Ratings based on 2,046 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid "Accessible" Rooms

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Since Expedia inexplicably put a different room type for the third day of my stay, I was forced to check out of my reasonably nice King Rm on the front side of the hotel and check into a different "accessible" King Rm at the back of the hotel. The front/back is relevant because the back rooms are older, have not been renovated and have extremely loud, barely functioning heaters - not trivial in winter. Janitorial staff was unable to make it work better or more quietly. Read the small print on your Expedia reservation if you book multiple days on separate reservations: all King Rm's are not the same - even if you selected the same room description from the Expedia website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Great location for Penn Station. Plenty of shopping MACYS and restaurants in the immediate area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Birthday Trip NYC

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Location and service
Cons: Clean/replace carpets
Location: Reasonable walking distance to attractions, subway, shopping and dining. Jack Doyles' across the street was delicious.
Excellent location for walking and taking in the sights. No city view from room. Very comfortable, clean bed; excellent breakfast. Carpets need cleaned. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Good location for a 3star type hotel.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Good location....pleasant staff
Cons: remodel!!
Location: Near to Empire State Building, subway stops, restaurants.
Room was basically ok, but very dated. Bathroom was not that clean....lots of mildew on the tiles. Carpet very worn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Fabulous location with lovely staff that aid to your very need. Room had coffee, fridge, microwave and everything you need. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was limited but delicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible wifi/cell service

Posted Oct 17, 2017
the comfort of the room was fine, but the thing that would make me never come back would be the cell phone reception and the wifi. i was traveling on business and wasn’t able to get a single text message or phone call. they offered wifi but it only worked in one corner of the room which was of course nowhere near the bed. it also worked out in the hallway so if you plan on scheduling all your business meetings and answering emails in the hallway, then you’re good to go. the room they put us in was on the second floor which seemed to have a total of 6 rooms on the entire floor. our view outside our window was a literal brick wall. we asked for a different room because of the cell phone service issue and were told that all the rooms have terrible service. the rooms were clean and comfortable but other than that, i wouldn’t go back unless everywhere else was sold out and i wasn’t staying for more than a day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Near many attractions.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: deep clean the carpeting
Location: Liked that we could walk to so many things. Madison Square garden, time square, Empire state bldg., Radio City and Radio City Plaza
This hotel is about 4 blocks from Times Square. You could walk to most of the midtown attractions. But you are in a very crowded area night and day. We walked to Penn Station and took the subway to both the Statue of Liberty and the 911 Memorial. The hotel itself is very old but has been updated. The breakfast was satisfactory to start your day.The noise from the garbage trucks at 4 in the morning made a front facing room not very desirable. Overall it served our needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Looked promising but bad experience.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Arrived early and asked for quiet room before heading to meetings. Came back at 7pm and reminded desk agent to please put me in a quiet room because I slept 4 hours night before. My room ends up being directly under the bar / restaurant in a 18 floor hotel on 3rd floor with people yelling. Room Change and front desk tells me they only have one other room in entire hotel. The next room was quiet BUT no cell service or Wi-Fi possible on back of my hotel. Had to walk out to business center to finish up a few emails. Bathroom ceiling was a full of stains and mold. Door also had staIns, cracks and holes. Bed mattress was the hardest I ever slept in my life. The view out the window looked like I was in a jail cell...no seriously room 206 ...run!! I was too exhausted to even argue and just went to sleep. Next day go down to breakfast and eggs/bacon was gross. I couldn’t get out of there fast enough and never again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Average hotel in the heart of mid-town Manhattan

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Customer service interactions.
Location: Heart of mid-town, very close to Times Square.
This is an average hotel with sub par customer service. We had everything we needed in terms of a place to stay. It was easy to find, had running water, difficult to locate ice machines, somewhat comfortable space, average in terms of cleanliness, average in terms of size of room, beds were tiny and uncomfortable, the elevator worked, free breakfast that was average - the best part was the cereal and milk. Nothing to brag about, but not too much to complain about either. The two front-desk employees we interacted with had so little to say it was almost strange. Every question we asked received a two-word response. Even when we asked for directions we received a point and a "that way." Room rate was fair for the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires Argentina

Very good hotel, excellent location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice hotel in the heart of Manhattan midtown. Safe zone to walk in the night. Many eating alternatives around.