Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Decent hotel local to the 5 college area

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, good location
Cons: Little things, like broken ice machines and newer room accessories, like a suitcase stand - mine looked like it saw the Eisenhower administration.
Location: CAn't beat the location. The 5 colleges are all nearby, as are Amherst and Northampton town centers.
It's a chain hotel. As far as the rooms go, you know what you're going to get. The room was clean, the TV had basic cable plus HBO. The heater/AC worked satisfactorily, though the ice machine at the end of the corridor was non-functional. The staff was friendly and efficient enough. There is a pool and very basic gym, though I didn't use either.The "breakfast" is just a bare bones affair - self serve coffee (meh) , tea, bagels, French toast (room temp &, and heated a toaster, juice, cereal, etc. Not inspiring, but it's free, so you can't honestly expect more at the price. OK, it ain't the Ritz-Carlton, but it isn't a flea-bag either, and the price is right - just be sure to book through Expedia, etc., and not come in off the street...I paid $68 plus taxes & fees, as opposed to 99.95 as a walk-in. A good, bargain-priced hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, NH

No frills hotel, convenient to Amherst, Mass.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Price, convenience to Amherst where we attended a funeral.
Cons: See the note above about our experience.
Location: Good location on the main road. Nothing to do nearby.
Front desk didn't have two door key cards for my wife and me. They said the cards were in short supply and could only give us one card to share.. The vending machines were nearly empty. Couldn't even get a Diet Coke. The orange voicemail light on the phone blinked for an entire day. I dialed 190 per the instructions on the phone and the system said I had no messages. The front disk couldn't tell me how to shut off the blinking light. I tried to use the men's room near the lobby and the door would not lock. They told me to use the ladies room. The continental breakfast was about average for a cheap hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was there when needed place to stay

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Quick checkin and out.
Cons: Well have some spares for the things in the room, and well make sure it is all working before someone checks in.
Location: Hadley is next to Amherst where all the things are really.
All was good but hair dryer was busted when tried in morning. Call to front desk sent someone up but they pressed all the buttons i did and still didn't work. And they had no spare. Wasn't the end of the world, but if i was running a hotel i would have a checklist that had every room's features on list that had to make sure worked after guest checked out. Ok so i like a well oiled machine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

bed uncomfortable

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: location to UMass
Cons: new beds
Location: UMass
the bed was uncomfortable. the bed was uncomfortablethe bed was uncomfortablethe bed was uncomfortablethe bed was uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good price

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Room was a little small but fine. Clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good value

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Update bathrooms
Location: Mall next door, other strip malls down the road. Amherst center a couple of miles away
Not much character, but good value and about what you would expect. Generally well maintained and clean. Prompt attention upfront by the staff who immediately respond to my request for a change. is right next to a mall and a couple of miles from downtown Amherst and UMass. Average sized room that was clean. Bathroom wasnt perfectly clean but clear attempt was made. Only issue I saw was the tub, it looked like it was 30 years old, worn down from all the scrubbing. Rest of the shower has been updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Nice space, balcony.

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: close to my son
Cons: nothing I could see
Location: Lots of historic places, buildings, museums, recreation
Only stayed 1 night, clean. quiet, close to stores, schools.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel convenient to Five Colleges area.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Good hotel, pleasant staff, comfortable accommodations all at a fair price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy breakfast area

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Conveniience.
Cons: A course in cleaning and hospitality.
Location: I had to stay over for work purposes. This hotel is located in the heart of the Five College area of western Mass.
I went to grab some breakfast at about 7 a.m., when one would think everything is fresh and clean, and the area was filthy. There were two lonely hard-boiled eggs in a refrigerated area, and crumbs all over the place. I have a tolerance for messiness, but the was really quite bad. Personnel at the front desk were hardly friendly, barely looking at me as they checked me in, just nodding when i checked out. The room itself was ok, though they put me in a handicapped room with a strange tub, not notifying me of this in advance. In short, while it served the purpose of allowing me a place to sleep, beyond that it wasn't pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Okay if you can't find something else.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Relatively close to stores and restaurants.
Cons: Mold in the restroom which should be addressed. We needed a rollaway bed which was in very poor condition with a mattress that needs to be retired.
Would never be our first choice. The first room we received was small and in poor shape. They did relocate us which was appreciated and the new room was better, not great. Slightly over-priced given the limited amenities.