Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to Mall

Posted Jan 17, 2017
There are no frills but it is conveniently located and the staff is very nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC Canada

Nice hotel but not the experience we hoped for

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were very nice.
Cons: Better windows. Brighter rooms. They don't get a lot of sunlight coming in, so changing the décor to something brighter might be nice.
Location: Close to the mall and restaurants.
This was our first time in Honolulu and we had booked 2 rooms at this hotel. We arrived late on a Saturday night and stayed for a couple of nights before moving to another hotel. We had read other comments about the street noise and unfortunately we found those comments to be accurate. One of our party has hearing aids which are not worn at night and he found the noise at night made it difficult to sleep. The rooms were smaller than I had expected, but that was okay. The bathroom only had a shower and toilet, no tub, but again that was okay for us. We tried sitting out on the balcony but the air conditioner is right there and blows hot air on you and the street noise made it difficult to have a conversation. We tried keeping the air conditioner off, but because the hotel is surrounded by taller buildings there is no air flow and very little sunshine. Plus the view from the balcony was of the building next door. We heard that if you were on a higher floor or in the back of the building it was quieter and had better views. We did ask to be moved but they were fully booked. There was construction in the lobby area although this did not affect us. The staff were very nice and there was fresh fruit, muffins and coffee every morning in the lobby area. This was a great location if you wanted to walk to the mall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

walkable, close to the beach and restaurants

Posted Jan 12, 2017
walkable, close to the beach and restaurants good location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A good place if you just need to use it for sleep

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: It was in a pretty convenient location and was away from all the tourist hotels, it's also near a convenience store for groceries.
Cons: Lights on the balcony and in the main room would be great. Replacement of the balcony doors to help with the road noise.
Location: The beach is very close (less than 10 minutes walk), you are also in walking distance to the Ala Moana shopping mall if that's your thing.
I was luckily able to check in a little earlier than the stated time which was very much appreciated after a long flight. I found my room clean and the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately it is on a very busy main road and the doors to the balcony are a little old so there is plenty of noise leakage. I wasn't really bothered too much by this and made good use of my earplugs. There is a coffee machine and a fridge in the room and the bathroom was nice and clean with a large headed shower. I really just used my room as a sleeping place and spent little time in it, the only thing I wasn't too keen on was the lack of any light on the ceiling or on the balcony, once night fell it was impossible to read outside on the balcony and the room was very dimly lit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Did not clean room 2 out of 5 days

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We came back to our room at 9:30pm and bed was not made and no new towels. No apologies from front desk. They made us feel like they were put out. Valet parking is required at $25 per day and wait time could be up to 5 min. to retrieve car. Room is small. The Expedia photo is taken with the mirror in the background which makes the room look twice as big as it is (room is tiny). The view is the windows of the apartment/condos next door. Location is nice and convenient. Shower is a small stall and tile floor was a little slimy; shower curtain smelled of mildew. No desk to work on with your computer (must work on bed). No drawers to keep your clothes in. Only 4 hangers in small closet. No soap is provided so bring your own.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motorcycle and other traffic noise highly annoying

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Kindly staff.
Cons: Beyond hope.
Location: Heavy traffic, sleazy tourist traps.
See above. The boxes would not take my Xs. Overall rating: terrible. Staff: excellent for what they had to deal with, Hotel facilities: Pool cold and patio delightful; room cleanliness: excellent; room comfort: noisy and anxiety producing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great for a quick stay

Posted Dec 26, 2016
I was here for almost a week and it was great, but the ac unit is super outdated or its just bad. The unit has 5 settings and only one controls the airflow the others just turn it off or blow very minimal. Hawaii is hot and humid so the ac needs to work and hopefully they'll update it. The valet parking ends at 10pm, so if your car is in before then good, but if not you'll have to park yourself. The location is right on the strip so everything is within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge, ma

Very good hotel! Cozy.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: I liked the price, location, and friendly staff.
Cons: Maybe more sound proof sliders to balcony. The road noise didn't seem loud on the 8th floor but it might be to some on lower floors.
The room was functional, not fancy, but nice. I learned, from the polite and helpful staff, you have to slide the AC remote open to reveal all the controls, and then the AC is great. There's a Keurig machine in the room, and breakfast restaurants nearby. I had coffee in the room and saved $3 or more at breakfast. The location is fine; a ten minute walk to either the peaceful, swimable Ala Moana beach, or the shopping center with two food courts; one giant shopping mall style and one with Asian food stalls, great for lunch or a quick dinner. There's a Red Lobster and an Outback across the street, more nearby. There's a charge for parking at the hotel but that's the deal in Waikiki. I'd definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Dated hotel in much need of TLC.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Location: Very close to the Ala Moana Mall.
The AC and the TV did not work. One of the lamps was missing a light bulb or was inoperable. The service was very slow. I was assigned another room were all of the above worked. The lobby area was under construction. The hotel works as a room to crash, but that's it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The staff was great, the hotel was not

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were very nice and friendly and accommodating.
Cons: I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The first night after I checked into my room I noticed at the base of the toilet what appeared to be urine (yellow liquid) in a small puddle. I threw one of the washcloths over it and chalked it up to an error from housekeeping. It happens so I didn't want to make a big stink over it. I then pulled the shower curtain closed so I could turn on the water and shower before going to bed. I had a used washcloth fall from the curtain rod. At this point it was fairly apparent the bathroom had been overlooked when the room was cleaned. I advised the front desk the following morning. The front desk clerk was very apologetic and assured me the room would be thoroughly cleaned that day. All good, mistakes happen. The next night my daughter (who was getting married the next day) was sitting on the other bed in the room when she said it felt wet. She was above the sheets and comforter so I thought the comforter was possibly still wet from being washed. We pulled the comforter and sheets back to find a 3' x 3' yellow, wet stain on the mattress pad type thing. Completely disgusted my daughter went to the front desk. They immediately moved us to another room and were obviously as mortified as we were. I actually felt bad for them. They didn't charge us for that nights stay and also the head of housekeeping brought us a fresh cut up pineapple a little later. I'm sure they have addressed the person in charge of "cleaning" our room.