Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2018 on Hotels
Hotel very dated. Kettle in poor state and dirty and had to put it on the floor to plug it in as no plug near the table the beverages were on. A double quilt on 2 single beds pushed together so too small. . Shower hopeless just chucked the water outside the cubicle in the very small bathroom. Gave up having a shower. Windows black and mouldy because of condensation, covered up by net curtains. Breakfast, no taste, microwaved bacon and deep fried sausage , poached egg was fine! Only 1 mushroom cut up. Going back to our room at night, no outside lights, garden and path weeds and stones, so could have tripped over if we didn't have a phone torch. Overall very poor .
5 out of 5
by Alistair

Pub you like

Posted Nov 29, 2017 on Hotels
Warm friendly atmosphere staff remembered me from the last few visits. always gives you a warm feeling.
4 out of 5
by Michelle

Nice pub

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely pub, good food & friendly staff. Room was very basic & needed decorating to bring it up to date and to the standard expected nowadays.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Oxfordshire

Lovely stay for our first anniversary

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Penscot Inn. Very friendly and welcoming hosts, comfortable room and delicious food in the restaurant (including perfectly cooked poached eggs at breakfast!) Would happily come back and stay again in the future. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Food and service

Posted Sep 21, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely welcome at check in. Room was adequate. Evening meal was good. Great breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Lovely place and easy to get to other areas from h

Posted Sep 3, 2017
My daughter and I, booked this place at the last minute and we were very happy as we could take our dog. Room was a bit dated but lovely fresh bed linen and towels and comfy beds. We only slept in the room after all! The breakfast was included and was delicious! Branded cereals, juices, yoghurt, and then a full English breakfast with toast, tea or coffee. Quality bacon and sausages! We also had a couple of evening meals which again were very good. There's a meadow down a path at the side of the inn, which was very handy for the early morning walk with the dog. Very close to Cheddar gorge and about half hour to Weston super mare, Wells, Glastonbury with some very pretty villages around too. Ollie was a mine of information! Thanks for a lovely stay and the weather was great too! Will hopefully be back to see you soon. Kim Abbie and lulu
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old pub

Posted Aug 28, 2017
This pub is very old but has good character. Staff excellent, food very good including a break English breakfast. Accommodation reasonable for age of building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wakefield

Total shock

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Ebookers
We pre booked the hotel. We were greeted by the gentleman behind the bar who was polite, but his appearance was certainly not appealing. There was a very bad stale musty smell inside the corridor and bar, it looked like it had not been touched it twenty years. We were shown to the bed room and he left us. We took one look around and decided we could not stay. The bed was clean however the. Carpets were stained, the curtains and window villagers grubby the sink was not clean and there was still the smell. We left the key on the dresser and drive the Cheddar Gorge. We got a fantastic B&B called Danny's Hotel for the same price and this place was 5* by comparison. These places should be checked out before being advertised on you sites. It is worth £30 per night.
5 out of 5
by Josie

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Super family run accommodation. Plenty of local recommendations as to where to go and what to see. Very kind to my 11 year old and made her feel right at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: Speed of internet
Location: Location was good for what we wanted to see around. The city is very very tiny and it is the only commercial place around
Nice people and convinient. Hotel, meal and pub all at the same place.