Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brenda from Ohio

Great All Inclusive for Open Minded Adult Couples

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Entertainment, nice gym and spa, staff very friendly and great at serving, beautiful views of the ocean, nice beach
Cons: I wish I could have had one of the 10 rooms I had requested, had to move multiple times but ended up with a decent room.
Location: We didn't go offsite but friends went to Puerto Morales and enjoyed shopping and eating.
Checking in we had to move 3 times so next time we will be sure to check the room first to make sure it is the King we paid for and not right next to the noisy hot tub area. Everything else was great- the entertainment staff was fun, great activities available day and night, food was excellent, service excellent, hot tub after 4 is very fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mar17-21 2014

Trip of a lifetime! Fabulous!

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Great staff! Africa & Silvia you are the best! Facilities hot tub, disco, pool, sin room, restaurants, all top notch. Best meal was habachi in sakuro-do it. The people and friendships make the trip. We will be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Poppi from Indianapolis, IN

Hot-N-Tot Review!

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: The resort is gorgeous, it's clean, open, and easily maneuverable. The landscape is beautiful AND there are iguanas that just kind of hang around.
Cons: This is a hard question. I suppose as a beer geek a bit more variety in that department, even some Dos XX Amber would be a treat.
Location: We never left the resort.
BEST VACATION EVER! This was our first trip to Desire and our first experience with this kind of resort. Once the initial nervousness wore off (about half a day in) we were just able to relax and enjoy the scene. We've been to several all-inclusives and people are generally nice/friendly, but things were different here. Everyone we encountered not only spoke to us but seemed truly glad to know us. And the staff seemed to feel the same way. I can't say enough about the staff. One would imagine they could easily get annoyed with the atmosphere but they all seemed to really enjoy what they were doing, of course that may have something to do with the behavior of the guests. It was all just an endless cycle of merriment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ohio Couple from Ohio

Staff is the reason we come back

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Every time we go we see the same faces. They are happy and go out of their way to make sure we all have a great time. I truly look forward to seeingn their faces. One bartender , who I only see like once a year , knows what I'm having to drink when he sees me. A great place. It is fun and will enlighten you sex life. Go.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joseph from Malaysia

4th times - 25% more expensive and nothing better

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: I like the concept of the hotel, I like the staff
Cons: I can't understand how if I pay 620USD/day, i have to pay for a good wine, or a good piece of beef? or why do i need to pay for a bed on the beach?
Location: Better to plan to stay in the resort, far from Playa del Carmen and far from Cancun The beach is not the best to swim. Sometimes water is brown
Already four times in the hotel, my last one since 25th of January. Unfortunately now is approx. 25% more expensive and the service has been reduced. I have found smaller rooms, less options on the restaurants (fruits only during breakfast - almost impossible to get a natural jug). One year before, during the night three restaurants were operating most of the time, now during the busiest moth (January), only two restaurantes were operating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barry & Hallie from Oklahoma

Our first visit to Desire Rivera Maya....WOW!!!!!

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Really everything!! Had a great time. The photographer was fantastic, very professional and you will have unbelievable photos to select.
Cons: lighting in the rooms was a little dim and bath area for the ladies to do their makeup needed more light I was informed..
Location: We did walk to Desire Pearl 1 hour plus and not for everyone..cab is a better choice. We chose to enjoy the resort.
We visited January 20-27th, 2014. This was our first visit to a nude resort and during the lifestyle month as well. We met some of the nicest and most respectful couples we have ever met at a resort elsewhere. We had absolutely no problems from anyone during our stay. The road going into Desire RM was a little rough however when we pulled into Desire everything started looking up from the entrance on. The check in was a breeze and very efficient, we asked to see a couple other rooms and was quickly permitted to view them. We actually upgraded had a very nice room only a few feet from the pool, several restaurants and the Jacuzzi was close as well. We stayed in room 1002 should you want to know. We did not have to wait for our room and went from there to the pool where 99% of all there were already soaking up the sun naked. We were probably in our suits 5 min. We were shown a couple of towel covered lounges by the very efficient and pleasant pool man who I cannot remember his name (sorry). We visited Pearl several days later although nice it does not come close to having the vibe at RM in fact we met a couple different couples who transferred from there. We were impressed with just about everything at RM clean, food was very good tried all but one restaurant. Sahlo and the Asian, buffet all but the Italian did not get that far..lol We have a special friend that we recommend to all the “Photographer” He took 2-3 hours with my girl and put her at ease by the second picture. To s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Guido from Las Vegas

Not an hotel for the unsuspecting.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Great staff. Trumpet player at dinner was nice touch.
Cons: Get rid of time share hawking.
Location: Personally, a resort to relax. Bring books & sunscreen.
Fills a particular niche. If interested in au natural you will have a great time. 20 minutes from airport. Staff is friendly & efficient; facility spotless. First time in winter, and unlike summer, no mosquitos. Would recommend it over any like minded resort hands down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place on the beach.

Posted Dec 27, 2013
Excellent !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LQ from Georgia

Another great visit to Desire RM!

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: The hotel is small, intimate and well maintained - but not fancy or finished with high-end trim or decor.
Cons: The food is good to very good, but we only had a couple of excellent meals. The poolside lunch buffet can get crowded at times.
Location: The location is excellent - there are no adjacent hotels on either side so it feels secluded. Town is a short cab trip and many excursions are avail.
We loving visiting here. Although it is not perfect (nothing is), we continue to return because there really is nothing else in a vacation that directly compares. Service is always excellent and the atmosphere and vibe of the resort create a unique experience. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice beginning, a terrible ending

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: Generally the staff are some of the most welcoming and helpful in our experience.
Cons: If the Hotel has scheduled maintenance / areas closed, they should not charge same rates as normal operation.
Location: Great Location, lots to do, day trips, World heritage sites, Culture, scuba and snorkeling destinations, good weather.
We arrived at the hotel and immediately got our rooms mixed up, had to stay in another room before being moved over to our booked room the next day. during our stay we found that a lot of maintenance was being done to the hotel without us being informed either when booking or on arrival. One night we returned from a day trip to find maintenance had come into the room to work on some TV wiring and had made holes in the walls, which were left half finished with plaster all over the floor and bed!! We discussed with the hotel night manager who told us he would write a report and get back to us with some sort of compensation, after this the hotel management proceeded to ignore any request for clarification on what had happened. Also during our stay we found most guests were complaining about a lot of facilities that were closed for scheduled maintenance, no one was ever informed or offered any sort of discount on the room rates, for a 4 star hotel this seems quite lacking, it felt more like a construction site rather than a resort.