Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No bath in rooms. Restaurant disappointing.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
We stayed for my husbands birthday. We booked a standard room with an airstrip view. We arrived and there was no bath in the room. When I phoned reception to ask if there was a room with a bath was told it was a standard room and we would need to pay quite a bit more for an upgrade. Restaurant really disappointing. They had run out of all sorts on the menu so our first and second choices were not possible. The third choice of sirloin steak came overcooked so sent back and still disappointing when it finally arrived. Breakfast also below par for £18.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Could not fault their service, great rooms,Great breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely hotel with a great restaurant

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The clean comfortable rooms, the staff, the restaurants and food options.
Cons: The shower drain wasn't fast enough so filled the bathroom floor, the sink plug didn't work very well. Give out the taster menus so diners know of it.
Location: It's on a private airport which has an air show.
The hotel was clean and comfortable, we had a view of the airfield, which I had booked and paid extra for, but what's the point of going to that hotel and not looking on to the airfield. There was not much going on when we were there but if you were there when the air show is on then make sure you get an airside room. We went to the Brasserie restaurant and the food was excellent, we had the 7 course taster menu. I had read about this and it was one of the reasons I booked the hotel as I wanted somewhere to have a nice meal in the evening, when we sat down we were given menus and a wine list but there was no mention of the taster menu so I asked about it and was given a menu. We ordered it and the wine paring and it was excellent every course was well seasoned and fresh tasting and the right size for a tasting, the wine was pared very well and there wasn't one I didn't enjoy with the food, again the portions were a nice size, not too big, as there was one with every course and it was enough. The staff were good and gave us information about the food and wines. I would say that they should have given out the taster menu with the other menus as some people may not know that it is available and may miss out We also ate in the one eleven cafe which was a very nice, American style diner. Good quality food again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herts

Amazing Decor

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: The room was spacious and comfortable.
Cons: Not happy with Expedia as was sent a voucher by them which I couldn't use. Recommend to direct with hotel.
Location: Apart from the fantastic view of the airfield. We didn't find much to do in the area all shops closed in the vicinity on a Sunday.
We only stayed for one night thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would have liked to stay another night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nothing special

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: welcoming in the reception: more eye contact and give more information about rooms etc, room set up correctly, have a bath in all rooms.
For the price the room wasn't anything special, it was a bit plain, but the lounge area was nice though. For the amount we paid we could have gotten much better rooms in other hotels such as the Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel and Spa. The other disappointing factor was that not all the rooms had bath in it. Since me and my girlfriend had came from a long trip we wanted to relax and have a bath but unfortunately it wasn't possible. I would have expected atleast all rooms to have a bath, with the price they are putting the rooms at. Our room was booked for 2 people but it was only set up for 1, i would have expected them to set it up as we had booked. Didnt really bother telling the reception about it as it was only 1 night stay. The receptionist wasn't as welcoming as she could have been aswel, didn't even greet us with a hello or anything, didn't even tell us where about the room was, not eye contact no smile etc could have been more informative. kind of felt like we were being looked down upon. Wouldn't really want to stay in this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone. Just a waste of money.
5 out of 5
by Pollyanna from London

Perfect

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Everything. It is lovely.
Cons: I can't think of a thing, it is perfect.
Location: Handy for Farnborough and BAE Systems.
Excellent in every way: staff, facilities, room, everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very flash for Farnborough!

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Love the luxury and opulence!
Cons: I would imagine its mainly business travellers - so price not a problem if your company is paying. Amazing place for corporate hospitality.
Just a one night stay - the hotel itself is incredible for Farnborough. Modern, luxurious, very upmarket. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. The bathroom was very clean, quality fixtures - fabulous shower (no bath though) The staff were thoughtful and really helpful - putting us in a room away from a birthday party so all was peaceful :0) The bistro food was excellent - service very good. There was a mix up between Expedia and the hotel - the hotel had 2 rooms booked and Expedia only had one. It took 2 phone calls to Expedia, and 3 phone calls to the hotel to sort out which was tedious. I wouldn't use Expedia online again especially if going abroad. and if I'm being really picky - for the money (its 3 times Travel Lodge prices) - I would expect known brand toiletries, flowers maybe, and a slightly comfier mattress - but that's really looking for negatives!
2 out of 5
by Bob from B

2 Star service for 5 Star prices

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Our stay at this hotel was a disaster from start to finish. Was supposed to be a celebration and special occasion. But from bad check in, to them forgetting the chocolates we had previously requested, to being told we couldn't use the bar (was a private function), to not being able to use the Brasserie (another private function), we took refuge in the cafe area to be served tea in dirty cups. Then after returning from a night out in the wind and rain, the front door was closed (later told again due to private function), so we managed to jumped in through the side door where the band was exiting. To then getting told to leave the bar as it was closing before even taking a sip of a drink I'd just been served etc, etc. Not quite the service I'd expected when booking a nearly £300 a night suite!!
5 out of 5
by Kam from UK

The Aviator

Posted Mar 18, 2012
Very stylish hotel, great views of Farnborough air field. Smart, attentive staff.