Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

small but very noisy hotel. too close to ala moana

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: some of the staff try to go out of their way for you. No meal service not worth the $180.00/night cost.
Cons: elevator service to street level
Location: very close to the newly expanded Ala Moana shopping center.
unique ceiling lighting in sleeping area. very efficient and extremely quiet air conditioning. rooms small and somewhat claustrophobic. slow single elevator. extremely small pool with very limited sun time. expect daily text messages looking for a hotel rating. check-in on second floor with no elevator access.no under cover waiting area for airport shuttle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Decent hotel close to amenities.

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, location to amenities.
Cons: Clean your carpets!!
Location: Close to the beach and dining. Pretty close to shopping. All within walking distance.
Read the reviews on this hotel and thought it can't be that bad, and it wasn't. They are right about the stairs, you have to walk up a flight before you get to the elevator. The hotel does have a bellhop and they bring your luggage up for you, so I don't know what the complaints were about, unless it was ADA related. The room was in decent shape except for the wet spot in the floor infront of one of the beds, which didn't seem to dry up during the 4 days we were there. The shower was a little small, and there was no tub. The wife said she saw a cockroach, but I can neither confirm nor deny that, I saw nothing that would lead me to believe that there would be cockroaches. The staff was friendly and helpful. Valet parking (non optional if you have a vehicle that you want parked onsite) was a bit pricy, but very convenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well run, pleasant hotel that's a good deal.

Posted Mar 29, 2016
If you are looking for a place in Honolulu that is a good deal, try the Equus. It is a few blocks from any sand but it is pleasant and well run. There are no amenities - bar, restaurant, etc. - but it doesn't promise any and it is a block from lots of good options.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great value for money

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Ala Moana shopping center. Short walk to a marina.
The Equus is out of the main bustle of Waikiki but a 5 minute walk to the Ala Moana shopping center. It's on a main road so a little noisy but many hotels in Waikiki are noisy. Room was excellent. Comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Room and bed was amazing.
Cons: Friendlier staff
Location: Big shopping complex 10 mins way. Ihop and nearby ABC shop for groceries.
Excellent hotel rooms, location was decent. Staff was friend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Lovely family run hotel.

Posted Mar 7, 2016
This hotel is a bit small, but the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff was excellent. The amenities were a pleasant perk (fresh banana macadamia nut muffins in the morning with coffee or tea & free, Mai tais for happy hour, cute little birdie towel creation on the sink. It's not right on the beach, but only one block away and super close to good restaurants and shopping. A great price for a nice place to stay at Waikiki.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Convenience

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: Central location. Good value for the price.
Cons: Rooms could have been cleaned a lot better. Maybe in future you could install a lift from the street level to reception.
Location: Small hotel conveniently situated close to Ala Moana Centre and a short trolley or bus ride to Waikiki. Lots of other bus connections to other points
Stay was pleasant. Staff at the reception very friendly and helpful. There is quite a bit of road noise you can hear in your rooms up to about 10PM when things quite down.
1 out of 5
by Frank

Never again

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed in HUNDREDS OF HOTELS This was the worst and at the highest price!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Nice hotel convenient to everything

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: The décor in lobby and room
Cons: Entrance was difficult up stairs
Location: Food, shopping, beach all nearby.
Very pleasant atmosphere. Settle lighting in room, made it feel warm and cozy. Free happy hour drinks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Nice, small hotel in Waikiki

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Small and personal. Very clean and the staff was very helpful.
Cons: Our room was cleaned later in the day, so many times we came back and it wasn't cleaned yet. Also, the shower needs more places to put soaps, ect.
Location: We were near many restaurants and stores. The Bus stop and excursion stops were within one block. The beach was across the street.
We had a great experience at this hotel. The rooms were nice, especially the beds. Very comfortable. The staff was very helpful if we had questions or needs. The hotel is small, but I liked that it was more personal that way. The staff gets to know you and we were greeted each time we came in. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean and neat. We liked that we had a small refrigerator so we could keep milk and other drinks in it. There is a computer and printer and printing is free. There is also free Wifi. Once, when the computer was busy, the clerk told us to send the boarding passes to him and he printed them out for us. The hotel is close to a mall, several shops, food places and the beach. We basically walked every where, but The Bus comes right by too. We would definitely stay here again.