Featured Image

Reviews of Miraval Berkshires Resort & Spa – Adults Only

4.5 out of 5

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

4.2

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 102 out of 197 reviews
5 - Excellent 52%
Rating 4 - Good. 57 out of 197 reviews
4 - Good 29%
Rating 3 - Okay. 26 out of 197 reviews
3 - Okay 13%
Rating 2 - Poor. 7 out of 197 reviews
2 - Poor 4%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 5 out of 197 reviews
1 - Terrible 3%

4.5/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

4.3/5

Amenities

4.2/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Valentines Day at Cranwell
The Hotel is awesome!
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Beautiful Resort
They are undergoing renovation. The room we had was modern and very comfortable. Breakfast was in room only. The only open restaurant was the pub associated with the golf course. Once completed and open it will be really nice
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
I understand the resort is under renovations, but the cable did not work very well, the heat in the room would not turn on above 71 degrees and there were no extra blankets in the room. Given I was staying in Massachusetts in January, extra blankets should always be in the room. The room was very clean and newly renovated and looked amazing. If the other things were fixed I would stay there again.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Excellent rooms
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
The Original property at Cranwell is stunning. I was sad to learn that they are undergoing a renovation at this time; but I’m very pleased with their new accommodations. I stayed in Cottage #2 & view of the sunrise in the morning is fantastic. I’m looking forward to a longer stay next time.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019
Response from Jessica on Jan 2, 2020
Niki, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our brand new rooms. We look forward to hosting you for a future stay!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Overall, the stay was enjoyable and the room was very nice. The staff was very friendly. Would have been nice if the common lounge area was more welcoming with wine to purchase, music, a fire going. Also, it isn't a big deal but I asked the front desk person to purchase a postage stamp to mail a postcard. They told me they had none. I've never stayed in a hotel that wasn't able to provide this and also offer to mail my card for me. It's little things like that I think are important.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved it!! Impeccable and clean!! Would definitely recommend it.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Lovely resort
We stayed in a new section and the rooms were amazing--accent lighting, enormous flat screen tv, large bathroom as well as the room. We had beautiful views and a patio as well. The hotel grounds are under construction but do not detract from the experience. The continental breakfast was great but the nightly dining option was only the pub at the clubhouse so we dined offsite. The location is close to evreything Lenox has to offer.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
I wanted to love this place. I just like it.
I wanted to give Cranwell a glowing report because their staff is so nice but I can't. They are going through a renovation and a brand change, so they are putting a lot of work into the grounds. I wouldn't have minded that if my room was in full working order. Sadly, it wasn't. The pillows on the bed didn't have pillowcases on them and were stained. One had a hole in it. They quickly brought us new pillows. The toilet had a light flush and the room was cold even when we tried to adjust the temperature. They are turning into a Miraval, so I would go back after the renovations because the mansion on the grounds is incredible and it would be cool to see all of the changes. They should probably not operate until the changes are fully complete though.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful views from the elegant historical mansion and great location. We visited during renovations yet the wonderful, friendly and professional staff at the reception, and Gabryelle H , made us feel very comfortable and ensured a very happy stay for our family. Such a great sense of hospitality of the staff is what made our stay a truly wonderful experience.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019
Response from Jessica D. on Oct 8, 2019
Thank you for the kind comments. I will certainly share this with Gabryelle and our fellow staff. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Sep 2019
Response from Jessica D. on Oct 8, 2019
Thank you for the feedback for your stay

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Patience, I will not be going back until it's 100%
The place is under renovation, it will be great then.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019
Response from Jessica D on Sep 3, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you when the renovations are complete.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
property under construction also was not allowed to use indoor pool
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
Response from Jessica D on Sep 3, 2019
We appreciate your feedback, and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Beautiful room but very noisy refrigerator in room. We understood the Inn was under construction but it was very noisy at 7:00 in the morning.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
Response from Jessica D on Sep 3, 2019
We appreciate your feedback. I apologize that the construction began early in the morning- and hope you will try us again when the construction is complete. Thank you

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The shower was poorly designed. No curtain or door and the controls were unusual and difficult to figure out. All else was terrific. Shower instructions and a door would be helpful
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
Response from Jessica D on Sep 3, 2019
Thank you for your feedback I will be sure to pass this along to the appropriate parties. Feedback from our guests during the renovation is invaluable.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The facilities were top notch and staff super supportive. The surrounding landscape even in the midst of renovations was quite impressive. Beautiful lawns, walks and plantings. Hope to come again!
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
Response from Jessica on Aug 20, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to give us your observations about your recent stay to our resort. We will share your kind comments with our entire staff and we are sure they will be greatly appreciated. It is always gratifying when guests recognize our efforts to provide caring, professional service in comfortable surroundings. We look forward to future stays.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Under renovation. Stayed in the new cottages but not a fan. First, lights went on and off all night..... And the wall are thin: could hear tvs and conversations.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019
Response from Jessica on Aug 20, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took and the information we get from guests like yourself is invaluable. The feedback you have provided about our new cottages will be very useful and we hope that upon a return visit we are able to meet your expectations.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Good deal for the price.
The grounds are under construction so the spa is closed. The pool and golf course were open. Room is very nice but only had one extra blanket. There should be two blankets. Price was discounted due to construction so was affordable. Free continental breakfast was okay but limited.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
Response from Jessica on Aug 20, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took and the information we get from guests like yourself is invaluable. We look forward to meeting your expectations for future visits.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Even in the middle of extensive construction and remodeling, I had a wonderful experience. The staff was especially congenial and helpful.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019
Response from Jessica on Jul 30, 2019
Thank you for staying with us, and for the feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear positive words about the staff, I will be sure to pass this along.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Only issue was a heater in the bathroom that would not turn off. We informed the desk the next morning. When we returned late that night the bathroom was unbearable LT hot. Service came promptly but could not fix it ( it was 11 pm). We agreed to have him trip the circuit breaker. Unexpectedly, it also shut off the bathroom duplexes. We lived with the inconvenience as it was not repaired when we returned the next night.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful experience. Staff was great
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2018

