Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great B&B near all the sites

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Loved our stay at Matisse. Our rooms were large and clean, had a nice living area and kitchen to make coffee. In a great location to all the sites! Bathrooms were outside of room but very close and that didn't bother us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Tonino, Hotel Management
Thanks for your comment, and happy that you enjoy in our place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice. In a good location in the city and secure.

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location.
Cons: Some small engagement from the owner/staff. Otherwise, you may as well go with an Air BNB.
Location: Located near Piazza Republica and the Termini Metro station--very easy to get to Vatican City, the Colosseum, etc.
This would be a nice place to stay if you are familiar with Rome already and just want an inexpensive place. The hotel staff were basically unavailable and unreachable. The only person we saw after check-in (for 5 days) was the housekeeper. I needed help with something, but could never get in touch with anyone at the number given in the contact information.
3 out of 5
by Noreen M

Not what I expected.

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
It wasn't what I expected for it to be. Breakfast was a few minutes walk away from the building, coffee and a croissant is all you get. They tell you very specifically to turn all the lights off and the air conditioning off whenever you leave the room. Someone walks into the unit whenever; early morning or late at night to go to the supply room when we were supposed to have the entire unit to ourselves. It wasn't pleasant; I had to tell my family to lock their individual rooms at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as described. No real breakfast.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Its location
Cons: A full breakfast, a dinner area, staff available if needed.
Location: All of the big sites in Rome. It has nice places to eat and drink nearby. about 20 minutes from the termini train station and coliseum.
The room along a corridor is located in a great spot near all the sites we wanted to see. However the "b&b" should have only been called a "b" as there was not a full breakfast as I do not consider yogurt and a cheap Croissant a breakfast. There manager was very rude on our arrival and was difficult to find as it is located in a building along with a lot of other "hotels". There was no table to eat your "breakfast" and no staff on site past noonish if you had any issues. The experience itself was a let down, as we had to eat breakfast out to give us the fuel for a good day in Rome. We would never return here or recommend it to anyone. In fact I will be seeking some money back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location for sightseeing nice b and b

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Very good base for sightseeing shopping and restaurants metro and taxis all close by an excellent base to stay in rome to see as many sights in a short time ie our 3 day stay we enjoyed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Close to the center of Rome

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on CheapTickets
Loved being here! It's like a little museum, also very close to the center of Rome! Everything is walking distance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Nov 25, 2016
We came to Rome for my 40th Birthday, we had a fantastic time and would love to come back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Basic but good enough.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: being able to help yourself to breakfast is good and the beds are comfy
Cons: The rooms are very basic. There are no drawers. It would have been nice to have had a toilet a bit nearer to the room.
Location: It's in the middle of Rome...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Room Clean but that's you can say about this place

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The room was kept very clean.
Cons: Everything. Also, we felt the website was very misleading.
Location: Location was great. Very near to the Hop On/Hop Off bus tours, very lively street, nice bars, restaurants, in walkable distance to Colosseum & Forum.
We arrived late and had to buzz for the owner as there is no reception. We had booked a twin room and were given a double, when I said that this was wrong, the owner said he would change it the next day. We never got a change, but he did put an extra bed in the room. The Bed & "Breakfast" is a bit of a joke. There is a very small area where there is a fridge and a counter. From here you have to make your own tea & coffee and there are only pre-packed croissants (jam filled, flavour only) and in the fridge there is a choice of 2 yoghurts and bottled water. That's your lot!!! There is no reception, so no one to speak to and couldn't get hold of the owner very often; my friend and I had to leave written messages on the counter if we needed anything. The pictures on the website look great, but we had to ask the owner where the lovely lounge area was, as we couldn't find it. He did eventually show it to us, but we couldn't access it, as it was in a different part of the complex and our keys didn't fit the door for this area. I definitely would not stay here again or, indeed, recommend it. Definitely "No Stars" from me
3 out of 5
by Robert from Tarzana, CA

Not my style.

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Bathroom down the hall. Breakfast sparce.