Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great hotel by the beach.

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: location, location, location. Parking onsite to easy access to the pool, beach and town.
Cons: The bed frame was 4inches bigger than the mattress and we ran into it a few times. Did mention it to the front desk along with the large bruise.
Location: great location to the beach and town, for eating , drinking, shopping and the nightly amazing sunset.
really enjoyed our stay, the room was great, the location to the beach and town could not of been better. it was everything you would want from a hotel in a beach town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton

Quaint, clean, 100 ft to the beach

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Staff was excellent. Room - The property was super clean and tidy. Microwave and full size frig/freezer in the room. King size bed was very comfortable. 5 minute drive, or 20 minute walk, to "Times Square" - downtown Ft Myers Beach area with shops, restaurants, etc. 2 grocery stores close by. Main road under construction causes some back ups but it's worth the wait.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edwardsburg, MI

It's not what you are made to think.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
At first, I was dealing with a wonderful representative named Nadine. However, everything else quickly became a nightmare. First I'll speak directly about the Inn itself. It's a dated run of the mill average hotel. I've stayed at Econo Lodges similar to this. Pool was clean. 1 charcoal grill for everyone to share. Rickety staircase covered in bird crap. I could go on and on. Oh, and that view of the ocean I was lead to believe we would have? Nope, we only had a view of a parking lot. Now onto the real harm this place did to me and my vacation. We had some friends that also stayed near by and wanted to visit. What I didn't know is that a representative there named Paula, fraudulently charged my credit card 15 dollars for each visitor, each day. To the tune of $300 without even telling me. It wasn't until the 5th day we were there, a friend of mine that is a High School Princepal stopped by to see us, Paula ran out of her closet/office to yell at them and my wife. She told them to go park at the nearest grocery store and that they were not allowed on the property. I kept my cool and realized that I get one week a year to come to Ft. Myers Beach and I wasn't going to let Paula ruin this trip. I reported the charge on the card as not authorized so at least I didn't get ripped off further. We then immediately began searching for a more updated, higher end place to stay next year with competent employees. We are happy to say, we found such a place and will never return to the Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Apr 3, 2017
The bed was as comfortable as my bed at home. Not crowded, and close to the beach!
3 out of 5
by Kristen

No go!

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
We did not enjoy our stay at the Beach Shell Inn but it had nothing to do with the hotel. The area is undergoing major road reconstruction leading to huge traffic tie ups, even walking in the area is hazardous because traffic lanes are crowded with large equipment, cars, trucks and bicyclists all fighting for road space. It's crazy. Do yourself a favor and avoid this area until they get this project done in five to seven years!
4 out of 5
by Leslie

Comfortable rooms steps from the soft white sand

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
The Beach Shell Inn provided a great place to stay steps away from the beautiful soft white sand of Fort Myers Beach. The Inn does not offer water views but is about 500 feet from the beach. The Inn provides chairs and beach towels upon request. There was hot coffee and tea every morning from 8-10am. There was a small pool, grill, and patio furniture. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a full living room and kitchen. The main road on the island is currently under construction and traffic was slow. There is a small market across the street but we picked up groceries before arriving on the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Clean and very close to beach. Not many amenities.
4 out of 5
by Joshua

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place. Excellent location, close to the beach but a little ways away from the crowds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable motel near the beach

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Nearness to beach and restaurants
Cons: Some updates to rooms would be helpful
Location: Close to downtown and eating establishments
Pleasant, helpful staff, comfortable room. Access to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, Ky

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The room was small but very clean. The bed was comfortable. Clean heated swimming pool. Location is practically on the beach and plenty of local dining and shops in walking distance.