Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Comfortable and clean. Friendly staff. Spent the night after a hockey game. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brandon, Vermont

Perfect for what we needed

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: The room was very clean.
Cons: Can't think of anything that needs to be improved.
Location: We enjoyed eating at the Mexican restaurant in Canton and going to the movie theater in the downtown.
We stayed at the Scottish Inn Motel while visiting colleges near by. The price was very attractive and the location was convenient. We worried about the condition, based on the price. However, we were very pleased by our experience at the Scottish Inn Motel. We arrived later in the evening to a friendly greeting from the owner who lives off the Motel Office. Our room was spotless, the beds very comfortable and the fixtures maintained and up to date. No, it is not fancy. BUT it is clean, warm and comfortable. If our child attends the college he visited in the area, the Scottish Inn Motel will be our home away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Great overnite stay

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: For price very clean and comfortable
Clean basic functional accomadations. Heat worked very well on an extremely cold night!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel and convenient to town.

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Easy to get in to room.
Cons: Not really.
Location: Near Canton and Potsdam.
Very good experience. Very clean and comfortable bed. Room a little small but nothing to really complain about. No coffee in room but they did have a continental breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to our destination

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Toilet did not work properly unless flushed several times. Beds sagged in the middle. Poor mattresses.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2015
we chose this hotel as it allowed pets. We have travelled to the Canton and Potsdam area quite frequently but never with our dog. When we arrived we were advised there was an extra charge for pets, even tho the hotel's website and the expedia website did not mention an extra charge. We have traveled many times with our dog elsewhere and most hotels do not charge an extra fee, BUT if they do, it is always advertised on their webpage. We were a little disappointed with this issue. Also, hotel check out time is 11am which in my opinion is too early. Noon is more accommodating. When I asked for a late check out I was told they could not accommodate us, as their check in time is 1pm - even tho the website says check in is 3pm?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for the price!!!

Posted Dec 5, 2015
We had to stay one night to go Visit Clarkson University - This hotel is ideal distance of 2-3 minutes drive to the university, room was clean, wash rooms were clear, breakfast was decent, staff was very welcoming. Over all a great experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location was perfect for an event

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Close to Suny Potsdam which was important to us. Staff was friendly and we have reservations to go back again in May.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: It takes pets.
Room was clean, but very small! Could hear the people ( and their cars) coming and going all the time. The people next door were pretty loud in their room late at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Theresa from Islip, NY

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
While visiting my daughter at Suny Potsdam my sister and I stayed at the Scottish Inns Potsdam. This was a lovely place to stay and I would definitely stay here again. The owners/staff were very sweet and the room was very quaint and clean. I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area to stay at this hotel. It is conveniently located to two of the 3 universities in the area as well as shopping and eating establishments.