Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rocky Hill CT

A true dump.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This place should be avoided at all costs. I almost slept in my car. Scary
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice close to cedar point

Posted Aug 21, 2016
It was a bit odd and not so inviting . The parking lot was very muddy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
My check in was at 3 and when I arrived my room wasn't ready. After being bounced around to three different rooms we finally got settled. Room was still hardly clean. Stains on sheets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Don't stay here ever.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
The worst most disgusting room with body fluids and trash everywhere. Refused to give me a refund. The dirtiest place I have ever witnessed. It looks nothing like the photos. Expedia needs to take this guy off of here. Absolutely disgusted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Dilapidated and no view !!!!

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: Everything
TV remote didn't work, Bathroom door rubbed the bottom so hard you had to force it to close or open.air conditioner was actually scary to try to turn off because it was shorting .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Worst experience Expedia and H J should be ashamed

Posted Aug 15, 2016
My family and I got there after a Cedar Point day. Normally we will stay in a Hilton brand hotel. We decided to stay there this time. Who will think Howard Johnson hotel will be as TERRIBLE as this one. We woke the owner and he got extremely upset and raising his voice asked me to get into the office a dirty place as never seen full of papers and mess. He pretended that I did not have a reservation. I showed him expedia confirmation and he finally got us a room. NO PARKING SPACE He suggested us to park where we could or by the dumpster . He gave us room 115 hand written with a Pen in the door. That was not a good sign. Door lock did not work. After requesting a non smoking room that room smelled like cigarette and more. Dirty bathroom with Mold and not even cleaned after last 10 guests I bet. Bed covers looked extremely dirty. I WILL NOT EVEN DARE TO REMOVE MY SHOES due to the carpet. I ended leaving that place in less than 3 minutes and we were forced to drive during the to get a decent accomodation. Save your time sleeping in your car will be better than this. Besides all that owner made a copy of the DL and place looked insecure. As said worst experience Ever.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's a place to sleep.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
My plan was to spend 2 days in Cedar Point so I wasn't picky about a hotel- I selected this place because it was close and relatively cheap. If you're picky, I wouldn't recommend this place, but if you just need a place to sleep then this place works. The rooms need some TLC but the beds are comfortable. The pool looks nice in the pictures, but it's directly next to a busy road so I had no desire to use it. The "free breakfast" was a nice gesture, but was nothing more than cereal, milk, juice, and donuts. It is only about 5 minutes from Cedar Point.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Dirty moldy and smelly hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Was really bad the wall was soft and full of mildew which caused a bad smell. The bedding was stained the room wass so small. Screw driver was holding the air conditioner in the window. Could not stay had to fine a different place to stay my money should be refunded.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

HoJo, Wyndham, and Expedia should be ashamed

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: There's a gas station and a goodwill store, and a couple of Asian massage places not too far away.
I've stayed in worse places, but only in economically challenged countries. The room stank of stale food and cigarrette smoke. There were impact holes (like from a head or a fist) in both sides of the bathroom door, mystery stains on the carpet and blanket, and the walls apparently haven't seen a paintbrush since the Reagan Administration. The TV remote worked just fine, but there was only one channel. There was no telephone. There was an iron, but no ironing board. As for the property...Lots of foot traffic at random hours into the room below mine that might indicate a number of different things which I'll leave it up to the reader to surmise. And loud music in the parking lot late at night, which you'd think the manager/owner would do something about, since he seems to live in a small apartment behind the lobby. Also, i noticed a wire (like a household lamp power cord) hanging down in front of the catwalk and strung across to the next building--no idea what it was for, but it didn't look safe or professional. The "breakfast" offered was a tray of stale donuts. Bottom line--Howard Johnson's and Wyndham should be ashamed that this place bears their name, and Expedia should be equally ashamed of including it in search results. If you're you're headed to Sandusky, do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Worth $49 a night but total dump

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Nothing like website said, dirty, super small rooms, leftover nasty breakfast, gross towels, stains on comforters, toilet not connected to floor. Only nice things, light fixtures, sink cabinet & storage, had fridge & microwave even though website said it didnt. Pool small but fine. Manager was nice but staff completely incompetent. Sometimes there was nobody available at front desk. Never again.