Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Lovely place and easy to get to other areas from h

Posted Sep 3, 2017
My daughter and I, booked this place at the last minute and we were very happy as we could take our dog. Room was a bit dated but lovely fresh bed linen and towels and comfy beds. We only slept in the room after all! The breakfast was included and was delicious! Branded cereals, juices, yoghurt, and then a full English breakfast with toast, tea or coffee. Quality bacon and sausages! We also had a couple of evening meals which again were very good. There's a meadow down a path at the side of the inn, which was very handy for the early morning walk with the dog. Very close to Cheddar gorge and about half hour to Weston super mare, Wells, Glastonbury with some very pretty villages around too. Ollie was a mine of information! Thanks for a lovely stay and the weather was great too! Will hopefully be back to see you soon. Kim Abbie and lulu
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old pub

Posted Aug 28, 2017
This pub is very old but has good character. Staff excellent, food very good including a break English breakfast. Accommodation reasonable for age of building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: Speed of internet
Location: Location was good for what we wanted to see around. The city is very very tiny and it is the only commercial place around
Nice people and convinient. Hotel, meal and pub all at the same place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Nice quiet location.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Friendly greeting. Comfortable room. Good food. A good overnight stay when travelling from the north to Cornwall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West London

Outdated

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: bed had clean and very nice sheets Staff very friendly nice dining room ,good breakfast
Tired old hotel,in need of total refurbishment, small room, even smaller bathroom, tiny space to put your toiletries on, could not open windows,no extractor
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely village location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location was excellent
Cons: Decor and cleanliness of bathroom
Location: Central for Cheddar gorge, Weston-super-mare and Wells.
Lovely setting and staff were very helpful and easy to talk to. Breakfast was excellent, quality food expertly cooked. Unfortunately poor decor, cracked tiles, unfinished shower tray skirt. Dirty underside of sink and dust on surfaces in bathroom, particularly on toilet roll holder, taps in shower were grubby. Bedding was very clean and good quality.
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Friendly family run pub with accommodation.

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Was welcomed by Sarah one of the owners and shown to my room. Nice and light and bed was comfortable too. Food menu is freshly made to order and tasted Bostin. Had breakfast and the bacon and sausages were very tasty. Spent a fair bit of time in the bar were there was a variety of different beers and ciders. Definitely the Thatchers Haze. Cloudy cider. As a family pub with accommodation above its very quiet at night so good night sleep is perfect. Shame I had to go home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ay

Perfect setting

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Very quiet surroundings , just right for relaxing. Perfect views to wake up to every morning!
5 out of 5
by Michael

Quaint and comfortable

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
This is not for you if you want glass, chrome and modern fitting however it is comfortable,clean with historical interest and very obliging staff. the breakfast was excellent also the evening meal. We intend to go again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet hotel off the main street.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The hosts were lovely and the business was a family affair and they seemed genuinely interested in offering great service as best they could.
Cons: Room decor could benefit a little updating, especially bathroom. That said it was clean and comfortable.
Location: It has great access to the Mendip Hills which offers a plethora of excellent walking trails.
The hosts were terrific. Genuinely friendly which added to a great experience. Meals competently cooked. Bathroom was slightly dated but kept well clean. The room as twee, but tidy and well appointed.