Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Theresa from Springwood, Queensland Australia

We would return

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly staff, and after settling in our room, we enjoyed decisions with staff and locals, following morning we enjoyed a freshly cooked breakfast to our requirements. Food was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Catalunya

Penscot is a village pub providing basic rooms

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The friendly owners/managers and their staff. The food. The location.
Cons: The internal decoration. Attention needed to paintwork, woodwork etc. The bathroom had no shower.
Location: The Inn is in a pretty village, in an agricultural area. The Sunday morning church bells sounded nice, at 09.30. Very convenient to Bristol Airport.
We were warmly welcomed. We were disappointed with the condition (walls, doors, paintwork) of the passages and our room. When the time came to eat, we were very pleased with the variety and quality of the food. The price of the room was perhaps a little high. The price of the meal was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff but no showers - overpriced

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Penscot inn has a great location for those travelling to the Cheddar Gorge, and the staff has been friendly and helpful, but there was no shower in our room (only a bath with the option of lava hot water or freezing cold), and the room was a bit smelly. Breakfast was great, but for the prices they charge I expected the rooms to be a bit more well kept. Plus with many trekkers going to the region it would make sense to get a hotel with a proper shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great place just no towels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donald from Norwich

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent food,comfortable beds, friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick from Eastleigh

The inn on the hill

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice and friendly inn. Our room was ok but the decorative standard, especially the en suite was a little poor. One problem we did have that because l am a large person the actual toilet was very snug. Generally speaking we were comfortable enough during our stay.