Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Hotel needs updating badly

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Cons: Updating badly
Location: To far away
Pleasnt stay staff very nice hotel needs to be updated
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big family hotel near beach

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Lovely staff and facility's. I didn't know it was a family hotel when we booked . Would of preferred just adults. The bathroom was extremely small . Room 217. I did waste a full hour of my holiday waiting to park . ( missing keeys ) although the staff was very nice and helpful .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely and convenient for beach and town

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: The Facilities and cleanliness.
Cons: FIRE PROCEDURE AND EVACUATION DRILL
Location: Had a lovely afternoon at eh Blackpool tower watching the ballroom dancing
Lovely hotel, clean with nice furnishings. Very concerned about the safety of everyone. The fire alarm went off 3 times during our stay and I'm pleased to say it was a false alarm and not because of a fire. Nonetheless, procedures with the sound of the alarms and the action taken at the time are of real concern. Firstly, no one, that is guests, knew what was going on. No staff were seen directing, helping, directing and reassuring anyone throughout to get out of the building or to stay in. There was lots of confusion and panic from elderly people and no staff abou My friend and I helped two elderly, wheel chair bound, ladies get out into the corridor and the fire exit. Usually, as I understand, with any fire alarm going off, everyone vacates the facilities, whether its real fire or false alarm. This did not happen and people became quite blasé, ignoring the sound of the alarm and returned to their room.. What if this was a real fire? People would have been trapped in their rooms and corridors as it was a bit of a maze to find your way about. The fire evacuation drill needs to be addressed to be effective and efficient. A layout of the hotel needs to be in every corridor to let you know where you are and the nearest exit. evacuation drills must be carried out properly. Staff should know their role in the event of a fire, help people and false alarms should be taken seriously. A note on a board in reception was a poor apology when injuries and fatalities could have occurred.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

small bathroom.

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: the food was great and the staff were friendly.
Cons: the size of the bathroom.
Location: loads to do in blackpool.
this hotel needs a bit of updating, we stayed in room 106 a double room with a sea view, the room was comfortable enough and the view lovely, but the bathroom was so small we had to walk in or out backwards ! we really struggled to use the loo, and as there wasn't room for a radiator it was freezing cold, there was no phone or hair dryer in the room, the food was excellent as was the swimming pool, the water was lovely and warm.the
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oldham

Friendly Hotel in a good position

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: There was nothing not to like.Even though the hotel was very busy ver the weekend,we never had a problem finding seats.
Cons: Alcoholic drinks were a bit expensive, we noticed a few guests were bringing in their own bottles of spirits into the bar.
Location: There wasn't a lot to do nearby.The bustop was just outside,and as the weather was good we were able to walk on the prom each morning.
We spent 3 nights recently at this hotel.We arrived Friday lunchtime and were quickly allocated our room by the very friendly reception staff. The room was very clean with adequate wardrobe and drawer space.The bathroom also was spotless,with hand wash and shower gel at no extra cost.Entertainment in the evening was very good, with children being especially well catered for.Breakfast was buffet style, of which I'm not a big fan,but I have to say there was a good selection of good quality food well cooked.Speaking to other guests in the hotel,all said the evening meal was excellent.Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Good hotel, with good facilities on the seafront

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The food and service was outstanding
Cons: The size of the bathrooms were very small.
Location: Location was good with tram and bus stops outside the hotel. The beach was opposite the hotel and the centre of Blackpool was a 30min walk.
We booked two seaview rooms on the first floor and stayed for three nights. The hotel facilities are very good, particularly for people with children. We particularly liked the cafe bar at the front of the hotel which is very comfortable and offered a good range of bar snacks which were very good quality. The rooms were ok, one very big with a bay window and the other on the small side with a small window. The only negative thing about both rooms is the bathrooms were very small and whilst it didn't bother us to much, it might be an issue for larger people or for those who need space to move around. The swimming pool is small and did get very busy with children in the afternoons, so probably best to go in the morning if you want a quite time. The food & the restaraunt were very good, the staff were very attentive and the choice was excellent. Would definitely return to this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leeds

Birthday weekend

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing for me
Location: You are on a great bus and tram route so can get to anywhere you want to I took my scooter on the bus so that left me free to go shopping etc.
This must be the sixth time we have stayed at the Cliffs hotel,we went there for my husbands birthday weekend as he works down south and I live up north and don't get to see him very often.We both love the Cliffs and have recommended it to many people it's a super break but a weekend is never long enough.From the courteous staff on front desk to the lovely restaurant manager I can't fault anyone we are always greeted with a pleasant warm smile and a friendly hello.There are such a different mix of people go there and there is something for everyone,from the great leisure facilities and pool to the evening entertainment.The food in the restaurant is second to none it was good before but superb now they have a buffet facilitie.Its a three course meal a choice of soups hot and cold starters and a choice of main meal which is brought to your table the choice of desserts afterwards is unreal and you can have as much or as little as you want.If like I did and just ate from the buffet and passed on the main meal you can do that too.All for a measly £20 extra if you choose half board instead of bed and breakfast that is for the couple not one person.Talking of breakfast that is also buffet style and again the choice is superb.what more can I say I love this place and can't wait to go again.Can I also add that I am disabled and use a wheelchair and a scooter but as there is a bus stop and tram stop directly outside the hotel so I didn't have to move my car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Very clean and pleasant hotel with very comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and nicely decorated rooms. The food is very nice also.
Cons: The price of drinks is a little steep in the bar areas, £15 for a bottle of wine or £5.20 for a large glass (can buy the same wine for £4.99 locally)
Location: The tower, piers and pleasure beach are in walking distance. With the tower being about a 20 minute walk which is pleasant down the promenade.
Nice clean hotel over looking the sea, great friendly staff, great entertainment every night & bingo. Bus stop and tram stop situated right outside the front of the hotel entrance, plenty of free parking and ideal position up the beach front away from the hustle and bustle
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tyneside

Shabby and dated

Posted May 26, 2015
Would not return here not a pleasant experience! The place is tatty for the money they charge. Reception staff and manageress totally unhelpfull and unpleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alicante Spain

Short stay at the Cliffs.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Victorian building, friendly staff, truly great food, large clean rooms, warm all night, superb sea front location.
Cons: Hard to fault for us. Parking probably an issue when the hotel is busy.
Location: It's Blackpool prom so....
Superb value for money with free upgrades supplied by friendly, helpful staff. The food was excellent and the chef was able and happy to cater for all dietary requirements. Entertainment and free coach trips etc. available every day etc. Catered well for elderly people too. The room was clean and well heated with a fabulous sea view. Only a 2 star because of small lift and no trouser press in rooms, otherwise it would be a well deserved 4 star!