Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dartmoor

Great location for Pavillions & Theatre

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Lovely spacious room, warm and friendly. Great location. We stay regularly and would recommend. Very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newquay

Perfect location

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Beautiful hotel , perfect location for seeing a band Over the. Road. Great breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way too noisy

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Beautiful building
No sleep, disturbed all night mainly by drunks outside screaming and shouting. Not a pleasant experience at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winchester

Somewhat dated hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: A good location with the City centre, The Hoe and Barbican within easy reach.
A rather dated hotel in need of refurbishment, comfortable bed but all fittings and furniture very old. It did however, have good quality tv and wifi in the room and the hotel was in a good location being close to city and the Hoe. Very friendly and efficient staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Function night

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Large comfortable room but not a great view however I expect other rooms on higher floors have great views.
Cons: Parking limited
We attended a function. The food and service was excellent but drinks expensive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really grubby room. Not great.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: N/a
Really grubby room. A dead fly had been splattered on the picture. His guts dried out in an arc. All switches lights kettle hair dryer TV remote had ingrained dirt on them. Really filthy and reminded me of a back street garage/tyre fitter. The wardrobe doors were hanging off. Shower head likewise hanging on for grim death as a jet of water flew out of the top at 45 degrees on to the ceiling. This drew my attention to the black Mould spots on the ceiling. The only bath room shelf was on top of the loo cistern. Not my location of choice. Overall a deeply disappointing experience. However the staff did all have a smile and if it was given a proper refurb and even just a proper deep clean this could be considered again. Until then I will be looking elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

Within walking distance of shopping centre

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Locatio
Cons: Shower fittings
Location: Excellent location close to most popular attractions
A grand hotel in its day, we had an agreeable stay. Only issue was the the shower head, the large flat square type.impossible to use effectivly. This comment would also apply to all othe locations with this type of shower. The designer had obviouly never used his own design. The bath was slippy when wet with no secure handholds
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Plymouth

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Filthy shower head in 503. Dangerous window opening size on 5th floor!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Pleasant hotel convenient for the theatre royal

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Bags of character, free car parking, close to the theatre royal.
Cons: En-suite could use fairly minor revamp, better sound insulation for the drains. Air con would be lovely if practicable.
Location: Theatre royal, Plymouth pavilions, various restaurants, a small cinema and the Plymouth Hoe all within walking distance.
We had a superior double room which was very nice, like stepping back in time (except the TV). The public areas are very well appointed and spacious as is the room we stayed in. We had a four poster bed which was comfortable along with antique furniture which all added to the ambience. The room was a little warm for our liking (August) and the en-suite was a little tired and a little, well, little. It could really have done with a decorating spruce up as well as a slightly more thorough clean. The water pressure was very good, the shower got hot quickly and stayed so throughout, however the drain for upstairs ran through the corner of our room (208) so we could hear every time someone used the facilities upstairs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Pleasant one night stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Good character hotel. A change from all the modern hotels. The bedroom was really good, clean and comfortable. Bathroom had a shower and a bath.
Cons: A more friendly manager.
Location: Near Plymouth Hoe and the seafront. There is a theatre and cinema. Shopping centre. Also close to Dartmoor and Cornwall.
Nice one night stay with my granddaughter. Excellent room in a nice character hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. The only complaint I would have that some parts of the hotel were not mobility friendly. A guest had a fall which was caused by the stair rail having been blocked at the bottom by a palm. Another guest complained to the receptionist who said she would mention this to the management. I too had difficulty in getting up and downstairs as I need a rail. Later in the day, as the plant was still there, I spoke to the receptionist. She called the manager down. I explained to him. He grudgingly moved the plant without even being polite. Later in the day there was a chair in the same position!! It is a pity that the manager's attitude did not live up to his staff's! If you like a hotel with character it is very nice.