Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Great location! Helpful staff! We enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located, short walk to attractions.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Everything, beautiful room, nice breakfast, good location in Halifax, parking, and relatively quiet.
Location: Close to Citadel, Keith's Brewery, water front boardwalk and lots of restaurants.
Very nice stay, enjoyed being in the Waverley. We had a great time in Halifax. Excellent restaurants offering a wide array of cuisines.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Historic hotel in the heart of Halifax

Posted Aug 15, 2015
The hotel is excellently located, being in the heart of historic Halifax on one of the main streets. It also unusually has a car park which was useful for us as we had a hire car. The interior is beautiful, with antique furniture, paintings, chandeliers and stained glass; our room had a four poster bed which was very comfortable. Breakfast was served downstairs, but when we went (admittedly at half past nine) some food items were limited. The staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful, overall making this a very pleasant stay. Definitely recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Cons: The breakfast - we were expecting more fruit and gluten free/dairy free options.
Helpful staff, quiet, calm ambience and within walking distance to the harbour and the town centre.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Rochelle, New York

Qualified recommendation

Posted Jul 24, 2015
We only stayed at the Waverley for one night but were in most ways very happy with our choice. The hotel had an old-fashioned elegance that we really enjoyed and we liked the neighborhood. The only downside was that the breakfast, a very mediocre continental spread, was served in what looked more like a church basement than a room in a hotel. It was not up to par with the rest of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB

Close to everything

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: Location. Character.
Cons: An extra floor fan in some of the rooms that get a bit hot.
Location: Downtown on Barrington. Close to the Citadel, cathedrals, the waterfront, Alexander Keith's brewery, restaurants... everything, really.
Great little inn with lots of history and character. Close to the Citadel, the waterfront and many excellent restaurants. We were on the top floor and found the room quite hot even with the fan on and it wasn't terribly hot out. Perhaps a room on a lower floor or with bigger windows would have been a bit more comforable. The included breakfast hit the spot, with quite a lot of choice for a breakfast room. Very friendly staff throughout the inn, from front desk to housekeeping to the breakfast room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great decor and location

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The furnishings, the breakfast, free tea and coffee and friendly staff.
Cons: Nil
Location: Walk to town and VIA railway station. The Public Gardens, the Harbour area, the Citadel were outstanding.
The hotel is within walking distance of the VIA railway station and the harbour area. The furnishings at the hotel are amazing. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Free tea and coffee available was a bonus. Loved the four poster beds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St.John's, NL

Great hotel, centrally located

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Staff very friendly, Rooms very clean. Hotel had a quaint historic feel to it. Felt like stepping back to the late 19th century!
Cons: Perhaps breakfast could be earlier. Say 6:30 or 7 instead of 7:30.
Location: Location was perfect as it was less than 5 mins to my conference at St. Mary's University.
Despite a short stay the experience at the Waverley in was very pleasant and more than met my expectations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Loads of character in a convenient location

Posted May 27, 2015
I loved this hotel. We had originally booked for one night but ended up staying 4 nights. It's a character hotel with a nice breakfast included aND free parking. The staff were helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Beautiful Historic Hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
Great staff, gorgeously appointed rooms, and close to everything! Only minor consideration is if your room faces the street, music from the bar across the street could make it a little tricky to sleep for sensitive people.