Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Enigma from Europe

Night

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels
I spent 2 nights in Second Home hostel and it was good,everything is near,tram,metro,sea,old town,as u can walk everywhere.The rooms are quite good and clean.The stuff ate also kind,and friendly,especially Mehmet :).So if u are going to Istanbul,feel like home and stay here..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Minestrone from Melbourne

Great location, convenient for a quick stay

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Centre of tourist attractions, near Topkapi
Travelled with friend in June 2013. Great location, walking distance to tram which runs through all the main tourist attractions. Staff were friendly. Room was as per expected at a hostel, nothing more nothing less. Shared bathrooms were impractical as there were no hooks or locks on any of the doors. There was only one sink to share between the whole floor. Overall, it was comfortable enough for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AC from Boston, MA

good enough, but staff issues

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Pros: great location and loved the terrace
Cons: issues with staff and muggy rooms
Location: great location near the bazaar, topkapi palace, and metro. easy walk to all attractions. go to taksim to go out!
Great place to stay -right in the middle of sultanahmet. The location was great! We stayed in a double private room and the room was good enough. We got exactly what we expected- small room with a bed and a window with a tiny bathroom down the hall. The rooms get pretty muggy (you can smell the old water pipes), but there is a fan and the windows open so it disappears after 5 minutes. The terrace was a nice touch - great place to hang out after a long day of site-seeing. The hostel staff even offered to order us dinner. Instead we went out to eat, took some wine to go from a convenience store, and drank and played backgammon on the terrace. They also have two computers with internet that you can use for FREE! The staff were always available to answer your questions; however the only complaint I have is that when we arrived we immediately went to the reception to reserve shuttle service to the airport to Ataturk. Can (the main receptionist) said ok great you are all set, just be down here 15 min before the departure time of the shuttle. On our departure date, we come downstairs and he denies ever calling the shuttle for us. He must have forgotten it was Easter weekend and did not even bother to think that the shuttle would get full. We ended up having to book it to the airport on the metro last minute. (which actually was really easy - only one switch for a total transportation cost of 4 lira a person). He was so rude upon our departure and did not even care about his mistake.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

What you see is not what you get.

Posted Jan 19, 2012 on Hotels
I cannot fault hotel for location, beeing helpful and friendly but they say that there is a tea/coffee maker and fridge in every room which is not true. They say the kitchen is supposed to be there for everyone's use and on the foto it is huge but in reality it is tiny and there is no over or microwave so all the food I took along had to be chucked away. It is really well located though but not worth the money they charge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malta

Excellent location

Posted Jul 26, 2011 on Hotels
Clean, safe, comfortable, close to many restaurants, helpful and friendly staff, value for money, breakfast is okay, location is very central, stairs have no lift. overall great!
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Charlotta

Excellet service and great location

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice personnel and a great location close to all the major attractions and with a lot of good restaurants just around the corner. The breakfast was quite good considering the price, including tea&coffee, cereals, bread etc... The room could have needed a renovation, but considering the price it was alright.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Muggle Poy from THA

Muggle Poy

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staffs.
Cons: Should add more plugs in the room and add some hook in bathroom.
Location: Good location - close to Topkapi Palace, Sultan Ahmet Sq., St. Sofia (Hagia Sophia), Sultan Ahmet Mosque (Blue Mosque) and Yerebatan Saray.
Very good location!!, friendly staffs and good service.
3 out of 5
by Nicole (46)

In der Hähe der Sehenswürdigkeiten

Posted Oct 21, 2012 on Hotels
Wir waren zu fünft auf einem Städtetripp von 5 Tagen. Das Hotel liegt sehr zentral und ist vom Flughafen auf dem Asiatischen Teil gut mit dem ÖV zu erreichen. Bus nach Kadiköy und dort die Fähre nach Eminönü. Das Hostel liegt imn einem Seitengässchen mit Durchgangsverkehr. Leider wurde gegenüber gebaut und dies die ganze Nacht. Wir hätten auch gerne mal neue Tüchlein gehabt. Die Zimmer sind zweckmässig aber nicht sonderlich gross. Leider hatte es bei uns im 4. Stock schlechte Gerüche aus den Abläufen im Boden der Duschen. Das Personal ist sehr hilfsbereit und freundlich, das Frühstück gut aber klein. Die Dachterrasse ist sehr angenehm. Wäre der Geruch und der Baulärm nicht gewesen - zu empfehlen für kleine Budget.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2012 on Hotels