Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location , breakfast a bit disappointing

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful location and very pleasant Inn, we stayed in the Silverado room - very well appointed and comfortable with luxurious bathroom. Our only complaint about our stay was with the breakfast. On the Sunday there was no choice - it was an egg filled burrito which was nice, but my husband doesn't eat eggs (call him picky) and there was no option for anything else. No question of "what would you like" - the same thing was just put down in front of everyone. Coffee and tea is self service from a Keurig machine, which is quite good but you have to queue up and we had to ask the owner to provide milk a couple of times. On the Monday the breakfast was disappointing - a small amount of Canteloupe - 1 between 6 people - some stale-ish sweet pastries and 2 slices of buttered toast between 6. No cereal or other choices, and if you don't like pastries or toast for breakfast you were out of luck. It seems the owner had lost interest in providing an excellent breakfast and is more keen on developing his Rolls Royce wine tours ...he said he's thinking of hiring a fulltime manager for the B&B side of his business, which I think is a good idea. ...I guess we are used to a breakfast buffet in even basic hotels, so breakfast here this was disappointing.
4 out of 5
by Lillian

Great place for the price

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, Desperado Inn was great! It was nice having a full breakfast every morning. The walls are a little thin - we could hear our neighbors. The space was great. Wifi is a little spotty, but if you're here on vacation, you don't really need the wifi anyway. There's a communal fridge to store your leftovers, a keurig machine for coffee, and plenty of teas in the main house. I would definitely come here again and see if I could stay in one of the other rooms. The view is also amazing!
5 out of 5
by Lance

Awesome hidden away B&B

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great experience and location. Owner very knowledgeable and friendly, he made a great breakfast each morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

It was in a great location

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Thomas the owner and host was great and took care of all our needs. Great view and location.
Cons: N/A
Location: Close to our wineries that we were visiting over the weekend.
The location was close but not too close to the wineries where we wanted to go, but still far enough that we had the privacy we were looking for.
5 out of 5
by Dustin

Quiet affordable Couples or Solo Getaway

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
The Desperado Inn is not as fancy as a lot of the other options near Paso Robles, but it is fantastic for quiet relaxation with beautiful vineyard views. The Inn has just a handful of rooms-we saw two of them and they are mildly worn and outdated but very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Desperado room which I would highly recommend as being the most private and quiet. Food: The in brings in a chef every morning to serve breakfast which was great. They allowed us to eat outside every morning to enjoy the beautiful sweeping view of the valley by the pool. When they found out my husband is a vegetarian they accommodated this with grace. Staff: it is a small and very friendly staff. They gave us lots of good tips about the area and were very helpful. Pool: the pool is chilly which was great for us as it was 90+degrees-perfect for summer use but maybe not late fall. The view out by the pool is spectacular and very quiet and relaxing. Potentially my favorite part about the Inn other than the fantastic service. Location: great for wineries, short drive to town where there are lots of restaurants. Downsides: no downsides for us-I probably wouldn't bring a whole bunch of kids here-maybe an older kid who could enjoy the pool. Its not designed as a resort that you would spend all your time at, but is perfect as a homebase for local activities.
5 out of 5
by Brad from LA

Great Stay

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Woke up the first morning to have a family of deer including a baby right outside. Great cooking, Tom takes a lot of pride in making his guests feel comfortable, well informed, and his cooking!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't like the food

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The owner cooks food that's really different and expects everyone to eat the breakfast. He doesn't ask if anyone has allergies or anything he just cooked what he wanted and made enough for all of us. I didn't like the breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach

The worse hotel I ever experience in my life:(

Posted Apr 30, 2016
We got to This hotel and we left in the matter of two hours on the middle of the night because there were hundreds of earwig all over the bed furniture's carpet crawling on the walls:( it was so gross and so scary that I still get goosebumps when I think of it:( I really think that the health department should check this place and close their door so no one else go through the nightmare that we went through:( and besides all this the owner of this place never called back and responded to us after calling him all day and leaving messages for him! Horrible place horrible people horrible management:(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chino, Ca

Nice location but,

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Nice location but, seemed to lack the commitment I would have expected from a B&B.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Cute property - unfortunately, I had a major allergic reaction to the room and could only stay one night.