Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel only for experienced European travellers.

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The feeling of being out of the main part of Florence and staying in a setting that seemed to feel like the old Italy of the country villas.
Cons: The owner needs to do better upkeep to the grounds and some of the minor needs of upgrading the rooms.
Location: Must take bus to get to anything unless you are driving to other towns like Siena, etc.
Once we found the entrance to the lane leading to the hotel off the narrow busy road we found outer look of Villa appealing but grounds needed work. Do not try to find the entrance at night on first try. Lee, the only one managing villa was wonderful and very helpful and kept everything very clean, but the inside needed some upgrade by owner, like having soap holder in shower. This is an interesting place to stay for those experienced in staying at out of the way 2 star hotels but not for the inexperienced traveler. The location is about 15 minutes from downtown Florence by bus but then walk to main area is many blocks. If it had not been for Lee being so helpful we would not have stayed our total time booked.
4 out of 5
by Jane from Horley Surrey England

Tuscany villa

Posted Jun 7, 2013 on Hotels
This is a beautiful grand old building in lovely surroundings on the outskirts of Florence. There were oranges and lemons on the trees, large gardens and olive groves. The sweeping gravel drive and high ceilings in the main house and breakfast room are spectacular. We booked 2 double rooms but in fact had an apartment with 3 double rooms ,2 bathrooms, living room, kitchen and upstairs outside terrace.The advert said there were bbq facilities which we didnt find. The microwave didnt work( turntable missing) and we were advised not to use the stove as it caused too much cleaning afterwards. We had booked this villa specifically so that we could cook when we returned late each evening, this was a disappointment. There is a bus or 30 minute walk downhill (and 60 minutes back up!) to Florence for restaurants,but we didnt find any local shops selling groceries. After some negotiation we eventually got a kettle for use on the stove and cups so could at least make tea, but cooking facilities should not be advertised - and charged for - if in fact they are not available. The television did not work,and the wifi/internet was only available in one of the bathrooms in our apartment! This aside,the apartment was clean, the bathrooms and showers were great and the beds comfortable. The young lady who checked us in and served the continental breakfast each morning was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again, but ensure use of all the facilities as advertised before going!
3 out of 5
by Denise

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Wotif
Location: hard to find
Facilities: worn; Service: hosts unpleasant;
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2012 on Hotels
The room was cleaned at all times. The beds are to hight for an average person. Only one attendant to take of all the guests. Far away from main attractions and not public transportation nearby.The breakfast was good and have variety of food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Graeme from Brisbane, Australia

Quite an experience

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Rating was for staff service and general character of hotel - would be nice if door locks were all fixed
5 out of 5
by ronald from Australia - QLD - Sunshine Coast

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2012 on Wotif
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

can be better

Posted Jul 19, 2012
the location of the hotel is perfect, but they promiss air condition, and in one room it is not.
1 out of 5
by Barbara

Villa needs lots of tender loving care

Posted Jul 16, 2012 on Hotels
The Villa Ulivi has the potential of being a lovely place...but it appears that the grounds have not been maintained. I can only speak of the quarters that I stayed in and was disgusted by the mold and dirty carpeting. Only two areas were air conditioned, the bedroom that I stayed in was very uncomfortable for it was not air conditioned. There was no telephone in the room and making arrangements to get to town were challenging. There was no place to buy beverages or food. The only high point of the stay was the housekeeper, Lei, she tried her best to help with requests, although I did not meet the Villa owner, my friends that I traveled with did, and said she was very unpleasant and rude. My advice to anyone that may be interested in this Villa is don't book it..keep looking.
3 out of 5
by Glenda

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on Wotif
Pros: Lovely old villa, close to town centre,
Cons: Advertised with air con, hair dryer, tv - there were none of these, moThe host let himself into our room without knocking,
Location: Away from it all
Facilities: Shabby; Value: Excessive; Service: Lacking; Cleanliness: Reasonably clean;
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe Dan from Arrington, VA 22922, USA

A Beautiful night in a Villa in Italy.

Posted Mar 20, 2012
Pros: The beauty inside and out of the Villa
Cons: Make sure you know about how to take the bus into town.
Location: convenient bus ride into Florence and comes with free parking. Beautiful surroundings.
I could not stop taking photographs. This truly a Villa that has become a B&B. The room was very large as was the bathroom. Old style bathtub. The furniture was a little dated but nice. There were enough working outlets and free wifi. It is own a main street into town. Take the 25 bus from the stop a hundred yards back towards town. Stand on the side of the crosswalk opposite the bus stop and on the same side as the Tabachi shop sign (now a cafe). 10 minutes gets you to St. Marks square and only a few paces from the Academia and David. The rest of the main sites are a only several blocks further away. Stop and have a cappuccino at the cafe (Tabachi) and a great cannoli. This is not for those who want the sameness of the holiday inn or the Ritz. This is a fun and beautiful and very inexpensive place for a room with breakfast. We loved our stay. And, oh there was hot water and a clean and comfortable bed.