Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Petersburg, FL

This is a great location. Very central.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The staff were incredibly helpful. Breakfast is served in your room at the time specified by you.
Location: Minutes walk to the Camp de Fiore, and very close to the Piazza Navona & Pantheon.
The hotel is unimpressive at the approach, but once you've traversed the graffiti on the front door and the crumbling internal stairs and arrive on the third floor, the reception is clean and welcoming. Our room has been recently remodeled, with a very modern bathroom and clean white walls and linens. Everything you need for showering & sleeping in (which is all we have time to do when we're on a city break). Sadly, budget hotels attract lower class guests. There was damage to several items in our room, including the bathroom sink which had been damaged by someone placing far too much pressure on it (like their entire body weight).
3 out of 5
by Daniel

Poor hotel - good location - not recommended

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great location but that is pretty much where the good stuff ends - entrance is in very poor condition and extremely difficult to find. The rooms need upgrading - my shower didn't even have a door so the room flooded every time I used it! There is no laundry service or water in the rooms. For the price paid there are far better options in Rome. I would not stay here again. Not sure how it gets 8 stars on TripAdvisor as for me it is a 2 at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Domus Ester

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Excellent location for all the major sites in Rome
4 out of 5
by Shaun

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location. Walking distance to all the sites. Room was cleaned daily. Reception staff so friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
by James

Great location, good value

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
The welcome was excellent and Dario was very helpful. Reception is on the 2nd floor and you just buzz and you are let in. Breakfast was brought to the room at a time we chose which made life easy. Location is perfect to get to the colloseum, trevi fountain and Vatican, all walkable in nice weather. Plenty of restaurants nearby in a little square that were nice and some shops a small well. The only real negative is that the door didn't keep the noise out early morning so you could hear people leaving early for their day, But that wouldn't put me off staying again .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Cute guest house

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Would definitely recommend for location and aesthetics but if you're looking to rest soundly this is not the place. Walls are very thin - so thin in fact that you can participate in your neighbors nightly endeavors, you can imagine what I mean by that. You can also hear anything that goes on in the lobby or hallway and upstairs. They also started doing construction at about 0800 in the morning. If you're going on a trip that is mostly going out and staying out late perhaps this isn't an issue. I would recommend this place for certain types of trips but definitely not for a relaxing, romantic getaway. If you do end up staying, however, and like good burgers and beer you are very close to the bar "open baladin" which was PHENOMENAL and Restaurant Buddy has really good dinner and "American breakfast" if you're looking for more than just a croissant and coffee.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and goog location

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Clean but a bit small rooms. Easy to access local areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean but not a 3 star hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
This is more guesthouse than hotel and as long as you are aware of this prior to booking it is fine to ensure expectations are met. Pros: excellent location - particularly for those wishing to stay near the old Jewish quarter. 20 minute walk to Vatican, 15 to Spanish Steps and Colisseum and 10 to Trevi Fountains and Piazza Navona. Really helpful staff Free wifi Clean hotel. Cons- the rooms are tiny. Barely space to put the suitcase in the room as the beds take up 90% of the floor space. Cramped bathroom although it is clean. Beds aren't comfortable. The walls are so thin that you can literally hear everything in the rooms on either side and above you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eed

Domus Estero Roma

Posted Sep 20, 2016
PROS: Characteristic ceiling; Location CONS: Room was cleaned but still found hair on the bed and bathroom floor every day; AC unit was not powerful enough to cool the room; No lift/elevator and located on 3rd floor and up so carry your own bags; No change of towels and bed sheets for 3 days unless a fee is paid; breakfast very limited and delivered to room not always on time; do not depend on the hotel AT ALL for taxi services - plan your own taxi - hotel quoted wait times to be five mins and took 50 mins AND ALSO the hotel linked taxi listed to accept all methods of payment but only demands cash upon arrival; Room had broken toilet paper dispenser and shower product holders; NO hot water only warm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Hotel overall needs some freshen up. It really looks rundown. Awful wifi service. Stayed there for 4 days 3 nights so had to keep asking the reception to reset the wifi service. Location was okay though.