Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place with great accomodities

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Although it is a bit east toward downtown, it is comfortable whenever I get to the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Good-ish location, OK hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Price. Clean rooms.
Cons: Breakfast. Do not stay here for the breakfast. The fitness center. Do not stay here for the fitness center. You'll pay out of pocket to go elsewhere.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, JPL
This hotel is undergoing renovations. A few months after this review posts, I suspect that things will be improved. Disregard this review beyond Dec. 2016. With that said, here are the good things about the hotel: the lobby is gorgeous. The staff is courteous and helpful. Housekeeping is exacting. Those rooms are spotless. (Mine was, anyway, consistently.) The Internet is slow, but free. The location is OK—it's about 15 minutes from the gorgeous, hip part of Pasadena you'll probably want to frequent—but it's not in a bad part of town, either. There are lots of dining choices close by, great shopping, etc. The hotel does have some problems, though, which, again, I expect will be worked out once renovations are complete. The problems: 1. The breakfast. The breakfast consists of those horrible gas station pastries (like, those Hostess-style honey buns in clear plastic wrap). There is a juice machine. There are apples. That's it. They don't even have coffee. Do not stay here for the free breakfast. 2. The fitness center. The air conditioner was broken in the fitness center. I informed the receptionist, and she said she'd have maintenance look at it. I guess they couldn't fix it. When I say it gets hot in that tiny room, I'm not kidding. One of the two treadmills is broken. The weight machine is missing parts that make it functional. I had to get a daypass at a local gym. 3. The parking lots is really, really active at night. I never felt unsafe, but I never felt safe, either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Very old place and very bad breakfast, it is more like a motel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Fairly comfortable. Reasonable price. Like the color scheme and decor of the lobby.
Cons: Get the kitchen to code. Put the light in the bathroom. Fix your WIFI.
Location: There are some corporate shops a short drive away. Near the freeway, but several miles from the happening area.
$100 a night, never could figure out the WIFI, which seemed to be a very unsecure network. Seems like it was a nice place 20 years ago, that lost a bit of management mojo. A drive away from Old Town in an ok neighborhood. Misplaced lights and chandelier, cigarette burns on the table. 7-11 style breakfast with a note that says "City of Pasadena is making us renovate the kitchen" which seems like a disempowered way of saying, "we're not up to code." Comfy beds, working AC, working fridge. Thin windows (heard a lot outside).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice low cost motel

Posted Sep 8, 2016
This is an older motel that has been renovated. The lobby is really nice and modern. The rooms are nice but it has been a while since they were remodeled. The tile and granite would be beautiful if cleaned and polished but has lots of stains from age. Overall, this is a decent place to stay but it is just a remodeled (maybe 10 years past or so) motel. The staff is great, the rooms are nice and the price was reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area CA

You get what you pay for...

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: they allow dogs
Cons: the staff tactfulness and uniforms
Location: smart and final and big Target
First of all, if you're wanting to be near Old Pasadena, this location is a way's way from Old Pasadena, it's like a $5-$7 uber ride. The front desk staff's quite unprofessional, well at least one of them who kept talking loudly about her personal business and yelling at the staff in the back room while checking people in; it was tacky and uncomfortable! the dress code of the staff could be better- a nice black button up logo shirt would be nice instead of tank tops. the room we stayed at a was a bit dingy and some parts of are in disrepair. BUT on the bright side, they allow dogs though there's a $23/night fee not $20 as advertised
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose CA

Ok and Safe, Yet There Are Issues...

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Coin laundry, mini refrigerator, big TV screen in room with cable (no directory, however), price, cool lobby, free bikes/parking/wifi. Coffee maker.
Cons: Pest control, clean the elevator and pool area; control noise from workers and customers. Ensure the plumbing fixtures are working.
Location: Pasadena has great restaurants: Yahaira's Cafe for Mexican breakfast, Dog Haus for sliders and weiners, and ZANKOU CHICKEN (delivery to your room!)
Check in was odd -- we were given room keys but the cleaning staff was having their break in our room. We were then told that that room couldn't be used, so we had to re-pack the car and move to another area/floor. Photos provided by the hotel exaggerate what is available -- our room was not renovated, the wallpaper was peeling, the tub stopper didn't work, and the bathroom had ants. Much noise during the day due to on-going remodeling made it impossible to nap (there was hammering for over two hours!). At night, we were awoken twice by phone calls at 1 and 2am with no-one on the line and ended up unplugging the phone... Also awoken by noisy party people returning at night (several times) and kids running/shouting beginning at 6:30am -- with no one from staff intervening. As we walked past other rooms, we could see some have been renovated and do look like the photos. The lobby is very interesting and could be lots of fun if you have friends over -- there's a big dining table and large TV screens for watching games, etc.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
We arrived pretty late at night and the first room we obtained smelt like pesticides were pumped. It made me feel sick! We were moved to another room and it was slightly better. We were still getting the smell. Location is not great as well and does not appear to be a safe neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Nice hotel, great staff, cleaned and comfort, I really recommend it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

wrost hotel ever seen

Posted Aug 14, 2016
wrost hotel ever seen , he refuse to refund the deposit whit no reason