Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

The worst beach and staff I have encountered

Posted Apr 7, 2016
The water was beautiful, the beach however was only a few feet and so rocky it was impossible to enjoy. Every time we entered the cottage the key wouldn't work until the 6th time. Calling front desk was a pain they were all rude with exception to 1 person. The faerie was a pain to get on and off the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Amazing first visit

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Breakfast basket delivered to your porch each morning, pool open 24 hours, beautiful beach on property, friendly staff and amazing sunsets each night.
Cons: The pool bar/restaurant hours could be extended to provide more casual dining choices on the island.
Location: Sunset Key is a private island but only 10 minutes away from the mainland. There is shopping, family activities, water sports and much more nearby.
Our trip was even better than expected. Sunset Key is a quaint, beautiful setting. It is totally relaxing and private. You truly feel like you are on vacation while you are there. The biggest decision you will have is whether to go to the pool, the beach or take the quick ferry to the mainland for more adventures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Excellent stay!!!

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Mainland Key West was a short boat ride away...everything within 5 min distance.
My family and I stayed for 4 days. It was absolutely breathe taking! Our cottage and pool area was very clean, well kept, and decorated beautifully! We had an amazing time and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff was very polite, respectful, and went completely out of their way to ensure our stay was nothing but perfect!!!
4 out of 5
by Richard from Louisiana

very nice cottages but nothing to do

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: The ferry ride to and from the town was great. The food was terrific.
Cons: The pool was 3 1/2 feet deep in the deep end. Not good. After we got a cleaning crew to clean up they ran this dishwasher that leaked water all over
Location: nothing to do but lay on the beach
My wife and I had a cottage near the pool area. Very nice 2 bedroom with comfortable beds. Restaurant was top notch. We will not stay there again for the following reasons: 1. They did not clean our room when we put a sign up saying to clean. When we got back from town we called the front desk and told them to send a cleaning crew which didn't come so we called again and again. The phone in our room did not transmit the correct room number hence to messup. 2. The lawn crew worked in the middle of the morning when everyone was moving around. The maintenance crew reworked a flagstone at our entrance while we sat outside - moving us inside. Why not do this work after we checked out. It was 1 hour of work that could have been accomplished while the cleaning crew was inside. 3. If you don't have a cottage facing the water you will not like looking at your neighbors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Dallas, TX

Very Nice 4 star hotel on private beach Key West

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Beach staff and lunch was great. Plus a muffin, fruit and pound cake breakfast was dropped off at your door each morning
Cons: No options on site for dinner other than a very expensive restaurant
Location: Very close to the south end of Key West where most if not all the "Key West tourist shops, bars etc were located
We had a beautiful cottage on the private island. Cottage was swanky and beds were big and terrific. Grounds included a quiet and lovely beach and great pool as well. Which is very rare for Key West. The only other sand beach we saw was a big public beach that really required a rent a car to access. The hotel restaurant was nice but too pricey for my taste for Dinner Hour - most entrees were $30 +- Lunch was more reasonable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aleah from Detroit, Mi

Best Resort We Have Ever Stayed At

Posted Nov 18, 2013
We flew down to Key West on a total whim, so we booked our resort the day we left. There was no vacancy on the majority of the island, and Sunset Key Westin was one of our only options. We were a little hesitant to book it because of the price... But once we got there we were SO glad we did! My husband and I have traveled all over the Caribbean and Mexico, and this was the BEST resort we have ever stayed at. It's on it's own private island with a boat shuttle to and from the mainland. It was a little slice of paradise! The beach was beautiful (although a bit rocky.) the cabins are immaculate; beautifully decorated, spacious, and with all the conveniences of home. The pool was gorgeous (but shallow. Never even reached 4ft in depth I don't think. Made for lounging, not swimming.) But all in all we will stay here EVERY time we're in Key West !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from E

Sunset Key is the bomb !!!

Posted Oct 26, 2013
The place was second to none. Everything about the facility and experience was nothing short of perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from ohio

Great view !

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Great staff and wonderful view.
Location: Key West, lots to see and do.
My wife and I wanted a short vacation in a nice sunny spot near the ocean. This was a great experience and will stay here any chance we get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by D.J. from Texas

Perfect getaway!

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Comfortable and relaxing
Cons: More food options for lunch.
Location: Duval Street, Margaritaville, Hard Rock Cafe, Coyote Ugly, Sloppy Joe's, Coach factory outlet, tons of dive bars and quirky eateries, diving, fishing,
This trip was exactly what we had hoped for, a little piece of "Caribbean" paradise...in the US. We stayed in the two bedroom cottage and we loved it. Roomy and fully furnished. Huge wrap around porch with chairs, tables, rockers, ceiling fans and each bedroom has it's own little porch. If I were going to build a beach house, is what it would look like. Very comfortable beds, large showers, convection oven, stove top and Starbucks coffee in your room. They also deliver a little basket of breakfast goodies each morning. Concierge came by twice a day to check if we needed anything and gave free water and juice. Housekeeping was great, dusted, cleaned, even did the the dishes everyday. The landscaping is lush and tropical....palm trees, coconut trees, Hibiscus flowers. Expect little lizards running around, mostly Anolis.....they weren't bothersome though. Two resident Iguana's come out from time to time but, they keep to their own really. Some interesting birds and at night, a few tiny hermit crabs here and there. The restaurant is fab! I had the crab stuffed scallops and the meal was very well thought out...many layers to the dish. Expect to pay for the fab...it's not cheap but, not unreasonable for what you get. The whole Key West area is more expensive than the mainland so, expect it. :-) We loved Sunset Key and hope to buy some property and build a beach home there or nearby. It's about a 4 min boat ride to island. Well worth it!!!!!