Ratings based on 925 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Old ugly dirty

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: tear it down and start over
Location: it is very close to Ocean Blvd
This place is the pits. It is very old. It needs to be tore down. The furniture is really bad and the bed was horrible. The WiFi was useless. An employee was extremely rude to me for having a service dog.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Uncomfortable and dirty.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The room was dirty and uncompfortable to stay in. As soon as I walked in, i knew it would be a long night. Carpets dirty, bathroom filthy, stains all over window curtain. I stayed on the first floor and heard every single step from the guest that were above me. The only good thing was the location and walking distance to the convention center. Apart from that, the hotel is overpriced and totally not worth it. I do not recommend this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valencia, CA

A DUMP BUT BEDS WERE COMFY

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: close to queen mary
Cons: EVERYTHING, It's falling apart
Location: Queen mary
First 5 seconds we got there we had to switch rooms because the power didn't work then we swiched rooms and the new room they gave us looked like baits motel, the original room was way nicer upgrades.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good place to stay at all

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Only good thing was it is only a short walk to the convention center.
Cons: Almost everything needs improving
Internet was total crap took forever to even load googles page. Rooms were falling apart and towels were still dirty. Smelled bad in the room and the curtains weren't clean either. I would never recommend or stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Interesting

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Location: The location was perfect and walking distance to the Long Beach marathon. That was the best part of this hotel.
The staff was pleasant and the location of this hotel is ideal. However, they had very limited parking for anyone who was staying at the hotel. I booked a deal for a certain price with a room with 2 beds. The person at desk wanted to change my room to a one bedroom and said it wouldn't change the price. However, when I returned home, my statement showed that they actually charged 1 dollar more than I had originally bargained for. In addition, I do not believe that they ran the air condition in their hotel as the hall ways were very humid. (unless they didn't have air conditioning). When we came to our room, our room was very humid until I turned on the air. Also, our tv did not work and we had to have someone come to our room to check it out, however, my husband finally figured it out on his own as there was a bad hook-up with the tv and cable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 9, 2017
“You get what you pay for“ is clearly an understatement. Although, it was cheapest hotel/motel in the area, the parking was mediocre at best. The room did not have a blow dryer or a coffee maker. The vending machine did not have water bottles. But, it was clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Not a comfortable neighborhood. Just not pleased with the overall experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad choice

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Room had a bad odor, curtains in bad shape, beds uncomfortable, carpet smelled of mildew, roaches in tub, stained sink and toilet, lack of parking and ignorant staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Awesome hotel, really close to the beach!

Posted Sep 1, 2017
I FREAKING LOVED IT! EVERYTHING WORKED OUT PLUSH! CANT WAIT TO COME BACK, I SWEAR ❣️
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful Location

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Location location location.
Cons: Room furnishings and a better eye to decorating, removing unnecessary and worn pieces.
Location: Great location. Good restaurants close by. Within minutes by car you can be at the Convention Center, the Queen Mary, the Aquarium.
Reserving at The Vagabond Hotel was my first contact. The staff was very informative, and when I arrived they provided excellent advice on how to add another day. They were friendly and informative. I wanted a hotel close to the Queen Mary and the Convention Center at a reasonable price and this hotel delivered on that requirement completely. It was clear that the owners are working hard to keep up the hotel, but some of the appointments in the rooms were not current. It is an easy walk to Pine St. where the cool restaurants are, and to Ocean Blvd. where there are also excellent restaurants. Location and price are the primary decision making factors for me. I was not disappointed in either at this hotel.