Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

First night in Hawaii

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Perfect after a long day of flying. Close to the airport and quiet room with a wonderful view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati,Ohio

Great location and nicely updated rooms

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The check in and out was very smooth and prompt and the front desk staff were friendly. The view of the bay is very nice and it is in walking distance to Liliuokalani Garden, Coconut Island, Suisan Fish Market, Hilo Bay Cafe & Original Bid Island Shave Ice Co. The Banyan trees along the street are breathtaking. The hotel itself is very clean and quiet. The bar area is a great spot to relax at both day and night. The parking is super easy especially if you park at Uncle Billy's General Store. The night guard that patrols the parking area is super nice and helpful. It is a short drive to Richardson Ocean Park, Carlsmith Beach, Big Island Candies, Downtown Hilo and a short drive to the mall, gas stations and even Walmart if you need to pick up a few things. It is a great location even for driving to Volcano National Park and up to Hawi if you choose to go that far (so many great spots on the drive up/back). The beds are super comfortable and it's great to have a mini fridge, microwave and wifi in the room. When it comes to hotel features my favorite one was that neither the bathtub or sink drains clogged!! I know that sounds weird but I can't stand when that happens and it usually always happens, but not here, so I was very happy about that!! Overall I loved staying here and if I would visit Hilo again I would 100% stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte nc

Nice hotel On The big beautiful island of Hawaii

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The area if you look past the older buildings is actually quite lovely Everyone was very friendly The Hilo side of the big Island was extremely nice and quaint I loved that they kept the integrity of the older building but definitely did a nice job in remodeling And it appears they are still in the process of remodeling portions of this hotel I hope to visit soon to see the final renovation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel right on the ocean.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: New room. Staff very friendly. Hotel upgrades. Very nice view on the ocean.
Location: Great location. Can walk along the shore.
Hotel was very inviting when you walk in. Great view on the ocean. Staff is extremely nice,friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Hilton hotel not up to standard

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and the hotel is close to the hotel.
Cons: Tell people when you check them in that the restaurant is being refurbished, and where their room is located in proximity to the construction works.
Location: The airport is very close to the hotel.
We were allocated a room on the side of the hotel where refurbishments were occurring. We were not told about our room being near this construction zone, however there were signs in the lift stating the hotel was undergoing improvements. We found out about this the morning we woke to drilling in the wall outside our room. We tried to call for room service one night (tried calling for over 15 minutes, no one answered). Tried calling reception and no one answered. I had to go down to reception to order room service, Reception tried calling the kitchen, no one answered, then I was told to go down to the restaurant and they could help me. The staff member said that they were flat out that night (they had one table of 6 people) when I was there. I was asked what I was after and I chose off the limited room service menu to be told that there was only 2 options available, 1 a chicken stir fry dish and the other a fish dish. I chose the chicken stir fry to then be told that it would take 90 minutes before it would be ready...unbelievable. We tried to get a cup of tea from the shop in the foyer to find out the urn that was supposed to have hot water in it, wasn't even plugged in. We were then told to go get one from the restaurant, but we were unable to get this as the restaurant had closed after breakfast service. I complained to the assistant manager and he relocated us to another room and gave us complimentary vouchers to dinner , not up to standard for a Hilton hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Awesome hotel. Everything is perfect here.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, staff, location, view from room, quality of room and furniture in it,cleanliness...just about everything was perfect.
Cons: They can perhaps add few more parking spots. There was a shortage of parking but alternate parking lot at golf course was within walkable distance.
Location: within walkable distance to Japanese gardens. Within 3-4 miles from airport and cruise docks but still very quiet.
Had a great 3 night stay at this hotel. Would recommend it to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
It's a very nice and well kept hotel, right by the beach. It's a lovely hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Nice pool and ocean front rooms with ocean view and bay views, gorgeous sunrises and sunsets, super friendly staff and really pretty rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice setting by the water

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Excellent value. Good location. Good facilities
Cons: Breakfast menu is limited. Noisey air conditioning.
Location: Lots to see from Hilo, including the volcano, waterfalls and tropical gardens. You will need a car to get around.
The hotel is in a good location close to the airport. No beach as such but you can swim in the pool or off the rocks. Value for money is excellent. Has a golf course attached but we didn't use it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely setting

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Beds amazing. Rooms excellent .
Cons: Bath tap to run a bath rather than just a shower head, made bathing children difficult.
Location: A car is a must all sights a way out plus hilo very industrial so good to escape and find the island paradise.
Cant fault hotel however hilo very disappointing not the island paradise we had in mind, very industrial.