Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Only stayed one night, room was comfortable, the breakfast area was not up to par. should be larger to accommodate more people.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not up to my standards

Posted Nov 17, 2016
I was there for a college visit with my daughter and was very disappointed with the accommodations. It looked a lot nicer on expedia's web site but Expedia should be more careful with what facilities they promote. When I got in to the room the heat was not on and we had to keep our coats on to stay warm. I had to manually turn the heat on after calling the front desk to ask and we left for a few hours to someplace warm while the room heated up. In looking for how to turn the heat on I found thick layers of dust on the registers behind the desk and furniture like it hadn't been cleaned in months. The bathroom register was rusted and the knob was broken off and it didn't even put out any heat. The bathroom tile was old and stained and I had reservations about the overall cleanliness of the room. I looked for another hotel in the area to stay at instead but Unfortunately the other hotels were sold out so I had to stay there. They offered a free continental breakfast which was marginal but at least it was something. If I come back to that area I definitely would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

stay somewhere else

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The price. It was the same price as the other two family owned, dated motels in Potsdam. But I will be staying at the Potsdam Motel or Northern Family Motel in the future. I travel to Potsdam about 6 times a year.
Cons: Oh where should I start ... it smelled ... the beds were terribly uncomfortable... worst part, to save money or be green the lights are all on motion sensors, so are the outlets, like the one between the beds where the clock radio was plugged in and where I would have liked to charge my phone at night, but when we went to bed and weren't moving the outlets shut down. Also, we had our dog with us and they charged us $20/night ... but didn't do anything after the first night (we were there two nights) ... $20 / stay would be far more reasonable.
Location: It's close to Potsdam and Clarkson and is convenient if your visiting your college kid.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was clean and staff was pleasant

Posted Oct 14, 2016
The room has a tv microwave and refrigerator close to town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Great weekend stay

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Everything was great in this hotel. The staff was very helpful. We checked in late with out any issue. The hotels is near by lots of restaurants and Walmart which is great. Only thing is the hotel is right by the highway people with kids needs to be careful when kids are playing outside. Over all the hotel great compare to the other near by
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Convenient location

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Small but nice clean room that has some updates. Very friendly and attentive staff. I travel for work a lot so I see many hotel rooms. My only complaint is that the lights by the bed had a outlet but it didn't work when the lights were shut off. Otherwise I was happy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to canton were my son is in schoo

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: none
Very nice people and very clean room good breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Surprisingly clean and bright motel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Clean and cared about, felt pretty safe.
Cons: It has been repainted and refitted with some nice appearance tricks, but is structurally tired.
Location: Visit your college student!
We only stayed 14 hours, watched a little TV then slept. The bed was a bit soft, but smelled refreshingly of bleach and not cigarettes or any other unpleasant odor. The TV was modern, the AC was reasonably quiet, the shower was relatively new. Will need structural attention soon to ensure it stays a decent value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Surprised at how nice it was!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Great little motel! Owners were so helpful. Rooms were small but clean and comfortable. Microwave and nice size fridge in the room. Fresh coffee, bages, cereal, pastries and fresh fruit in the morning. Quiet! Great deal! I would stay here again and I am use to Marriotts, Hiltons etc!!!
2 out of 5
by Lynette from New York City

Overpriced - not worth the money

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
All doors had tp be slsmmed in order to be securely closed i.e. front door and shower door. You could hear when others were entering/leaving their room. Also if you didn't slam the shower door closed you ran the risk of getting water everwhere. The room was clean but it was very overpriced.