4/5 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
The hotel and location are beautiful. The room was large and well appointed. The only wrinkle was loud construction noise early in the am. It was understandable since it was off-season. Hope to return when all is finished.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2018

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Glad it is being renovated.
The place is under renovation and it needs it. Our room was less than the value we paid for it. Unbelievable, the heating/AC didn't work and it was a suite. The tub didn't work and the furniture was pretty old and tired. Not very good for paying what we did. The people though were very nice in the restaurant. The spa folks got reservations confused and that was not great. The golf people were wonderful.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2018
Response from Deanna on Jan 3, 2019
Dear Beth, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. I do hope that maintenance was called to fix your AC and tub. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff; I will be sure to pass them on! We hope to welcome you back when renovations are completed. Sincerely, Deanna

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Exceptional property...
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2018
Response from Deanna on Dec 31, 2018
Dear Nietzel, Thank you for your 5 star review! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Deanna

5/5 Excellent

Cranwell is always V. Good
Very relaxing, great golfing exprience, spacious room, helpful staff and lots of needed improvements taking place.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2018
Response from Deanna on Jan 3, 2019
Hello J, Thank you for taking the time to write your 5 star review of your recent stay at Cranwell. So glad you enjoyed our award winning golf course. For the Fall, we are offering a Play All Day special for $50 which includes greens fees and cart! Hope you can come back and play some more! Sincerely, Deanna

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2018
Response from Deanna on Sep 13, 2018
Thank you for your 5 star rating!

5/5 Excellent

High recommend the Cranwell!
We checked in very late, but easily found the place to check in. Our room in Beecher's cottage was amazing, very large, with a fireplace, great beds, lovely bathroom etc. We had the breakfast buffet which was terrific. Had half in the dining room, and then sat outside on the terrace to finish. We could have sat there all day, and staff were all terrific!
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2018
Response from Deanna on Sep 13, 2018
Dear Mary, Your 5 star review of Cranwell Spa & Golf Resort has made our day! Beechers is one of the historic buildings on the property. Hard to imagine it was a private home at one time! And the Rose Terrace - like you, I could sit there all day! I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Deanna

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Enjoyable Stay
We had two wonderful days staying at Cranwell Golf and Spa Resort. It was near Tanglewood Music Center. They had comfortable Spa and nice restaurants. Their breackfasts were wonderful too. Their good location is on RT. 20!
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2018
Response from Deanna on Dec 29, 2018
Dear CCC, Thank you for your kind review! We often refer to our location as "the heart of the Berkshires" and the hub for your visit to the area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon when construction has been completed. Sincerely, Deanna

5/5 Excellent

Great Getaway
So nice. Great staff and facilities. Would definitely visit again!!
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2018
Response from Deanna on Jan 3, 2019
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We hope to welcome you back soon!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice, but under construction which should have been noted
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2018
Response from Deanna on Aug 29, 2018
Sorry you were not notified. We have many procedures in place to make sure all guests are notified such as postings on our website, a welcome email a week before arrival, the confirmation email once the reservation has been made and a personal phone call within 2 weeks of arrival. Sometimes reservations made through 3rd party sites miss these opportunities. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2018
Response from Deanna on Aug 27, 2018
Thank you for your 5 star review! Hope to see you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
LOVELY GROUNDS AND GOLF COURSE.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018
Response from Deanna on Aug 27, 2018
Thank you for your 5 star review! I will be sure to share your comments with our grounds team!

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018
Response from Deanna on Aug 27, 2018
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Adequate room; Great Breakfast
This hotel is under construction and they seem determined to construct their way out of a quaint existence in the Berkshires. The main building is still quite lovely and is what you expect. The rest is a freak show development that has denuded every tree and built buildings that don't compliment one another. The rooms are also in need of an upgrade. That is where they should be spending their money.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2018
Response from Deanna on Aug 27, 2018
Thank you for your feedback. We are excited to share that all buildings will receive significant renovations designed to keep the nature and history of the Berkshires relevant.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2018
Response from Deanna on Jul 30, 2018
Thank you for your 5 star review! We hope to welcome you back soon.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Rooms and hotel need tlc
The hotel will soon be taken over by a new owner so it’s obvious that no one is loving it right now! My first room smelled very musty and moldy. Staff was nice and changed it for me. Second room was fine, but for the price I was paying, it was very, very average. Cleanliness was also average. Food was below average but the serving staff were amazing! Unfortunately, I won’t be returning anytime soon...
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2018
Response from Deanna on Jul 30, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate your feed back. We do hope you consider staying at our historic property again in the future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Kim in the mansion bar is friendly and welcoming.Exremely professional bartender.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018
Response from Deanna on Jul 30, 2018
We couldn't agree more.... Kim is fantastic! Thank you for sharing these beautiful pictures of our historic Mansion and 18 hold golf course.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Hotel is very dated and tired but clean and comfortable. New updates will be welcome if prices don’t soar. Staff was very warm and friendly.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2018
Response from Deanna on Jul 30, 2018
Thank you, Susan, for your kind words about the cleanliness of the property and the warm & friendly staff. All buildings will be under renovations soon and we look forward to welcoming you back!