Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eed

Domus Estero Roma

Posted Sep 20, 2016
PROS: Characteristic ceiling; Location CONS: Room was cleaned but still found hair on the bed and bathroom floor every day; AC unit was not powerful enough to cool the room; No lift/elevator and located on 3rd floor and up so carry your own bags; No change of towels and bed sheets for 3 days unless a fee is paid; breakfast very limited and delivered to room not always on time; do not depend on the hotel AT ALL for taxi services - plan your own taxi - hotel quoted wait times to be five mins and took 50 mins AND ALSO the hotel linked taxi listed to accept all methods of payment but only demands cash upon arrival; Room had broken toilet paper dispenser and shower product holders; NO hot water only warm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Hotel overall needs some freshen up. It really looks rundown. Awful wifi service. Stayed there for 4 days 3 nights so had to keep asking the reception to reset the wifi service. Location was okay though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel close to the city center

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: The stairs walking up to the hotel and soundproofing for the rooms
Location: 15 minute walk to almost any attraction in Rome
The hotel definitely feels "rustic" like you would expect in Rome. Its not really a "hotel" - its a guest house. So, they have a small front desk area that is only open during daylight hours. Closed during the night. The staff can speak english for the most part and are very nice and helpful. Just type "Domus Ester" into Google Maps and you will be able to find the place without any issue. Look on Google Images to see what the front door of the place looks like. You have to climb up quite a ways to the front desk and the steps are pretty rustic looking, but once you get into your individual bedroom - everything is updated and very cozy and nice. The only con is that the rooms are not really sound proof, so everybody can hear what you are doing in your room. Overall, it was worth it and I'm glad I stayed here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Supercentral. Great location.
Based on Room #305. Overall: Intermediate quality. PROS: - Superkind and available staff. - Reasonable price for the outstanding location - Clean - Somehow stylish - Free internet - Quiet, central areal CONS: - Tiny rooms. Bathroom hosts two people only if one stays in the shower. Possibly the smallest bathroom I've seen in my life. - Badly kept: several lights bulbs are burned out. AC does not push cold air. The toilet keeps pouring water. A lamp over the bed hear was broken (held from falling only by the electrical cable) one of the two mattresses was concave (i.e., worn out) - No read wardrobe. - No sound insulation. You hear ANYTHING that happens in the upper floor. - Run-down building. - Third/fourth floor without elevator. - Breakfast in bed which you have to reserve. If for any reason you decide you want 30min later as you want to sleep more, all you can do is walking downstairs and let them know (which defeats the purpose)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Excellent place and location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Really enjoyed the hotel and the staff were so warming and welcoming. The room was spotless and immaculate. Definitely recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price and location.

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Only stayed 1 night. Staff helpful and in a good location for central Rome. Had a bad surprise when we had to wake up early to get to the airport, NO HOT WATER. What a shame, this was a deal breaker. Would have been fine if we could speak to someone about it. Be sure to chek if you choose hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel in Rome historic center

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Very decent room for very inexpensive price Must walk up stairs to lobby Has wife and in room safe Good location 10 to 15 minute walk to Pantheon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Prague

What a surpise!

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Cons: Running hot water
Location: Location is hard to find. Even cabs have problems.
Hard to believe that behind the grey facade is a small cosy hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from Melbourne

A slice of Rome

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Lack of maintenance
Location: Very good location
Domus Ester is in a great location for walking to the Colosseum and Vatican, And for eating out it's 5 minutes walk from Campo di Fiori and just across the river from the restaurant laneways of Trastevere. My room and bathroom were small, no hot water on the first morning but assured it was a continuous hot water service and receptionist went to check on it. From other reviews this seems to be an occasional problem, the next two days it was fine. The toilet seat was also loose which other reviewers have mentioned. What I disliked the most was the mouldy bottom section of the shower curtain which lay in the shower water due to it being too long, aside from this the room overall was very clean. In spite of these issues I would recommend Domus Ester for its location and price with an awareness of its lack of maintenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michaela, Vito from New York, NY

Domus Ester

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: close to monuments, in the ancient center within the tiny narrow streets, great service, great breakfast, airconditioning
Location: close to monuments and important sights in rome, far from main train station and far from subway (20 min walking)
We spent 2 nights at Domus Ester. First, the shuttle driver from the airport could not find the hotel in the maze of the tiny streets of ancient Rome so he dropped us of "in the area" and we then spent another 30 min looking for it. We finally found it, but the hotel only had a small sign on the door. The reception is on the second floor, so we were not sure if we were at the right place at first. But from then on, the stay was pleasant. The both receptionists were very helpful, both spoke English and did everything to make our stay as nice as possible. The room was small, but clean. It had an air condining so we were confortable during the night (which was the only time we spent in the room). We got our breakfast delivered to our room and ot was great. Check in and check out was easy. The only thing I found to be little annoying was that it was long walk to nearest train. But we already knew this, since the hotel is located in the old town.