Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from East coast

Best of the islands

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Everything. Quiet. It was decorated and stocked to make you fell special. Loved the electric grill. Grocery discount card.
Cons: The bed was really soft.
Location: We were convenient to everything. Lahaina was about 35 minutes away and yet we only went once. Restuarants and shops were close.
Our jaws dropped as we entered our beautiful condo that was bright and airy and looked straight down to the beach. After a few days in the overwhelming crowds in Honolulu, we were thrilled to be in a quiet, relaxing place to really let our hair down and enjoy a gorgeous, quiet beach. We were equipped with everything we could possibly need, including a small ice chest to take with us on our trip to Hana. The staff responded to our needs quickly and pleasantly. The location included a nice rock set up for snorkeling as well as swimming. I cannot say enough about how we enjoyed our stay. We hope to return someday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2015 by Ben, Hotel Management
Aloha...We appreciate your lovely review of Makena Surf and your visit to Maui. Mahalo. Ben Beaudoin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by VT and Family

The view is breathtaking...

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Orbitz
The kitchen and the view were gorgeous. As soon as you open the door, you were greeted by a unbelievable ocean view. The unit needs some updating but it was very clean and had EVERYTHING that we needed. All we had to do was put the key in the door and bring groceries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Condo F209

Posted Sep 16, 2015
My honey and I stayed @ Makena Surf and condo #F209 was absolutely the best condo by far considering the perfect location to the ocean. The kitchen was remodeled which was nice, and fully equipped with everything you need for a fully functioning stay for meals, etc. however, the condo really needed updating for floors/carpets/bathrooms. Overall, our stay was quite relaxing and enjoyable and we would recommend this 2 bs condo to any visitors visiting the south coast, Wailea area which is the very best on the island. Mahalo!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2015 by Ben, Hotel Management
Aloha...Thank you for posting your review and sharing your comments with other travelers. We also appreciate you recommending us to others and look forward to welcoming you back as well. Mahalo! Ben Beaudoin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Yoshimasa from JAPAN

マケナサーフ最高

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
3回目のマケナサーフ!! お部屋に入り、広がる景色は最高です。特に陽が沈む時間帯は、カレンダーで見るよう。 リゾート内も静かで、プールも騒々しくなく、リラックスできる空間です。 もちろん、お部屋も広々として、きれいです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by TAMMY from Franklin

Nice unit

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
Nice unit. Close to beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

awesome condo right on the ocean

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Quiet, yet close to beaches
Cons: See above review about insect problem
This complex is beautiful and private, yet not a far drive from all you'll want to do. Our unit had an incredible view and was decorated nicely with very modern kitchen/baths. Washer and dryer, as well as nice Weber grill were so handy. Within 5 minutes of several of Mauis best beaches. The only negative was day 2 we started to see small roaches in the kitchen. Upon calling about it, within the hour someone was there to take care of it. Unfortunately, the following day they were back, although not as many. We called a second time, they sprayed a second time and the problem was fixed. I understand this is a tropical location, but its very hard to get it out of your mind once you've had the issue. Honestly, if we hadn't had that problem our review would be all 5 stars without hesitation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Doesn't get any better than this!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
From check in to check out we had an amazing time. Capri and Pierre were awesome and helped fashion our vacation into memories that will last a life time! Three islands visible from our balcony, swimming with turtles out front, 5 minutes to a black sand beach, quiet and relaxing (unlike hotel row), Makena has it all!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by Matt, Hotel Management
Aloha...I am so glad that you had such a wonderful time at Makena Surf and thank you for recognizing Capri and Pierre for their outstanding customer service. They both work hard at providing a wonderful guest experience. Mahalo, Matt S.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Condo on Beach

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: We loved the roomy condo and the large lanai that overlooked the ocean. Also, the gated entry was very nice for added security.
Cons: Some of the condos are in need of an update.
Location: There is an upscale shopping area nearby. Fast foods are about 10 minutes away. The beach area is great place to snorkel. Lots of green sea turtles.
All condos have a beach view. The pools were uncrowded when we were there. There were 1 to 2 weddings on the beach daily. A large wedding party was staying at Makena Surf part of the week and were loud and rather rude, so avoid June wedding times if you are seeking a quiet getaway. Makena Surf is located in an upscale area of the island. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

The Perfect Spot in South Maui

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: Snorkeling, boogie boarding and paddle boarding can all be done right from the beach at Makena Surf. The reef there is fantastic.
We had stayed at Makena Surf a few years ago, so knew it was a great place. This time, we were in a premium condo (F110) on the ground floor. This spacious unit with high-end finishes and appliances was really luxurious. The sliding doors opened fully from the living space out onto the lanai, which extended right to the grass lawn overlooking the reef. I can't say enough how beautiful it all was, esp. watching the sun set over Lanai and West Maui. The staff was incredibly attentive to our needs. Our flight out was in the evening and we were able to arrange to stay late the day of departure, which was a blessing. Can't wait to come back.