Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Henderson, NV

Nice during renovations

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Quiet and comfortable at a good price.
Cons: While the window AC pumped out cold air, we had to set its thermostat down to 60 to feel cool enough. It needs quieter fan motor.
Location: Location was good being right along Colorado in downtown Pasadena. Didn't do anything since we only spent the night.
This motel is going through renovations to upgrade it. They weren't entirely done in the room we stayed in, but that didn't deter it from being comfortable for the night we stayed. The room upgrades look upscale, and I'm sure the rooms will look really nice when they're done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice but noisy

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: price, location
Cons: Quieter AC, something about the thin thin walls.
Location: Touring Caltech. Way too hot to check out the neighborhood. I assume it is not usually triple-digit or the AC would have been better.
I was there during a hot spell. The AC was extremely loud but not loud enough to drown out the TV playing all night nearby. Staff was nice, price was right, but a quieter AC would have been better. I don't know what they could do about the paper-thin walls but I barely slept.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Quiet hotel in Pasadena, CA

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness of hotel, friendliness of staff, free parking and breakfast.
Cons: Larger breakfast eating area.
Location: Location was very quiet and safe and easy to get around. Even though the hotel is located on a 4 lane street it was never busy.
Quiet hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. From the front desk staff, to the cleaning staff, the breakfast staff and maintenance workers all were wonderful. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Stayed for a week and had very quiet nights. Even though the hotel was being renovated during the day, it was very quiet. The only way we knew work was being done was seeing some of the workers and their tools at the end of the hall. Free parking and breakfast a plus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
It's pleasant enough. The rooms are comfortable but looking rather tired, particularly the furniture. (Some rooms were being refurbished during my stay.) My bathroom was clean and very well maintained. The Wi-Fi was generally reliable and quick enough for my needs. The breakfast is plentiful - good value for money there - but with only four tables seating 12 people available, it's pot luck as to whether you actually get a seat. The pool is clean and well maintained, but it's not an enticing area to laze about. They have a fitness center there, but it seems they like to keep this a secret - none of the staff told me about it, and there's no signage to suggest it's there. (I found out on my last day there - pity, would've used it.) Speaking of the staff - they're responsive and attentive to your needs when prompted. They answered my queries, provided what I needed, and even let me check in very early without extra charge. But they are not always the most willing communicators: they never called or left messages for me when parcels for me arrived at reception; they didn't tell me when they were charging my credit card; and, one or two chaps did struggle with their English. (And you'd be hard pressed to crack a smile out of the manager.) In other words, they'll meet your needs, but they might struggle a little with the extra mile. All in all, it's a comfortable and reliable place to stay, but there's not much here to justify the 'Executive' label.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Van, BC

Hotel location is quiet

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: They have everything every travelers need, even stuff for shoe shine... that's awesome.
Fast check-in, friendly staff, room is spacious, toiletries is green
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was in a nice area easy to get to and food.

Posted Jun 6, 2016
When I arrived and checked in the young man was very helpful checking me in. Stayed one night, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was easy to get and had more choices than I expected. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Convenient location

Posted May 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Clean and large room.
Cons: To complete the remodel.
Location: In downtown and close to freeways.
Room was CLEAN (if not, nothing else matters), convenient location, friendly staff, adequate breakfast. Hotel being remodeled. It is old and needs this upgrade. I have found that price generally equals value for any area. This is true here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from clovis ca.

Business

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Had to stay here since other hotels were full. Clean rooms, was the highlight.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently close to Caltech

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Conveniently close to Caltech. Clean, good breakfast. Air con/heater was noisy and no place to hang our jackets as the rooms were being renovated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena California

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Me an my Family really enjoyed our stay at Vagabond Executive Inn Pasadena California. We stayed there for the Black History Parade.