Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Location, lift
Cons: Extra bathroom would be nice, and maybe some more decoration in the rooms
Location: Basically everything can be reached by foot or with the metro
Location was alright, close to most major attractions. A bit of an uphill walk from the metro. Room was spacious, but only one bathroom for all guests to share; the bathroom was not the best. Favorite thing about the hotel was the lift
5 out of 5
by Paige from Berlin

Highly Enjoyable

Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
Stay was perfect for the place we wanted. It was quiet, clean and with a private room. Hotel owner was so friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Location was amazing for sight-seeing in Rome with a metro so close and walking distance to many things.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK price for a bed in Rome

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
We knew it would be an apartment-style, but didn't realize that the other rooms would be totally full and that the others had multiple beds. In all about 8 of us had to share 1 bathroom, which meant long lines in the morning/evening. The host was very nice and gave a great intro to Rome. Wifi access barely worked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Krzysztof from Manchester, UK

Good value for money

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Location, host,
Cons: Internet connection was very mediocre.
Location: Very close to the city centre, shops and restaurants nearby.
A great location, a very approachable and helpful host and good price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by knb from london

very good choice

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: restaurant and major attractions at walking distance. good manager very secure
Cons: shower curtain system was old style and not easy to adjust and not comfortable.
Location: santa maria colosseo
Manager is very helpful. Room is convinient. you get voucher for free breakfast in nearby restaurant. very secure building. lift is available. walking distance to santa maria.
4 out of 5
by Jessica from Chicago, IL

Good basic room

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels
The owner was very nice and provided us the basics, secure place for our belongings, decent bed, linens and towels. The shared bathroom could use a little work as far as cleanliness, but for a short stay it did the trick. I would stay here again for a short trip to Rome. It is less then 10 mins walk from the main train station and the Colosseum, and just a few mins to the metro to get you anywhere in Rome. It's the right place for the right price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Stay with Easy Access to the Sights

Posted May 4, 2013
Pros: This hotel is located two blocks from the Manzoni Metro station as well as multiple tram/bus lines, so getting around the city is very easy.
Cons: We were there when the weather was nice, but I imagine the rooms get very hot in the summer. No AC, but there is a ceiling fan.
Location: Two Metro stops from the Termini. Very nice Italian restaurant (BAR D'ALESSIO) two blocks up. Close to the Colosseum.
Overall, very positive experience. My wife and I stayed in a double. It was a simple, clean room, and included a safe. The bathroom is shared, but we rarely even saw other guests. Mauro, the man who runs the place, was very helpful. The included breakfast is a coupon for one of two local cafes, both with great coffee and croissants. RomeBed is definitely a great value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sara from Seattle, WA

Adequate place to stay when temperatures are cool

Posted Jul 10, 2012
Pros: Mauro was extremely friendly and helped to orient us to the city. For the price, this place serves its purpose.
Cons: During high season, the lack of air conditioning and small fan made it almost unbearable to get any sleep, particularly when the window was open.
Location: Fantastic location: within walking distance of the key tourist attractions and a quick walk to the subway. Quiet at night, but seemingly safe.
I recently stayed here during Rome's high season in late June (temperatures reaching 98F). This hotel is basically an apartment with each room converted into a room for guests and a shared bathroom. It is in an excellent location- a 10-15 minute walk to Colosseum and 5 minutes to the subway. The neighborhood was safe and there were plenty of restaurants and grocery stores nearby. Minimal room amenities; however, a small shared refrigerator and tea pot. Mauro greeted me when I arrived and provided tons of helpful information on the "best" places to go for gelato, pizza, etc. He was extremely friendly, easy to contact throughout my stay and was willing to stay and chat for quite some time. The free breakfast involved a short walk to 1 of 2 nearby cafes, but the light breakfast (croissant and cappuccino) were nice. My two main complaints (to explain the 3/5 rating) were: (1) when we arrived, all rooms were full, which equated to 7 people sharing 1 bathroom for an evening. Very difficult, especially considering that the rooms do not have their own sinks. (2) Because of the hot temperatures, we had to keep our window open at night and to rely upon 1 very small fan to stay cool. Because of its location, when the window was open, the room was extremely loud (at all hours). When closed, the room was quiet. The small fan did nothing to keep us cool and our sleep was very uncomfortable at night. If you want to stay cool during the high season, the room was nearly unbearable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rome bed, great location, pretty basic

Posted May 1, 2012 on Hotels
our host, Mauro was very nice and helpful Rome bed needs a women's touch, some amenities. recommend new paint. coffee was down the street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and friendly place

Posted Apr 20, 2012 on Hotels
our over all stay was nice this is a good place to stay as a base for sight seeing, very close to the metro our stay was very pleasant the only down sight was when we had our friends over for a glass of wine who were staying in a near by hotel the manager became slightly strange and told us we couldn't have them round, he was pleasant about it but seemed strangely agitated, and asked us to ask them to leave! other than this one moment our stay was enjoyable.