Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We looked out onto the small beach

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Makena Surf is a great place to stay and relax. We looked out onto the small beach, and it was less than 5 minutes to walk to. It also had better snorkeling than my trip out to Molokini crater. We saw around 20+ sea turtles who swim right next to you and countless fish. Tip: Makena Surf is about 4 miles from the nearest grocery store ( gourmet market) and 9 miles to a Safeway. But each place has a nice kitchen so buy groceries and lessen your restaurant visit. Also get a rental car.
5 out of 5

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Luxury condo in quiet development with stunning views and great spot for stargazing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vegas


Posted May 22, 2016
very nice,was everything I hoped for.We had a great trip
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Makena Surf. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo, Matt Smith
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Smith

Perfect location!!

Posted May 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Private, secluded beach with best snorkeling and then 4 miles to Big Beach, our personal favorite beach on Maui! 15 mins to Kehei and the touristy bunch of restaurants and activities. So best of both worlds for our family that likes our own space and privacy and doesn't like being packed in with everyone else. Location, location, location needs were all met!
4 out of 5
by robert e from Issaquah, WA

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Location is great. Fantastic view, right in beach. Our unit upon arrival was not clean. Carpet and seat cushions were filthy and major stains. Mgmt took care of next day, had full carpet clean and all cushions cleaned, but why wait till after we are there? Had wet carpet for entire next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...We appreciate your feedback and I apologize for the condition of your unit upon arrival. I will be following up with our housekeeping staff to see where we dropped the ball as our standards are much higher than what you experienced. Thank you again for posting your comments and we would love to welcome you back for a future visit. Mahalo, Matt Smith Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
by Fan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Frank from San Diego, CA

Great location and accommodations

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 5 nights. The location was perfect on the south side of Maui. A short drive to shopping and restaurants. The beach was amazing with excellent snorkeling. Lots of sea turtles visible from the condo. On my next trip to Maui I will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...We truly appreciate the fantastic review and rating, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo, Ben Beaudoin
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East coast

Best of the islands

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Everything. Quiet. It was decorated and stocked to make you fell special. Loved the electric grill. Grocery discount card.
Cons: The bed was really soft.
Location: We were convenient to everything. Lahaina was about 35 minutes away and yet we only went once. Restuarants and shops were close.
Our jaws dropped as we entered our beautiful condo that was bright and airy and looked straight down to the beach. After a few days in the overwhelming crowds in Honolulu, we were thrilled to be in a quiet, relaxing place to really let our hair down and enjoy a gorgeous, quiet beach. We were equipped with everything we could possibly need, including a small ice chest to take with us on our trip to Hana. The staff responded to our needs quickly and pleasantly. The location included a nice rock set up for snorkeling as well as swimming. I cannot say enough about how we enjoyed our stay. We hope to return someday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2015 by Ben, Hotel Management
Aloha...We appreciate your lovely review of Makena Surf and your visit to Maui. Mahalo. Ben Beaudoin
4 out of 5
by VT and Family

The view is breathtaking...

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Orbitz
The kitchen and the view were gorgeous. As soon as you open the door, you were greeted by a unbelievable ocean view. The unit needs some updating but it was very clean and had EVERYTHING that we needed. All we had to do was put the key in the door and bring groceries.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Condo F209

Posted Sep 16, 2015
My honey and I stayed @ Makena Surf and condo #F209 was absolutely the best condo by far considering the perfect location to the ocean. The kitchen was remodeled which was nice, and fully equipped with everything you need for a fully functioning stay for meals, etc. however, the condo really needed updating for floors/carpets/bathrooms. Overall, our stay was quite relaxing and enjoyable and we would recommend this 2 bs condo to any visitors visiting the south coast, Wailea area which is the very best on the island. Mahalo!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2015 by Ben, Hotel Management
Aloha...Thank you for posting your review and sharing your comments with other travelers. We also appreciate you recommending us to others and look forward to welcoming you back as well. Mahalo! Ben Beaudoin