Ratings based on 1,097 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Value

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Wonderful hotel with exceptionally friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great customer service

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Location, safety
Cons: Rooms a little cold cause if cement
Location: Boardwalk, central location
Stayed an extra night, staff was great they even kept the breakfast bar up for me and my kids so we could eat. Quiet, felt totally safe, great location!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McG

Close to beach, friendly staff

Posted Oct 13, 2016
The room was filthy. The floor made the bottom of my feet black. The shower did not drain. The beds were horrible and I woke with back and neck pain. I have stayed here many times and it's always a crap shoot. Last week the room we got was better. I mostly stay here as it's easy access to everything and inexpensive, do I guess you get what you pay for. Will I come back? Yes, because I'm cheap,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, United States of America

Posted Oct 12, 2016
The hotel is close to the beach. They have bikes to borrow and a nice swimming pool. I also liked the breakfast: pancakes, fruits, cereals, juice, coffee and some pastries.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon City, United States of America

Very close to Santa Cruz boardwalk and wharf

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Room renovation and training of front desk staff. Note: The staff was not rude or disrespectful, they were just not trained.
Location: Great proximity to the Santa Cruz Boardwalk, Wharf, the paved path on West Cliff Drive, and to he downtown area.
Over the years, I've stayed at this property several times and it has always met my expectation/s. That being said..... My expectation/s for a 'beach property', is much different than a downtown property where customers rarely spend more than one night. There is a daily turnover in travelers, and the environment and experience changes with each day. Checking was a breeze, but checking out at the front desk the next AM the attendee did not know how to check me out or run a receipt for me. In the end took a short walk to get breakfast, came back an hour later, and got a different person to assist me in checking out. I'm retired and this was not a big deal for me, but had I been on a business trip or trying to get to the airport, it would have been a 'rub'. The 'complementary breakfast' they offer is eatable, but could have been improved with minimal effort. It was dry cereal and milk with packaged pastries, coffee, tea, and that was about it. I will stay here again because it meets my expectations, but can not honestly give it a higher rating than this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Osos, CA

Too much money for what you get.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
It is close to the Boardwalk, but our room had no carpet or decorations on the walls and a tiny bathroom. Because I booked through Expedia we were charged $10 to park in their lot. I will not stay there again or recommend it to friends
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Geht so

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Strandnaehe
Cons: Letter im Bad ist sehr laut.
Location: Strand in 5min zu Fuss
Einfaches Hotel, Strand CA 5 min zu Fuss, ist durch viel Verkehr und einfache Bauweise rel laut, aber Service und durch den vergleichsweise guenstigen Preisniveau OK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Choice

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The rates were almost the lowest in Santa Cruz for that time. Parking got tolerable as long as we returned be late afternoon. No room for more.
Cons: Everything mentioned above and more. No room to include everything.
Location: If you go about 1/4 mile in several directions there were lots of restaurants. This is on a main road with moderate traffic near the pier.
We happened to arrive the Sunday of the last day of the Iron Man. There were people parking illegally all over their parking and they refused to do anything about it. As an example handicapped parking. I have a handicap placard and could not park in any of the marked places because racers were parked there. The hotel refused to do anything about it. When we finally got to our room they failed to activate our key card, so we had to go back and get that corrected. When we finally did get into our room the first thing I noticed is that the smoke alarm was sitting on the counter with a different mount than was on the wall, so it could not be replaced. I called and they sent someone who had no idea what to do. I had to tell him how to remove the old mounting and install the new one so that the room could at least be legal, Look at the photos below and you can see some of the other safety issues, especially if you have young children who might stick their fingers in the exposed wiring of the electrical boxes. Then the next morning we found that the shower drain was fully plugged so we could not finish our showers or it would have overflowed all over the room. We called to have it fixed in the morning and they said they would send someone right over. When we got back that evening it had not been fixed and our room had not been cleaned. I called and they said again they would send someone to clear the drain and so on. They said we could move ourselves to a clean room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from torrance

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Great! Their staff is ver kind and warm. The location is also attractive about 0.5 miles from the beach and very near from downtown. Good!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Pictures looked way better online!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Cons: The maintenance overall of this room would have been nice, a working phone so I didn't have to keep going down to the front desk.
Location: It was about 5 blocks from the Boardwalk, but made it seem you were already there. Nice restaurants close by to eat at.
We booked through Expedia, which we like to do on all of our vacations. We expected it to be everything that we thought it would be....nice, close to Boardwalk, huge pool, free parking, etc. No, the manager said because we booked it through Expedia we still had to pay for parking, I was tired of arguing about it and just paid it, but was not happy! Our rooms phone jack was ripped out of the wall and the phone cord was just hanging down there, so we would think it worked....it didn't! Our shower drain was clogged so it just filled up, luckily didn't overflow past the shower edge. We had to take quick showers which is not what you want to do on vacation. The Pool was definitely not huge in any way and there still was quite a walk to the Boardwalk, not just around the corner. I have had way better experiences than this one.