Ratings based on 795 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord Ca

Homeless people in and around hotel.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Nothing. Very trashy. The area was super dirty and questionable
Cons: Everything very dangerous. Homeless people and gang bangers in front
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, California

Not worth it, wish we stayed at a different hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Not very much - free wifi (it was spotty) and free parking (if you could find a space and not get blocked in by others staying at hotel)
Cons: Almost everything - customer service, parking, bedding, quality of rooms in general
Location: The hotel is not located in the best part of town. Not much to do within walking distance; plenty more to do within driving distance.
For the money, this hotel wasn't worth it. The only two good things it has going for it is the free wifi and the free parking. The double suite we stayed in was ok.... The space was large and there was a mini fridge/freezer. The room was clean. However, there were light bulbs missing, no TV in the second room, missing paint on the walls, unfitted sheets for the bedding so you're practically just sleeping on the bare mattress itself. The hotel staff was pretty rude and not very helpful. The wifi (though it was free) was super spotty). Parking was free, however you most likely will get blocked in and your morning will be delayed because you have to find out who it is parked behind you and ask them to move. It's not in the best part of town, or there are just extremely shady people who stay at and/or hang around the hotel. People were super loud and screaming on the first night until 2:00AM. Not to mention, the homeless people who were hanging in the park located behind the building (which we had a view of). Not very impressed, next time we will stay elsewhere even if it's a little more expensive.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chico,Ca

Think twice before booking here.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Check in time was 3pm but our room was not ready till 5:30pm No bathtub Matt (so you could slip very easily) No towels racks No coffee maker Rug felt wet Rule Signs very small in pool area Continental breakfast was a joke(to small of an area to eat)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One room was terrible

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Cons: Room 116 was filthy when we arrived on 9/18/16, scuffs all over wall, sand in the bed. We could not communicate with maids due to language difference
Room 116 was filthy when we arrived on 9/18/16, scuffs all over wall, sand in the bed. We could not communicate with maids due to language differences. The small studio fridge spoiled our food in less then 10 hours. I would like my money back on this room for my stay from 9/18/16 to 9/21/16. My room 121 with the full Kitchen was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive polished turd with semi-friendly staff.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Overpriced stay in a delapidated hotel that was recently "fixed up". With hardwood floors and lack of wall insulation it was a loud and uncomfortable stay. Worst I've had at $200/night. Third world polish at first world prices. Only plus was that it was clean and they allowed dogs. Staff was kurt and not amicable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chico, CA

What more could you ask for?

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We stayed in a room approximately the size of a one bedroom apartment in the city (Rm#214), which was perfect for our family! The indoor pool and spa was giant and had great hours of availability. Everything, seriously EVERYTHING, is a few minutes walk from Surf City. If you walk less than 2 minutes you have an adorable neighborhood park, and directly across the street from that was a little skate park (not our thing, but my sons were happy to observe for a minute). A short 8 minute walk to Main Beach, the Boardwalk, Neptune's Kingdom, and dozens of little shops and cafes. The best part was that for a small $40 extra we purchased the "Stay and Play" option, which allowed us to check out at 4 and park for the day. We swam for several extra hours and spent a ton of time at the beach without worrying about parking. I would definitely recommend Surf City, and I will definitely be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East bay

It was nice

Posted Aug 27, 2016
We had a quick and comfortably stay. We live the indoor pool. Sorry walk to boardwalk. They give you option to check out late.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockton

Great place

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Enjoyable stay! Great place good crown nice close walk to the boardwalk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area

Short walk to beach

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Hotel needs many updates. New paint in rooms, rusty fixtures in bathroom. Breakfast ends at 9.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caldwell, ID

Close to the Boardwalk. Pet Friendly!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Spacious room. Pet friendly. Pool and hot tub. Walking distance to Santa Cruz Boardwalk.
Cons: Some sort of protein offered at breakfast. Scrambled or even boiled eggs would be a nice addition.
Location: Walking distance to the Boardwalk and Wharf!
Pet friendly is a plus but the rate per pet is a bit pricey... Spacious room. Close to the Boardwalk (2 blocks or so). Reasonable rates. Free breakfast highlight was the mini waffle maker! Breakfast low was their is no protein offered (eggs (even boiled) would be nice). But I give it 4 stars based on knowing that this isn't the Hilton or Marriot by any means. But for the room rate and being pet friendly I was more than pleased. Hot tub and pool too! Be warned the pool is enclosed so when the kids are having fun it's loud in there. You may want to check first if you were planning to relax in the hot tub... If we visit Santa Cruz again we'd stay here again.