls paper thin. Cigarette burns on nightstand. Just an awful experience.