Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, United States of America

We expected more.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Very quiet and great view of the ocean and neighboring islands
Cons: Million dollar oceanfront view. However, the furnitures and appliances need some updating. There is even rust inside of the refrig.
Location: Location is quiet. Golfing nearby. Restaurants 5-10 minute drive.
Just ok for the price. Very basic amenities. Furnitures are dated. Beds are too soft.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Vacation in Paradise

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: All of the amenities including pool, tennis, beach and golf. The grounds are well kept
Cons: The unit's carpeting can be updated. Security can be improved. People not staying at the resort were using the showers and trespassing
Location: Everything including location the beach the snorkeling, swimming
We stayed at Makena Surf in unit 204A and the condo exceeded our expectations. The location was perfect the view was like a post card. The unit is fully equipped right down to the beach towels. We had a couple of minor issues when the with ac stopped working and the propane tank running empty however the maintenance staff quickly resolved the problems. The cleaning staff did a great job as well. I have stayed at the Ritz and the Fairmont in the past and prefer the Makena Surf hands down. I will be definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...We appreciate you posting your review and for sharing your feedback. I am so glad that you enjoyed residence 204A and your comments about the carpet have been passed on to the Property Manager. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit. Mahalo, Matt Smith
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We looked out onto the small beach

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Makena Surf is a great place to stay and relax. We looked out onto the small beach, and it was less than 5 minutes to walk to. It also had better snorkeling than my trip out to Molokini crater. We saw around 20+ sea turtles who swim right next to you and countless fish. Tip: Makena Surf is about 4 miles from the nearest grocery store ( gourmet market) and 9 miles to a Safeway. But each place has a nice kitchen so buy groceries and lessen your restaurant visit. Also get a rental car.
5 out of 5
by ALEXANDER

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Luxury condo in quiet development with stunning views and great spot for stargazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vegas

Vacation

Posted May 22, 2016
very nice,was everything I hoped for.We had a great trip
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your recent visit to Makena Surf. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo, Matt Smith
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smith

Perfect location!!

Posted May 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Private, secluded beach with best snorkeling and then 4 miles to Big Beach, our personal favorite beach on Maui! 15 mins to Kehei and the touristy bunch of restaurants and activities. So best of both worlds for our family that likes our own space and privacy and doesn't like being packed in with everyone else. Location, location, location needs were all met!
4 out of 5
by robert e from Issaquah, WA

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Location is great. Fantastic view, right in beach. Our unit upon arrival was not clean. Carpet and seat cushions were filthy and major stains. Mgmt took care of next day, had full carpet clean and all cushions cleaned, but why wait till after we are there? Had wet carpet for entire next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...We appreciate your feedback and I apologize for the condition of your unit upon arrival. I will be following up with our housekeeping staff to see where we dropped the ball as our standards are much higher than what you experienced. Thank you again for posting your comments and we would love to welcome you back for a future visit. Mahalo, Matt Smith Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
by Fan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Frank from San Diego, CA

Great location and accommodations

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 5 nights. The location was perfect on the south side of Maui. A short drive to shopping and restaurants. The beach was amazing with excellent snorkeling. Lots of sea turtles visible from the condo. On my next trip to Maui I will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...We truly appreciate the fantastic review and rating, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo, Ben Beaudoin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from East coast

Best of the islands

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Everything. Quiet. It was decorated and stocked to make you fell special. Loved the electric grill. Grocery discount card.
Cons: The bed was really soft.
Location: We were convenient to everything. Lahaina was about 35 minutes away and yet we only went once. Restuarants and shops were close.
Our jaws dropped as we entered our beautiful condo that was bright and airy and looked straight down to the beach. After a few days in the overwhelming crowds in Honolulu, we were thrilled to be in a quiet, relaxing place to really let our hair down and enjoy a gorgeous, quiet beach. We were equipped with everything we could possibly need, including a small ice chest to take with us on our trip to Hana. The staff responded to our needs quickly and pleasantly. The location included a nice rock set up for snorkeling as well as swimming. I cannot say enough about how we enjoyed our stay. We hope to return someday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2015 by Ben, Hotel Management
Aloha...We appreciate your lovely review of Makena Surf and your visit to Maui. Mahalo. Ben Beaudoin