Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Latham

Quick overnight in town to drop sons off at school

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Closeness to out boys' school
Cons: Breakfast! Make sure there is a blow dryer in the bathroom.
Location: Close to Clarkson University and SUNY Potsdam
Staff was friendly and protective. The bed was comfortable and the area outside was quiet. We could have used a fan in the bathroom and there wasn't a blow dryer either. I realize that air conditioning units are noisy but ours was really loud!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Great place to stay while visiting colleges. Clean and great service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston NY

Pay for what you get, but that can be OK

Posted Aug 3, 2015
I would defend the owners 100% in that fact that they are not trying to compete with Clarkson Inn or some other higher scale joint. For $70 for two beds (+ $8 for local tax), this was a no frills experience. Was it acceptable? Yes. Was it safe? Yes. Was it clean? Yes. Was it b beautiful? Well, no, but this is the Dollar General option of motels, but it was clean enough to get a 3 / 5 rating. Look, I didn't like the broken glass shelf, the popcorn paint job everywhere (including the "let's paint over it" approach), and the stained carpets, no fan in the bathroom, etc. This family is not terribly interested in on-going improvements, and I wasn't asked to be their General Manager consultant. One highlight, I must share, was getting up early for meditation and hearing the family's puja conducted like loudspeakers from the motel office... I new traditional to the "Scottish" experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union Lake, MI

good dollar value

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: price was very reasonable and the people operating it obviously care about it.
Cons: if it means raising the price per night, then I'd leave it just the way it is.
Location: close to Pottsdam and not far from Canton
Some of the other Canton/Pottsdam motels get rather pricey, perhaps taking advantage of the college traffic. Picked this motel based on price and was pleased. The family operating the motel were very pleasant and easy to deal with. Room was clean and recently upgraded. It was actually nicer than I expected and I will stay there again when visiting family in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to college.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Quiet, clean, staff were nice.
Location: It is close to the colleges and downstown; stores, shops and restaurants.
Have stayed there twice now…both times off season…Quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice Hotel to crash for the night ...

Posted May 1, 2015
Visited Hotel after driving 6hours to pick my daughter up from school in anticipation of packing her up and the 6 hour drive home. Beds comfortable TV and wifi easy, room clean and hit a good rest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The motel was in poor condition Staff not friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bridgewater,NJ

Good economy place to stay

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Best price in the area. Not fancy, but clean room, and decent bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good for price

Posted Mar 16, 2015
nothing special but clean and decent for a short stay. We really needed just needed a place for the night from after an event till next morning. Fine for that and a real bargain. However, It would offer little for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from poughkeepsie

Great value

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Super place, great location to colleges. Pet friendly. Comfortable beds. Very nice manager.