Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Friendly village pub

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Although undergoing renovations, we enjoyed our stay friendly and welcoming staff great food. Look forward to seeing the end results! Loved the character of this old pub/hotel low ceilings and all!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Quaint and Querky

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: lighting in dining room
Location: Right by Cheddar Gorge under an hour and your in Bath.
Lovely old Inn, so be prepared for low ceilings and slopping floors, bathrooms obviously have been added, this is not, thank goodness a sleek modern dwelling but a beautiful old Inn that provides everything you need, clean comfy beds with on-suite tea & coffee, a bar with all sports a quiet bar and an excellent dining room a very good menu and great food. A laid back charming place in an ideal location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Staff very pleasant and helpful and the location was quiet enough - just set back from the main road. Evening mean and breakfast was fine. The place had the feeling of being a bit tired around the edges.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Friendly service

Posted May 3, 2016
Staff were very friendly and helpful. They answered all my questions and also greeted with a smile.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Catalunya

Penscot is a village pub providing basic rooms

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The friendly owners/managers and their staff. The food. The location.
Cons: The internal decoration. Attention needed to paintwork, woodwork etc. The bathroom had no shower.
Location: The Inn is in a pretty village, in an agricultural area. The Sunday morning church bells sounded nice, at 09.30. Very convenient to Bristol Airport.
We were warmly welcomed. We were disappointed with the condition (walls, doors, paintwork) of the passages and our room. When the time came to eat, we were very pleased with the variety and quality of the food. The price of the room was perhaps a little high. The price of the meal was very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reading

penscot inn near Cheddar

Posted Aug 6, 2015
This was a lovely, friendly inn with marvellous food and friendly service. Rooms were basic but comfortable and the service was top-notch all weekend! Hope to stay again as convenient for so many places whilst in a nice quiet area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Nice Location

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: not a lot
Location: Near to good walks and also not too far a drive to the seaside
Good for a short break. Room and Food good. Would stay her again if we are in the area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Reasonable hotel in an emergency.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: the shower arrangement.
Location: Very close to Cheddar Gorge.
We were in a bind and needed somewhere to stay which was relatively cheap and comfortable. This place fitted the bill. It is quite "tired" looking but the bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly and the food was reasonable and reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Lovely stay in peaceful village

Posted May 30, 2015
We were looking for a place with character and history in peaceful surroundings, something different from a hotel chain city-stay. The Penscot Inn provided exactly what we were looking for. This village is in the Mendip Hills and provided lots of opportunity for wonderful walks with amazing views over the countryside. The bed was so comfortable and the food delicious. Thanks for wonderful memories of our trip to England!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasant Inn - Quiet Village - Friendly Staff

Posted Apr 11, 2015
The Inn is in a quiet and peaceful village. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Parts of the building, rooms and decor were dated, the photos online overly flattering, but this is unsurprising given that it is not a modern building. None of this detracted from our stay, which was pleasant, with a great night's sleep in a comfortable room - a relaxing get away from the city. Breakfast started at 8:00am - and as we needed to leave early, we requested breakfast at 7:45am, which they were more than happy to accommodate. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place for you - but if you are looking for a relaxing and pleasant stay, with friendly, helpful staff for a good price, within a short distance of Cheddar then this would be a good choice. If I am in the area again, I would happily go back.