Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

awesome condo right on the ocean

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Quiet, yet close to beaches
Cons: See above review about insect problem
This complex is beautiful and private, yet not a far drive from all you'll want to do. Our unit had an incredible view and was decorated nicely with very modern kitchen/baths. Washer and dryer, as well as nice Weber grill were so handy. Within 5 minutes of several of Mauis best beaches. The only negative was day 2 we started to see small roaches in the kitchen. Upon calling about it, within the hour someone was there to take care of it. Unfortunately, the following day they were back, although not as many. We called a second time, they sprayed a second time and the problem was fixed. I understand this is a tropical location, but its very hard to get it out of your mind once you've had the issue. Honestly, if we hadn't had that problem our review would be all 5 stars without hesitation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Doesn't get any better than this!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
From check in to check out we had an amazing time. Capri and Pierre were awesome and helped fashion our vacation into memories that will last a life time! Three islands visible from our balcony, swimming with turtles out front, 5 minutes to a black sand beach, quiet and relaxing (unlike hotel row), Makena has it all!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...I am so glad that you had such a wonderful time at Makena Surf and thank you for recognizing Capri and Pierre for their outstanding customer service. They both work hard at providing a wonderful guest experience. Mahalo, Matt S.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Condo on Beach

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: We loved the roomy condo and the large lanai that overlooked the ocean. Also, the gated entry was very nice for added security.
Cons: Some of the condos are in need of an update.
Location: There is an upscale shopping area nearby. Fast foods are about 10 minutes away. The beach area is great place to snorkel. Lots of green sea turtles.
All condos have a beach view. The pools were uncrowded when we were there. There were 1 to 2 weddings on the beach daily. A large wedding party was staying at Makena Surf part of the week and were loud and rather rude, so avoid June wedding times if you are seeking a quiet getaway. Makena Surf is located in an upscale area of the island. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

The Perfect Spot in South Maui

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: Snorkeling, boogie boarding and paddle boarding can all be done right from the beach at Makena Surf. The reef there is fantastic.
We had stayed at Makena Surf a few years ago, so knew it was a great place. This time, we were in a premium condo (F110) on the ground floor. This spacious unit with high-end finishes and appliances was really luxurious. The sliding doors opened fully from the living space out onto the lanai, which extended right to the grass lawn overlooking the reef. I can't say enough how beautiful it all was, esp. watching the sun set over Lanai and West Maui. The staff was incredibly attentive to our needs. Our flight out was in the evening and we were able to arrange to stay late the day of departure, which was a blessing. Can't wait to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dylan from Portland, OR

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely gorgeous room (A 101) and lovely grounds. Pricey, but highly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2015 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...I am so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations at Makena Surf and we appreciate you recommending us to others. Mahalo, Matt S.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Good view, good beach access, great sunsets

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Location, appointments, beautiful surroundings. More adult oriented; not much for kids to do.
Cons: Gate ingress/egress somewhat awkward, but not a big drawback overall. No walking trail, relatively small beach.
Location: Short drive to: Wailea shops, major resort hotels, golf courses, restaurants. Don't miss WOW, LaPerouse Bay, Wailea beach path.
Nice condo, attractively appointed. Two bedrooms, although we needed only one. Well appointed roomy kitchen. Comfy lanai with view of Pacific. Unparalleled sunsets. We'd never been to Hawaii before and really didn't know anything about it. We were going with friends who had reserved a condo at Makena Surf, so we searched for a unit via Expedia. We couldn't have been happier with the result.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2015 by Matt S., Hotel Management
Aloha...I am so happy that Makena Surf was the perfect place to spend your first visit to the islands and that everything worked out so well for you. Now that you know where we are, you are always welcome. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

We'll be back!!

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Loved the view, and the ease of beach access. Snorkeling & paddle boarding right outside the condo was great.
Cons: We didn't get housekeeping service on Wednesday,& I read another review that said the same. Housekeeping every day would improve the experience a lot.
Location: Best! Less rainfall than northern spots, close to shopping & dining, turtles and whales galore! Every condo is right on the beach facing the ocean!
We had the most wonderful condo. It was newly decorated with elegant furnishings, updated kitchen & baths, cool lighting, etc. It was very comfortable and most amenities were included. But best of all was the amazing ocean view, and the turtle-filled waters right in front of the condo were awesome for snorkeling. We swam with manta rays on one day! After staying in a few different areas of Maui, we have found that Makena is where we want to be. It looks as though any condo at Makena Surf resort will be good, but we thought this unit was so nice with the perfect view, so we will try for this one again! Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Superb view and location, very good accommodations

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The view. The friendly housekeepers who did not intrude, but kept us supplied. The closeness to the beach (where our wedding was being held).
Cons: The TV in the main living area is smallish for today's models, although we didn't watch TV much. Mirrors in bathrooms were not good for makeup.
Location: Good restaurants nearby (10 minute drive), amazing views everywhere, and outdoor activities abound.
We booked for a wedding and were very satisfied, over all. There was some unclarity about extending our stay, and about details of what to expect from the "full kitchen," but we were pleased over all. The view and proximity to a gorgeous beach were priceless, and the grounds, with orchids and flowers everywhere were perfect for the wedding weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jacqueline from Mesa, AZ

Great Family place to stay!

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
This is a wonderful family location.It's not a big fancy hotel location. You will not find a spa or shopping but you will have beautiful grounds and views! The staff is very friendly! Fanny was our house keeper and she was like family. I wish they had a small general store on property. Perhaps even a a place to dine. While it is a condo and provides all you need to make your meals expect the food, somedays we just wanted to have a meal without making it ourself or leaving the property. There are places to eat about 5 to 10 mins away but when you have been on the go like a day trip to Hana - which is a must do if you've never done it, you just want to have a quick bite to eat at your place and hit the bed! Also know there are 3 floors and no elevators. If you have trouble climbing stairs please be sure to ask for rooms on the bottom or 2nd floor. No matter what I think you have to climb some stairs. So again if stairs are an issue please be sure to double check with them directly!! The views are amazing! The rooms have big comfortable lanais, felt like an additional room. Even though we were there in the rainy season, we could put our sweaters on and sit out on the lanai or look out the big windows facing the ocean and whale watch. Our family really enjoyed this property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Location good

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Location & friendly staff.
Cons: The older units could be up-dated.
Be careful which unit you book! Some unit are very out-dated & not up to standards. We were fortunate to have a good rep & she managed to secure a better unit for most of our stay.