Ratings based on 470 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire, England

Fine for a 4-5 days

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: The staff and the location
Cons: Breakfast could be a bit more imaginative
Location: See above
Hotel is very well located for wandering around the historic centre, and the rooftop dining room has great views of the Acropolis. Breakfasts are adequate if a little limited. May become boring after a few days Excellent and helpful staff on reception and the hotel offers extremely good value for money. The immediate area may look a bit run down and scruffy but a 100yds walk finds you in an area bustling with good priced restaurants......also a pleasant walk of about 20 mins find you at the acropolis entrance. I would definitely use again
5 out of 5
by Brian

Hotel Jason, the place to stay in Athens

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
This is the third or fourth time I have stayed at Hotel Jason. Excellent position for me, near metro station Thissio (direct line to Piraeus for ferry, one change to airport), wonderful views of Acropolis similarly (easy to enter Acropolis slopes and stoa), near Monastraki and Plaka and near friends living in area. Arrived early from ferry, stored baggage in luggage room, then full day sightseeing. Leaving, stored baggage, then went about until catching late flight from airport. Breakfasts on rooftop, very good with marvellous views, similarly good place for evening/late night drinks/food looking at flood-lit Acropolis. Service fine, not obsequiesce, generally everything works well. Good lifts, balcony, wi-fi, the lot. Only drawback is the route from Thissio metro to hotel (about 300 metres) along very narrow street with many obstructions - looks sleazier than it is. Huge selection of cafes, restaurants and shops once you are at Thissio metro. Overall a good, inexpensive place to stay in Athens. My first choice for Athens
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

don't trust pictures

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: here was a nice patio on the roof where you can enjoy the view and the complimentary breakfast. The hotel is in walking distance to Acropolis about 30
Cons: the bathrooms, wall insulations
Location: The hotel is in walking distance to Acropolis about 30-40 min uphill.
We stayed in the Jason Inn for 3 nights in double room with balcony. We might be got the smallest room in the hotel, I cannot tell it for sure, but here is our feedback: - the room had a minimal furniture to the point that we decided not to unpack. The mattress was on a harder side. I don't like soft mattresses, but the one we slept on for three night made my hips hurt. The walls were not insulated, so even with the windows closed it was still very noisy. Good thing that the room had a balcony and a safety box in the closet. - the bathroom was so small that we had to do acrobatic tricks to get to the toilet. if you are a big girl or guy you may not be able to do so because there is simply no place to move around. - on a plus side, there was a nice patio on the roof where you can enjoy the view and the complimentary breakfast. The hotel is in walking distance to Acropolis about 30-40 min uphill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel standard better than its location.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Jason Inn is a small but well set up establishment run by enthusiastic and competent staff. Every question put to the receptionists was met with pleasant efficiency and appropriate response. My room was adequate without frills and an easily controlled air conditioning system. The in-built safe and refrigerator were also welcome. The bar was run in professional fashion by a young man who quickly became aware of my alcoholic inclinations with advice on local drinks. Breakfast had sufficient variety I believe to suit most people, with a very good range of fruits, breads, cereals meats and cheese. Dinners was served as was the breakfast in the roof terrace with an impressive view of the Acropolis and Parthenon. The only snag was when, in the evening, there were occasions when a chill wind made it necessary to wrap up. The environment was a bit run down; not an unusual situation in many parts of the city. This doesn't reflect on the general high standard of the Jason Inn and its location was convenient for bus, tram and train transport to get around to all the important venues. Throw in the very good value rates and I have no hesitation in recommending this splendid hotel. Hope to be there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Amazing roof top view

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel was a bit run down and old which I knew the only disappoint with our room was that I thought we had a balcony and when we got there it seemed as though we were the only room without one however, the roof top view totally makes up for it but it was only open to hotel guests during breakfast which I thought was a bit of a let down aswell as I would've loved to have been able to sitnon it in the afternoon and at night aswell because the view was so incredible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa,Fl.USA

Beautiful view from roof!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: The views from the roof.
Cons: Carpet and beds in rooms.
Location: Very close to Plaka and other tourist spots.
The rooms are really dated. I expected them to be as I had read that in some of the reviews.However I was still surprised that they were sooo dated. What could be clean in our room was clean but the carpet was horrible. We had absolutely no view from our room but we didn't mind as there was no street noise in our room. The evenings and mornings on the roof top are absolutely wonderful. The food was good and prices were reasonable.The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Not the best neighborhood but very close to many areas you want to visit when in Athens. Taxis are easy to catch right in front of hotel. Good for the price but they really should consider updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

Large entrance, reception and lobby very inviting

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Fantastic views,great staff, close to everything very well priced
4 out of 5
by Jakub

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Good for the price but very out dated. Bathroom was a little scary
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Best way to see Athens!

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Fantastic stay at Jason Inn, the direct view from the rooftop terrace of the Acropolis is probably the best view in Athens. A perfectly clean hotel, room was more than adequate, and cleanliness was next to none. Continental breakfast was also lovely, with some hot food. Location fantastic as taxis and underground metro less than 500m away. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels