Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

our stay at hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Hotel was ok but could do with a total refurbishment, need more than one person at the desk at check in. Room was ok bed was ok but pillows were well past their sell by date, they were cheap and nasty and were stained. Breakfast was really nice. I did enjoy my overnight stay but would be reluctant to stay more than a couple of nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Does the job.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
It wasn’t good or bad the room was small the carpet had stains on and the bed wasn’t particularly comfortable but like I said it did the job of having a night sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Suitable for airport transfers. But not a holiday hotel. Not enough parking. Big room but a bit dated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Hotel close to Gatwick aitport

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Looks nothing like pictures ,dirty ,dated ,overrun with cars in car park from people on holiday, spa facilities not available, gardens untended, uncomfortable beds, staff appeared not to enjoy job.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from crawley west sussex

Dirty hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Disgusting hotel didn't stay shown two rooms both dirty cracked hand basins in both
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Comfortable

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Solid location, English rustic with superb breakfast buffet. Nice pool area. Big parking lot. Very helpful staff!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below basic a regrettable booking

Posted Aug 8, 2017
1. checking in easy and friendly staff but was not taken seriously about making a complaint about the parking. 2. First impressions good but quickly went down hill. 3. Parking was a shambles! Absolutely ridiculous. Cars literally rammed on verges and shoved anywhere possible. Tried to put in a complaint on fiest night after getting back from a meal, parking miles away and having to walk through ankle deep puddle to be told park on grass out the front of the hotel... 4. Room was grotty. Dirty bathroom but did have the usual amenities. I liked that our room opened up onto the grass area which was extremely helpful as we had our dog so in and out for fresh air and toilet etc. I didn't like that there was fag butted all over the place, needed a good clean. 5. Swimming pool closed first evening. 6. Friends stayed in the lodge and hated it! And think they had it alot worse than us so for that I can't complain as at least we did have a doubke bed and clean towels - they did not. Visited another friends room and it had damp and scratched all over the furniture... Wasn't expecting the ritz obviously but the hotel needs a deep clean and something to be done about theor parking. I wouldn't stay again. I am devastated we never went for the premier Inn in town where we ended up for breakfast which would have been worth the extra.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed Bugs

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Cons: Everything.
Room had bed bugs. The hotel manager claimed to have never heard of bed bugs and didn't even want to refund the room. He claimed if there was a problem with the room, we should have alerted staff prior to using the room. So apparently we should have known there were bed bugs as soon as we walked in and the fact we didn't realize until getting in the bed, suggests to him that we're trying to scam the hotel by using a room for 2 hours and then not wanting to pay. This hotel is knowingly exposing guests to bed bugs, lying about knowing nothing about the problem, and blame the guests for suggesting this is inappropriate. This hotel is effectively committing acts of violence on its guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Staff was very rude and very unhelpful.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The guy who checked me in was really nice and told me late check out was 15 pounds. When I went to pay in the morning the lady was very rude and unprofessional. She told me that the staff has to work late and she was charging me 20 pounds. Her attitude and actions were very condescending. I will never visit that hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Parking an issue, room dusty, carpet dirty

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Close to where I wanted to stay.
Cons: Parking, decorate room, new furniture. New mattresses.
Location: Visiting family so did not do any sightseeing.
Felt I could not walk on the carpet in bare feet. Curtains very dusty and walls needs a coat of paint. The parking is awful, late evening no spaces and very difficult to drive around all the large coaches and white vans. At least the sheets were clean and the shower was good and hot. Reception staff just said sorry when I told them what I thought about the parking and state of the room, know they had heard it all before and certainly weren't sorry or going to do anything about it.